We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“5 star luxury for great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #23 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 star luxury for great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We loved our stay here. The room exceeded our expectations! The room was very nicely decorated and we had slipppers, bathrobes and Loccitane products in the room which I loved. The hotel itself was very clean and beautiful and the staff were very helpful. The location is more in the business district but a short bus ride from the centre.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TianaandFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your rewarding review we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met your expectations.

As we are currently working to keep up the high level of services; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedbacks from our guests with our staff members.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Management office so we can reserve a warm welcome to the friends you recommended our Hotel to.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    376
    126
    50
    34
See reviews for
115
496
62
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Very comfortable hotel with smart and plush public areas, well appointed rooms and marble bathrooms. Perfect for a business or personal stay. Breakfast expensive, though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymro29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and we are pleased to hear that you had an excellent time.

Your evaluation of our services is very much appreciated and we have shared your positive comments with our staff members.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Stayed at Stanhope on a 2 day business trip. A really good location though hotel is looking a bit tired. Rooms are comfortable and staff pleasant though ineffective. The food was dreadful: unappetising with the hot food served cold! My room had a defective radiator which kept going off at 20 minute intervals for 15-20 secs through the night like a motorbike starting up! Despite telling the front reception to get it fixed after the first night, nothing was done. Cannot wait to get home after 2 nights of completely interrupted sleep. The bar is pretty soulless too. On complaining again on checkout, they deducted my bar bill of €10 as an apology!

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 211. The combination of a defective radiator with the noise from the road was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience in our property.

We regret to hear about the radiator problem and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
In some circumstances it is difficult to find the solution for a technical problem during the stay but in this case the receptionist informs the guests and proposes a room change.

We have informed the F&B Supervisor about your remark concerning the F&B department and we apologize for this exceptional lack of services. We can assure you that the necessary actions have been taken to avoid reoccurrence in the future.

Despite your disappointment, we do hope that you will give us the chance to prove you that comments like yours are taken seriously.

Do not hesitate to contact the Management office so we can prepare you a warm welcome for a perfect stay on your next trip to Brussels.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This hotel was easy to get to from the airport - no 12 bus before 8pm and no 21 after then - drops you off nearly at the door. It's about a 15 min walk from the hotel to the old part of town with several other attractions virtually on the doorstep and it is all very compact. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned thoroughly every day. Beakfasts were good - plenty of choice - but I wouldn't have eaten in if we had not been on a B & B package as they seemed expensive and there were plenty of other eateries. The Comics Cafe (somewhere near Sablon?) is a must if you are a Tin Tin fan - we went at lunch time and it was nearly empty so we were able to wander, take photos and read all the wall art without disturbing anyone eating. And if you like salmon then try the Popeye burger - delicious!! We easily spent 3 days wandering the streets of Brussels - it's a lovely city which we plan to return to - and we would happily stay again at the Stanhope.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank go-gags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor travelers.

We are pleased to hear that your stay met your expectations and your nice comments have been forwarded to our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I think majority of the travellers spend most of our "hotel time" in the bed. I was extremely surprised finding a pull-down bed in my room in this five star hotel, i.e. a bed which you can store in the closet and pull down into a horizontal position during the night. Well, as the single room was rather small someone might like bigger space during the (if anyone would decide spending his day at his hotel room) and I did not need to pull it down by myself - this was done by the staff. The bed was however extremely uncomfortable, a simple madras only which is a rather shocking experience in a five star hotel.
Hotel in general was nicely designed but as I prefer and really need have a good night sleep without waking up continuously due to pain in the body, I will not come back again. Other rooms might have better beds, but mine was totally unacceptable (slightly better than sleeping directly on the floor).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback of your recent stay in our property.

We regret to hear that the bed was not at your satisfaction and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We have indeed one room with this type of bed and some of our guests like it but others prefer a normal bed. We would like to kindly suggest informing the reservations department about your preference so we can block a room with nice bed on your next stay.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Great position for this classic style hotel...it seems to be more in a residence than in a real hotel..the private entrance on the back is really close to luxembourg place. Suggested if you need to get to European Parliament quickly by feet. The tube station is 100 mt far which is pretty good

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessandroB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor travelers and we are pleased to hear that your stay met up on your expectations.

We have indeed a residential part in our Hotel and the location is indeed next to the European parliament and the Royal Palace.

To keep you informed about our packages at attractive rates, we would like to kindly suggest to visit our website.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, we remain,
Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achterveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Plus: great breakfast, very quiet location.Minus: very small room, in need of renovation, very noisy elevator, gym is a joke

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience in our property and the positive comments on the breakfast.

We have also taken carefully note of your minus comments and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the noise of the elevator. Please do not hesitate to ask for a room located in a more quiet and renovated part of the hotel at the moment of the check-in of a next stay.

Despite your disappointment, we hope you will give us the chance to prove you that comments like yours are taken seriously and looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#4 of 198 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 1,567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#22 of 198 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#44 of 198 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 2,209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 2,080 reviews
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 17 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Property: Stanhope Hotel
Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing