We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, food, and accomodations...all 5.0!”
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #19 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 21, 2007

In a word, fantastic accommodations, food, & service. We came in mid-July. Upon check-in, though we had requested a room w/a garden view, that wasn’t what they had given us, but a quick fix took care of that. Our room was a suite, very nicely decorated, and the bathroom was nice, big and elegantly appointed. The bed was very comfortable, the best on our two-week trip to Europe with high quality linens. To nit-pick, the carpet was a little dirty, but that’s the only gripe with the room. Breakfast was a very elegant buffet, with smoked salmon, eggs, sausages, croissant, cereals, juices, crepes, and fresh fruit. Coffee, tea, & hot chocolate is served too. Quality is very high. There is a small workout room, but it is very good by European standards. The front desk staff were very knowledgeable and friendly, and answered any question we had. A metro / bus stop is a 2 minute walk, there is a very large park, a small park, and about 10 or so restaurants w/in 5 minutes. Call the hotel directly before you book to ask any questions. Big thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jhawks1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
There are newer reviews for Stanhope Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed at the Stanhope during our trip to Brussels, just before our departure for home. The hotel is a small english themed property, in a small street, a block away from the Trone/Troon metro station and a 5min walk from the EU parliament and the Royal Palace. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to the Bennison suite, which was very nicely decorated with antiques and a 4 poster bed. Service was professional and the breakfast ok for a 5 star hotel. The only minor complaint is that the living room TV could have been placed in a more suitable angle for viewing.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greece4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Stayed in the Stanhope with my boyfriend for 4 days (3 nights) and I have to say I have never experienced luxury to this extent. We booked a superior room which seemed like a mini apartment with your own entrance hall, seperate loo, sittingroom, bedroom and massive main bathroom with his & her sinks, bathrobes and slippers. Every evening after a day of sight seeing/shopping we would return to our room with the bed covers rolled down for us & our slippers and bathrobe laid out. You have never experienced a bed so soft and luxurious as you will find in this hotel! The staff were very friendly and helped you in any way possible. The hotel was in the business area of the city, just down from the Royal Palace...an easy 5/10 min walk to the main hub of shops, pubs, clubs etc. We dined in the Michelin star restaurant one evening and the food was absolutely mouth watering, is a tad expensive as you would expect but worth very cent. Just a word though that the restaurant does be closed for 3 months while the congress is out, as seemly a lot of politicians dine in this restaurant for both lunch & dinner. Price wise we got a very good deal by booking the hotel through [---].... a bargain for a happy stay in a 5 star hotel!

I would most definately recommend this hotel as a clean, luxurious & staff friendly for a short/long stay in Brussels.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girlie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Just spent a weekend break at the Stanhope Hotel. Booked on travelocity.co.uk for a real bargain. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting brussels for a short break away.
The hotel is situated on a quiet side street, perfectly located for visiting the many sights around brussels. In walking distance of Royal Palace (5-10mins), Grand Place (15-20mins), Place de Sablon (15-20mins). On arrival to the hotel it took our breath away - having never stayed in a 5 star before i must admit our expectations were high and it was not a dissapointment. Were able to check in at 11.00 even though the website states 14.00 - there was no hesitation. Smooth check in and staff ever so friendly. Unfortunately on locating our room (standard double) we found it to be a twin not as we had booked, so returned to reception. They were extremely apologetic and found us another room - without questioning our booking we had an upgrade to a superior double without charge!
The kind member of staff showed us to the room and wow! It had a separate living room with sofa, chairs and desk, double bedroom, separate bathroom with double sink; bath with shower and separate shower pod, the toilet was also separate. Decorated beautifully with complimentary Molton Brown toilettries a superb bonus! Bathrobes and slippers also provided. Fresh fruit basket constantly topped up by the lift for guests to help themselves...
We did not have breakfast at the hotel as this was a little pricey 17-25 euros although the restaurant looked so very ornate. We decided to walk to Grand Place and had a continental breakfast for 6 euros. Food in brussels was expensive but lovely and so many places to choose from (too many actually!) You cannot beat the chocolate - goes without saying. Also recommend the waffles, beer and mussels. Just to say the shops and eating places around hotel open only mon-fri but all around grand place and place du sablon are open at weekend.
As for seeing the various sights - purchase a 24hr ticket for a 'Hop on, Hop off' bus trip. Couple of companies running - we chose 'Brussels Line' Red or blue buses, buy your ticket for 16 euros per adult on the bus at stop 1: Gare Central (Central Station). Consists of 13 stops including the famous Atomium etc. You can do the whole trip in approx 1.5hrs then go round again and get off when you want then get back on when you want.
Excellent value for money - perfect when only there for couple of days.
Could say so much more, but better to experience it for yourself. Book the Stanhope and have a luxurious stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaedsNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

I recently stayed at the Stanhope with a friend and her two children (14 & 10). The best thing about the hotel is that the rooms are quite spacious - we booked two rooms. I will say that the rooms could use some updating. One room had beige carpeting that was very stained - looked awful. My room had peeling wall paper in the bathroom and elsewhere. Not what you expect for the price. The breakfast was wonderful (except that the coffee was always lukewarm, could never get a hot cup!). There is a lovely garden/courtyard. The staff was nice and tried to be helpful, but on a few occasions during our week stay they just were a bit incompetent - giving incorrect advice, failing to make the requested dinner reservation, etc. The hotel is quite close to the metro and there are a number of buses that are nearby also, All in all it was pleasant, but it was not really a great value by any means.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mgbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Sorry this is a little late in coming, but I just realized that I never posted on my stay here in Spring 2005.
My company has an office in Brussels, so I have occassion to visit once a year or so.
I found a very fair rate on the hotel's website and decided to give it a try (I usually stayed at the Hotel Barsey which is has a rather trying brash decor).
The Stanhope was beautiful. Peaceful and well-run by a professional unobtrusive staff. The room was exactly as pictured in the website photos. Very tasteful and high-quality decor and furnishings. Bathroom was very nice with a deep soaking tub and good bath products.
Breakfast room was lovely with attentive service - a little pricey, maybe - but worth it to start the day in such a pretty space with excellent coffee. Evening drinks were available in the lobby.
The only downside was an occasional long-ish wait for a taxi - it is not on an especially busy street and there was no doorman so staff would order a taxi by phone.
Otherwise, no complaints and no surprises. I thought they provided excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Elsiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

At first appearances the hotel is absolutely beautiful - all of the photos do not do it justice. Check in was smooth and our rooms were wonderful. Only problem was that the toilet in my room was broken so that it just kept dribbling water into the bowl. I phoned reception and they sent someone up straight away but insetad of fixing it he just left the back panel off and then left! I complained again and was told that it would be fixed while I was at dinner but when I returned after midnight it still hadn't been touched. After complaining at reception I was finally moved to another room (I have to say that the night manager was exceptionally helpful and friendly). Dinner in the restaurant is a fabulous experience - both the food and the wine are sublime and there service in there was wonderful, but it is the bar staff and the reception staff that really let the place down. On 2 occasions we waited over 1/2 an hour to be served at the bar, with no apology once a member of staff had appeared. Other guests we spoke to waited over an hour. The bar closes at midnight whether there are guests around or not, and you cannot get drinks on room service either. Apart from the restaurant staff and the night manager all of the staff were very rude and dismissive of the guests - it felt like they were just taking it easy over the weekend until all of the business guests turn up for the week. It was a great shame as it was the only thing that lets down an otherwise beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cejr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#72 of 198 in Brussels
2,701 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 198 in Brussels
1,797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $139 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing