We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are standards slipping?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Brussels City Centre
Ranked #31 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 2, 2012

As an Accor Loyalty Card holder and someone who has used this hotel a few times this year, I was disappointed when arriving after 20.00 to be told that my room was 'not ready'. I was given a complimentary drink in the bar whilst it was made ready. When I arrived in the room, however, it was clearly not the grade of room that I had booked. I went to reception to complain. They offered me a room in the Sofitel - a better quality hotel - but, I declined. It was getting late and the location of the hotel was important to me. After some discussion, I was offered a reduction on my bill, which I accepted. That was fine. So was the offer to move me to another hotel. What was not fine was the first response, which was to put me in a room which was not up to the standard of the one that I had booked and say nothing about it. Things like that damage guests' trust and confidence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 2,923 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed 2 nights there during a business trip. The hotel is very conveniently located in downtown Bruxelles close to the Grand Place (5 min walking), metro-station and the Saint Gery area with lot of restaurants/bars. The prices in Bruxelles are not cheap as I experienced in another downtown hotel. The hotel is modern (built in 1998) and the rooms are quite big, modern, and comfortable. I asked for a room on upper floors where you have a nice view on a quiet square and an old-tower of the former city wall that is almost attached to he hotel. You can also see the Atomium in the background (the other side of the hotel is a busy street). The breakfast is good, but may be not comparable to a 4-star hotel. The only downside is the reception that is under-staffed sometimes (I waited 10-15 min to check-in after busy day). Overall I would recommend this place for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel within walking distance from Grand place, shopping centre, restaurants, the station and where the tour buses stop, which is the best thing about the hotel.
The room was clean and spacious as we also had a travel cot (which was provided by the hotel) and we didn't feel cramped. The shower was clean and again spacious and it had a separate toilet which was also clean.
Overall not bad for a short visit. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. They were willing to help with anything we needed or asked for. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The beds and bedding at the Novotel Tour Noire were really comfortable and cosy so we had 2 fantastic nights' sleep. Breakfast cost 20 euros so we ate out locally where there were some excellent local bakeries. Pool was disappointing, looking as it did like a penguin enclosure. Not surprisingly it was never in in use - not even by penguins. We had room 504 which overlooked the cathedral - but no bells. The hotel was rather souless but very handy for the tourist spots and on the bus route to King Baudoin stadium in Heysel where we went to a rugby match.

Room Tip: Room 504 overlooks cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingNun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Location is fine...but this is a bit of a middle of the road business hotel and falls short on a few levels. The rooms are not great...a bit spartan..not so bad, as you would run screaming from the hotel, but just not what you expect for the price. I would consider this hotel as decidedly unmemorable...mediocre..not shocking but i have not desire to return. If other options exist examine them before chossing this Novotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gringottsgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We has a nice stay at this Novotel in September and after getting off some very long flights from Australia the comfortable beds were very welcome! Room was a good size and what you'd expect from a Novotel, very clean and our included buffet breakfast was of good quality and variety. The free wifi was also very handy.

We didn't find the staff to be that friendly but that can be typical of these big hotels, and I would stay here again. Great location.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jessw188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'll be very short, I've stayed in this hotel few weeks ago. It is renovated, i hope whole hotel. I have received renovated room, brand new. It was really good stay in Brussels.Small thing I had a chance to use turkish bath and swimming pool in this hotel and that part is not renovated at all.I was sad to see cracked walls and old/very used swimming pool and turkish bath.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariusVNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#72 of 199 in Brussels
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brussels City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brussels City Centre

Address: Rue de la Vierge Noire 32 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brussels
#14 Green Hotel in Brussels
#22 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#23 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#32 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $101 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brussels City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Brussels City Centre is a 4 star hotel offering 217 rooms located in the lively Place Ste Catherine area, 800 m from the Grand Place. Ideal for seminars meetings and conferences, the hotel offers 11 modular function rooms with a break area. Guests on a business trip to Brussels can unwind in our fitness center, jet-stream pool, hammam and soak up the atmosphere in our bar brasserie perfect for exploring a typical Belgian meal or sampling delicious beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Brussels City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brussels Centre Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Centre
Brussels Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing