We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, more than functional but not amazing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martin's Brussels EU

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Martin's Brussels EU
Ranked #41 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, more than functional but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We booked this hotel through lastminute.com secret deal so was very good value considering how expensive good accommodation seemed to be in Brussels. It was clean, had a good shower, comfortable bed and the lobby was tasteful. As other people have said the 'cosy rooms' are a little small and ours had a sloping roof which meant that I had to duck when getting out of bed to avoid hitting my head. A kettle would've been nice and as we were on the 7th floor didn't bother going down to the third. The two issues were our arrival and noise from the next room. We arrived around 1am so obviously tired but our reservation was there and this was recognised as we showed our ID. However; there was a problem which wasn't communicated to us by the rather unfriendly and silent receptionist despite asking (in English and French) who just kept looking at pieces of paper. Eventually he told us that the system was updating so he couldn't program the keys so would let us in with the master and slide the key under the door later. If he'd just said, it would've made a difference as not the best welcome. The rest of the staff seemed friendly but didn't spend much time in the hotel so I guess not too bad but first impressions count. Also, the walls seemed to be paper thin as the voices next door were only talking normally and sometimes animatedly but it was like it was piped straight into our room which doesn't seem right. Still, good location near to some bars and restaurants but needs to do more to really be 4* I'd say.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OtterZucchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    249
    115
    35
    18
See reviews for
62
281
25
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Location- around the corner from EC, nigt taxi from the station (Centraal) 15e. Underground station just 100 m away with one change to Bruxelles Midi - eurostar connections.
Facilities - four star indeed
Breakfast - good quality and variety however some of my colleagues who booked hotel and breakfast separately complaint about its price.
Rooms are not big but comfortable

Room Tip: Some rooms have jacuzzi... Ask for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy D, Directeur général at Martin's Brussels EU, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hello Zimag,

We thank you for your hotel comment but also the nice tips you gave over Brussels and its heritage.

Be sure that you have visited a part of it but nice & more secret discoreries are to be done to feel the real potential of Brussels. Architectural buildings in Art Deco are everywhere in the city even in the building musea such as MIM, Comic Strip center,...

So we are waiting for you for your next stay in Brussels. From the hotel, you may reach all the different parts of part through metro, bus or tram.

See you soon

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
131 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here two nights and was very pleased with the hotel all around: polite and professional staff, and a "cosy" room with all the features you would expect.

My two main complaints are the lack of a kettle or hot drinks in the room (there is a hot drinks machine - but only on the 3rd floor, down a little corridor!), and the way that your luggage is stored after check-out. I asked to keep my suitcase at the hotel, but the suitcases were not kept securely but rather just shoved into a big room (not even behind the reception desk - it's just a door off the lobby!). No staff was checking who entered/exited the room, and it wasn't even locked.

The breakfast was definitely good enough but not the biggest hotel breakfast in the world (in terms of variety). It still included a selection of rolls and bread, yoghurts, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, fresh and tinned fruit salad, fruits (including bananas or apples to take away), cornflakes, müsli, a selection of teas and coffees.

The downstairs lobby of the hotel also had plenty of comfy sofas and tables, and was a nice area for the inevitable waiting times..

The room was clean, had a very nice bathroom, a minifridge, very dark curtains for a good night's sleep, and so on. The bathtub had jets in it, which was rather strange as they actually set off randomly twice during my stay (including in the middle of the night!)

The hotel is in a great location, and situated a 2min walk away from Berlaymont and Charlemagne (two main Commission buildings), and only about 5-10min from the Committee of the Regions, about 15min to European Parliament... Also close to Place Lux for a few drinks, but a bit of a walk (or short metro ride) to the 'older' parts of the city and Grand Place. Though still walkable!

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at Martin's and would be happy to return, in particular on a business trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josieist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy D, Directeur général at Martin's Brussels EU, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Josieist,

Many thanks for your wonderful comment.

Kettle in the room and locking the luggage room are the following steps we will do within the next months. be sure that your remark are taking into account.

We do hope to welcome you again in the next months. Do reserve directly through me and I do my best to propose you an upgrade in our Great Rooms already equipped with kettles.

Kind regards,

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean, meal diversity satisfactory, staff helpful.The hotel is close to all major EU institutions. Good for middle and upper-middle travellers. Good for those on business trip. But mind city tax. This price will be asked from you - 7 euros a day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy D, Directeur général at Martin's Brussels EU, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Arch1307,

Many thanks for your comment.

I will think about changing/updating about breakfast.
Proposals are welcome !

Also see the promotion we do for reservations made through Tripadvisor.

We hope to see you soon in Brussels !

Kind regards,

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Martin's hotel is a very nice and cosy place that offers everything you may need during a short trip. Might be good to stay at for a longer time too. Rooms are well designed. Environmental friendly policy is something to be mentioned too.

Room Tip: No swimming pool but you have fittness room and good facilities at your disposal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Expert-5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy D, Directeur général at Martin's Brussels EU, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comment.

Coming from a travel-expert like you who had visited so many hotels in the world, it worth a lot for us and our collaborators.

We hope to see you soon in Brussels !
Maybe for a discovery of Beautiful Belgium...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I liked this hotel, its not huge or 'max luxe', but a really good value, modern,well maintained and comfortable hotel really close to Shuman and the EU buildings - so a safe and easy trek from the station and fgrom the hotel for EU business. Can't vouch for the food , but breakfast was okay - standard buffet fare. Will stay again. As its off the main roads - it has a bonus of being quiet too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy D, Directeur général at Martin's Brussels EU, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Jo G,

Many thanks for your nice & helpful comment.

We hope to welcome you again in Brussels and maybe with your motorbike (safe place for it in our indoor parking).

From Brussels, you may discover beautiful cities such as Mechelen, Leuven, Genval and enjoying really nice roads with your motorbike. My colleage bikers have developped a road book for such a trip !

Tip: our garden & terrace are opened: come and enjoy a belgian beer or one of the belgian specialities of Chef. A must: the Brussels wafle - façon Macaron: incredible !

So do not hesitate to contact us directly for your reservation or for more information.

And visit our website !

See you soon,

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

It is nice hotel in the heart for Brussels and very close to European Commission and other important EU offices. The rooms are good and nicely decorated. However, the variety of food and the prices are not that great. The breakfast is also monotonous given that Brussels is a place of gastronomic pleasure!

I stayed here for 3 days while on a business trip and wanted to be close to EU district hence it was okay. The tariff is relatively high compared to other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arch1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy D, General Manager at Martin's Brussels EU, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Arch1307,

Thanks you for your comment.

Breakfast will be changed beginning of next year. Suggestions are welcomed as all decisions and new products are not fixed totally. In summary new coffee machines are foreseen.
But products are still in discussion as each client has its own suggestions.

Tarriffs are really depending of period. The earlier you book, the better rates you get. And we are one of the cheapest hotel in the EU quarter.

We hope to welcome you soon in the Martin's Central Park,

Kind regards

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silken Berlaymont Brussels
0.0 mi away
First Euroflat Hotel
First Euroflat Hotel
#113 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#13 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chelton Hotel
Chelton Hotel
#83 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Hotel Charlemagne
New Hotel Charlemagne
#114 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
#40 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brussels EU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brussels EU

Property: Martin's Brussels EU
Address: Boulevard Charlemagne 80 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Martin's Central Park)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Brussels
#30 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Brussels EU 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin's Brussels EU features leisure facilities including sauna and fitness equipment, a garden terrace and sound-proofed rooms, less than a 5-minute walk from the European Commission and only 500 metres from Schuman Metro Station which brings you in 5 minutes to the Grand Place (4 stops, direct connection). The hotels offers air-conditioned rooms with a modern bathroom, a work desk and a minibar. Each room also features a seating area with a flat-screen cable TV. The Icones lounge bar and restaurant serves International and Belgian fusion cuisine in a film-inspired dining room with mood lighting. There is also a spacious dining terrace for light lunches and meals in good weather. Enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Martin's Brussels EU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Central Park Hotel Brussels
Martins Central Park Brussels
Martins Central Park Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing