We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Ranked #73 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My experience of the hotel wasn't as bad as some of the other reviews. Room was ok and the shower was nice and powerful. There was a lot of noise from the street until around 2am. It's a good central location but be careful, I had my mobile phone stolen in the street nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 94009007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    375
    239
    91
    64
See reviews for
180
311
80
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A perfect location for tram, metro and trains, very clean and very good for few days of business. Not cosy but practical. Very nice and clean bathroom
They safe did not work but it was the only small issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eur0peangl0betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This place is vile. It stinks and it's filthy. The lights were hanging out of the bathroom ceiling and there was mould growing in the bathroom. We tried to cancel our booking, but as it had been made through an agency we couldn't. I was so glad to leave.
There are plenty of decent hotels in the Grand Place. If you have to visit Brussels (there aren't many reasons to do so), look there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived at this hotel having looked at many places on the internet - it said the place had been recently renovated and the pictures looked good. Have two teenagers so booked two rooms for 4 nights. When we got there it was a completely different story! The hotel is in a fairly dodgy place; it is very old rickety. The rooms were so revolting we didn't want to put anything down or even sit on the bed! The pillows were 40 yr old foam chip, and basically it was a dive; smelly, leaks in rooms, threadbare carpet. We decided to go and talk to reception to see where the renovated rooms were. He was very polite and apologetic but the renovated rooms were a different building across the road. It was up a narrow wooden staircase (couldn't get a person and bag through it) and there were not two rooms on one level. This looked much nicer, but was not appropriate for us and the stairs are an accident waiting to happen (and fire hazard). We ended up leaving and spending 20 euro more per night per room for what was also a 3 star but infinitely better than this just up the road! The Manager was appalling - screaming at us when we asked for a refund because it was not what they had advertised on the internet. This is less than a 1 star hotel - very basic, smelly, old, dirty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed for one night. The location is perfect but the room was smelly, too small and old. WiFi is free but didn't work properly. Breakfast was included and ok but not great. For 100 euros I was expecting more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel, with an excellent location in Brussels. The building is extraordinary, and the staff are extremely competent and friendly. However, the rooms are not very luxurious, and some if them are even smelly. I would definitely recommend it, but bear this in mind so that you're not disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rucapor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

When I saw the 3 star I was expecting it would be that but no. As written by another reviewer you may or may not get lucky once you have assigned your room. Good proximity to the Metro and Grote Markt an make up for this since most of the time you will be outside. Oh i got lost finding this hotel at night because of the small signage had to ask the bouncer in frony of te celtica bar and he showed me it was only infront.

Helpful?
1 Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#121 of 199 in Brussels
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Gery
Hotel Saint-Gery
#54 of 199 in Brussels
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Nicolas

Property: Hotel Saint Nicolas
Address: Rue du Marche aux Poulets 32, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Nicolas 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saint Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Hotel
Saint Nicolas Brussels
St Nicolas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing