We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saint Nicolas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Ranked #74 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
piemonte
Level Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Downtown, close to the Grande Place, the main square in Brussels. Triple room was quite big, but the wiew was on the wall! Room was comfortable and bathroom too. Breakfast is good. The only bad thing is the presence of a casino on the first floor, that is noisy. This hotel is quite expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marycri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    356
    227
    88
    63
See reviews for
168
298
76
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

My Husband and I stayed in this Hotel on a three night weekend break. We took a taxi from the Station (Eurostar) the taxi driver didn't know where the hotel was -even though we said near Grand Place- charge was 12 euros and should only have been 6 euros- as per the norm - we were ripped off. So beware( taxi driver taking us all around the houses) . Its probably a 20 min walk and quite simple. Its a good location for sightseeing, staff helpful and friendly. Its rather basic. Breakfast was okish. 1st Day it was cold - where people had left covers off of the eggs/beans/sausages.
The room we had was on the 2nd floor and at the back of the hotel. So we didn't hear any of the nighlife and were high enough so we could leave our window open. (1st floor at back has a roof of another building outside and people could easily climb on and access windows of the hotel)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This 3star hotel was booked for a 2night midweek break for me my mum and sister and was in an ideal central location. The handy location ended up being its downfall as it is directly opposite a 24 hour casino which gives out a lot of noise pretty much from 8pm till 6am. If you are given the choice ask for a room at the back of the hotel!! Don't pay for breakfast ours was included and was very disappointing. There was a selection of cereals , cold meats and stale pastries . The hot option was cold beans, scrambled eggs and cut up tinned hot dogs. If I were you I would venture it early and find one of the many local bakeries that cook the pastries every morning. Despite the faults, this hotel was clean and comfortable and would be ideal as a base for a trip with mates or a short break if you have a room at the back!!

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In transit
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The location is great, right in the heart of Brussels. However, the room was minuscule, the bed possibly the most uncomfortable I've experience in the last 20 years (I've eaten jellies that wobbled less) and, while the sheets were clean the floor wasn't. And it wasn't cheap. The staff were friendly enough, but that doesn't make up for sub-standard accommodation, even with an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel St Nicolas is in a fantastic location for visiting the sites of central Brussels. Easy to reach the Grand Place and sites around that centre, as well as the restaurants and shopping of Dansaert, St-Géry and Place Ste-Catherine. Easy for public transport and underground parking.

But the room was small, basic, a bit worn, and not very clean. The bed was very soft (in a bad way - far too soft). Wifi worked well. Service was half-hearted. I paid €75 for a double which I feel was overpriced. That said, this is a satisfactory base for a flying visit to Brussels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is located in close proximity of the main square so it is well placed for sightseeing. It is also only about a 10 minute walk to the train station. Unfortunately it is also close to two casino's and a pub opposite which meant that later at night it was too noisy for us to sleep with our windows open and there were some odd characters hanging around asking for food and money. The room was tiny and not that clean so as three friends travelling together we were almost tripping over each other. I wouldn't recommend the hotel for these reasons. The curtains in the bathroom were made out of towels which was interesting touch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of the old town of Brussels, just steps away from the grand place/grote markt. There is no luxury, but the rooms are all you need for a city trip. We had a very quiet room in the back and paid 64€ only for a double room with single beds and a large bathroom, with a view:-) I know, the tv is small, but hey, do you go to Brussels to watch your favourite movie on a giant screen, while the movie is going on on the streets of Brussels. From here, it's a save walk to the Kathelijneplein and the fishmarket with all these nice and affordable restaurants. We were at the 'Vismet'. Very nice food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ireen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#127 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint-Gery
Hotel Saint-Gery
#69 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#102 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Nicolas

Property: Hotel Saint Nicolas
Address: Rue Marche Aux Poulets, 32, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Nicolas 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Saint Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Hotel
Saint Nicolas Brussels
St Nicolas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing