We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DownTown Heart of Brussels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Ranked #120 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“DownTown Heart of Brussels”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

In the heart of Brussels, 7 euros by Taxi from Brussels midi train station to the hotel. Wonderful shopping and restaurants of all types all around the hotel. This very basic hotel is the most downtown you could get in Brussels and the hop on/off sight-seeing bus is just 2mins walk away. I paid Eu:60 for the room which included breakfast which was an excellent deal. 2mins walk to Grand Place and many Restaurants all around the hotel means noise all thru the night. If your up to the noise then there is no better location than this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGonsalves7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    110
    118
    36
    15
See reviews for
54
83
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Looking for a cheap hotel in Brussels city centre, for a couple of nights and in a great location? Then look no further.
It's in walking distance from the Gare Centrale/Bruxelles Midi train stations, the Grande Place and if you want something to eat or drink, you are literally surrounded by bars and restaurants. All the staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful and the rooms that we had were very clean and comfortable (with a free safe). The free wi-fi was very useful and quick. A basic breakfast was included in the price (bread, cheese, egss, cold meat etc).
Of course, if you want luxury, this is not the place for you, but if you are are a couple of travellers/backpackers that prefer hotels to hostels, or a stag/hen organiser, or just on a budget, then get it booked!

Room Tip: Triple rooms available, could save you money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariyeh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We picked this hotel for location and were really pleased. The location is excellent, right in the middle of the central tourist area a few minutes walk from the Grand Place. So many shops, bars and restaurants all around. Gretry street is actually a pedestrian street which turns into Rue des Bouchers which is a narrow restaurant walkway. For location you cannot go wrong. It was also an enjoyable 10 minute walk to the Brussels Central train station.
The price was also very good.
The entrance to the hotel seemed not so appealing, but the place is actually pretty good. The rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. Free WiFi. The bathroom was also a good size and clean. We had a room at the back and found this to be very quiet. They have an elevator.
The staff were nice.
The breakfast buffet is included and although somewhat basic it was enjoyable and convenient.
This is not a fancy hotel but considering location, price and cleanliness I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandBTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The hotel is reasonable priced and has a great location. Very near to the Grote Markt and the Manneken Pis. The room was a bit small, but quite sufficient for me. The bathroom was attached and clean. Breakfast was enough to fill one-selves up (and included in the room rent). My room was on the top floor, and I did hear hollering at night, but then I am from Mumbai, so I am pretty much used to it :-). Staff was very helpful and spoke good English.

Downside: The corridor smelled of baked bread, but the room did not smell. Also, it seemed that the central heating was turned down at night ... being from a warmer climate, it did bother me a little.

Overall recommendation: Good value for money. If I ever return to Brussels, would definitely stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidIndian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Overall I found The Hotel Opera to be comensurate with the cost of a nights accommodation. It is well situated for all shops, bars, restaurants and sight-seeing.
My room was clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast, although modest, was enjoyable with no limit as to what you could have. Again the breakfast room was clean and well attended to by the staff. Reception were most helpful.
The only problem occured at 7-30am when the rubbish bins of the restaurants etc, opposite my window, were being emptied - bottles make a lot of noise!

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BobBlythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

The location of the hotel is good, the price is resonable, the breakfast is mediocre, but you can fill up on it. Also, the staff are friendly and helpful, BUT, the noise from the street is relentless and kept us up until 4:00 AM both nights we stayed there. Between the cars screaming down the street and the hollering and singing of the drunken crowd (all seeming to be perched right outside our window), it was impossible to even relax enough to shut down the brain. The windows don't open very wide, so the room was also stuffy which didn't help. Our room was on the street sideof the hotel; I don' t know if requesting a room at the back would help (the noise seemed that pervasive), but if you choose this hotel I recommend asking for a back room on the hope that the noise is dulled.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlettow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Hotel is situated near the great place ( grote markt) and om walking distance from Manneken-Pis and Jeaneke Pis. Breakfast room is a little bit smal but the Breakfast, included with the price was, ok. We had e very nice Quadriple room ( 4 persons) at the back of the hotel so there was no street noise. Parking was just around thet corner, schildknaap garage. Beds where good

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dartbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#71 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Legende Hotel
La Legende Hotel
#101 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#102 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Bruxelles

Property: Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Address: Rue Gretry 53 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Opera Bruxelles 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Opera Bruxelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Bruxelles Hotel
Opera Bruxelles Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing