We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a city break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #110 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights to run the Brussels half marathon. The location is perfect. We took the train from the airport to Central Station - about 20 min. Go out of the main station entrance and turn right. The Scandic is about 5 min walk away with a suitcase.

Fast and friendly check in. 2 lifts. We were on level 3, others in our party on level 2. The rooms are smallish, but typical of a city centre hotel. Plenty of storage space. Reasonable bathroom, with a full size bath/shower, which was very welcome for a long soak after the race. There is a small fridge/mini bar, but it was not very cold. Normal silly mini bar prices. Dove washing soap dispenser for the bath and sink. Good powerful hairdryer in the bathroom. Plenty of power sockets. TV with lots of channels including BBC1, ITV and BBC World.

Very helpful reception staff who advised us on the tube system, which is fast and cheap, though you do not need to use it for most of the city highlights. You do need it to visit the Atomium. Free city map available from reception.

Very nice breakfast with an excellent selection of cheese, cold meats/smoked fish. Nice bread, fruits, yogurts, fruit juices. I particularly liked the hot food - scrambled egg, bacon, mushrooms, beans. All of our party thought it very nice.

The real advantage of this hotel is the location. A few min walk from the station, 2 min from the cathedral and Grand Place/ Mannakin Pis etc. A huge number of restaurants and bars right on the doorstep. So much choice of places to eat and all at reasonable prices.

The hotel has a small gym and sauna on the 6th floor. Pleasant bar area.

We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening - why would you with so much choice nearby.

This is a great value 3.5-4 star hotel in a very central location and the inclusion of a good breakfast makes this an excellent choice for a weekend break or for a brief business trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Hotel Grand Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2010

The hotel is very close to the Grand Place, the old historical centre, and to the central station which has frequent connections to the airport. The personal was very friendly while I was there. I got a nice quiet room. It was a little bit dark but I found it comfortable. The price was OK. Moreover, free Wi-Fi was provided. When I asked for an invoice, I got one, and initially didn't spot the mistake. When later I asked them to correct it, they were unable to fully correct it, and suggested half way acceptable correction. Later on, the correction which I received wasn't the one we agreed on but it was even worse. If you need an invoice, make sure you check it, and check it and check it ...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDreamGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The location is excellent, just near Galleries St Hubert and walkable from Gare Centrale. The hotel itself was more 3 star - public areas okay, room small but okay, dining area fairly basic etc. Breakfast was also just okay - enough choice but not wide ranging. Service was poor at breakfast - staff seemed more interested in chatting than clearing tables. In terms of bedroom - reasonably well furnished but the bottom sheet of the bed was just too scratchy to sleep on. Room 507 overlooks the atrium and the noise travels up from the bar area - I would avoid the fifth floor because part of it is below the gym and you can hear the treadmill being used. You also need to be careful because the 2 lifts run outside in the atrium and are a bit noisy - my room was okay but if your room was next door to the lift....

However - all that said is only if you are expecting a 4 star standard. I got a very good deal at 92 EUR per night and at that rate I have to say that for a 3 star it was a good value and of an acceptable quality.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

What's good? The location. Down town and station are in a walk distance. Breakfast was also good enough.
What's bad? Unfortunately we didn't like a lot of things. We had a superrior room. Receptionist mentioned that we must have at least a ketle, tea bags, coffe in the room since it's a superrior one. However we had not and we kindly requested the receptionist to provide those things as far as we like to have a tee in the room in the evening with all the family. Our request was denied.
The cleaning up. Only a bed. They don't care about tabeles, floor, the dirty dishes, bathroom accessories e.t.c. Every evening we came in the room in a chaos.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juvesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Exceptional hotel location. It is close to Grand Place, the shopping street Rue Neuve, Mons des Arts area museums and Brussels Central railway station where there are direct links to all major cities to visit (Bruges, Ghent, Antwerp, Liege) and indirect links to Paris, London, Amsterdam. In front of Bruxelles Central railway station is the station for Bruxelles CitySightseeng Tour. Breakfast is very good and varied, although the same every day. Pastries are excellent. Accommodation provides all comforts for a Scandic hotel. Although I have stayed in a room on the street, street noise is not emphasized and traffic is reduced at night. Minor impediments related to lighting in rooms with windows in the interior space. The air conditioning worked without any problems, also shower and WC. Cleanliness is good. Reception services were impeccable and the hotel staff is attentive to every tourist. You can really make a good impression about Bruxelles staying at the Hotel Scandic Grand Place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihai2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel is incredibly conveniently located to the historical center of Brussels. Just a few blocks from the Central train station makes it an relatively easy walk even with luggage. It is less than a block away from the cathedral and the shopping arcade (Galleries), two blocks from Graassmarkt and three from Grand Place.

Being this close to the major attractions the hotel still manages to be on a quiet street.

The rooms are small by American standards but reasonably sized by European ones. Especially for a hotel so strategically located.

The included breakfast was light but feeling and location once again proves key as the hotel is located close to many of Brussels's top restaurants and night spots.

The lack of free WiFi does put a little bit of a crimp in things.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GearJunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My title sums it up, small room, but comfortable and clean. Close to Grand Place and other central places in Brussels, close to central station.
Paid slightly more as compared to other hotels in the area, but best part was their breakfast buffet with sooo many choices including baked beans and organic food and dry fruits etc..
Good place to stay for 1-2 nights, beyond which I wouldn't expect you can do anything in Brussels :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockholm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.2 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#116 of 198 in Brussels
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#70 of 198 in Brussels
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#8 of 198 in Brussels
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $86 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location in Brussels, hotel Scandic Grand Place is your perfect choice when visiting this charming Belgian capital city. Within walking distance from the hotel you'll find many of Brussel's prominent tourist attractions and a vibrant city life. Scandic Grand Place is situated a 5 minute walk from Brussel's central station, and a quick walk from the famous Manneken Pis, great shopping areas, restaurants, bars, cathedrals and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing