We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly toilets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #110 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Stirling
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Smelly toilets”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel has seen better days but was clean enough (just) and okay for the money. Its not four star as advertised: more like 3 star at best - a bit like a student university halls of residence. There are definitely better hotels in Brussels for similar money. My only real complaint was that the room stank of a sulphur smell coming from the toilet. Not pleasant. But very well located in the centre of Brussels, 5 mins walk from central station, good connections to the airport, and very close to the Grand Place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grassharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    389
    269
    135
    64
See reviews for
86
366
91
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

End of January I stayed in this hotel for a night, when I was in a workshop in Brussels. The hotel is centrally located, right next to the Grand Place. Very easy to reach it from Brussels airport, as the train will take you to Brussels Central and the hotel is ~10 minutes walk from there.

The room was a bit small, but it was more than fine for one person for one night. The bed was comfortable. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and the water pressure was good.

There is a Finnish sauna in the hotel that can be used for free at any point, but you have to request it at least an hour earlier, so they can heat it up.

The breakfast buffet was fine, decent cold cuts and cheese, along with a nice selection of fruits and cereals.

The very limited interaction I had with the staff (check-in and check-out) was done professionally and efficiently.

I would recommend this place both for business and holiday travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Istvan_Mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for the one night en-route to Berlin, and were satisfied with our stay. The room was a bit small but adequate, and the bathroom was fine too with good water pressure from the shower.
The breakfast was a good buffet selection with bacon and scrambled eggs, and the usual continental cold cuts, cheese, cereals, fruit and yoghurt, and excellent bread.
The only negative was the state of the corridor carpets on our floor(1st) they need a really good shampoo, or completely renewed as the light colour shows all the dirty marks from guests shoes.
As stated before the hotel is a few minutes from the Grand Place, and Bruxelles Central railway station, so the location cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FORB's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The only issue I had with the hotel was the double beds. Was expecting one queen. Free breakfast and free semi- secure wifi were plusses and you can't beat the location. Room and bathrooms were very clean. Staff, especially the smiling girl at night were friendly and helpful. No complaints, got exactly what I paid for. $25 taxi to and from airport.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sk0563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

...and also the good location.

But it does not make up for the unfriendly receptionist (young asian woman)
The noisy room with a noisy AC and a broken bathtub inn it and a broken shower head so you get to clean the floor at the same time as you showered.
Bed was bad and I got a twin instead of double that was specified in advance. I confronted the reception and was told I could check tomorrow and no apology. I never checked beacause I wanted to save them from having to make up more excuses.

A few other positive details...
In the evening there was a smiling young woman in the reception. She was the only smiling person I saw at the hotel during the stay.
The breakfast had unlimited bacon :) It was not at al crisp and bading in fat, but it was still bacon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liller0sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location is very central and close to the train centre and cathedral. At 89 Euros a night inclusive of breakfast and wifi the price was also reasonable considering the location and I suppose you get what you pay for. That's the good bit.

The hotel however did have an extremely depressing feel about it. The decor was tired, dark, dated and grubby in places. The room smelt of foul air every time the bathroom was open. There was no iron in the room and generally no redeeming features. This felt very much like a low-end three star hotel that badly needed a freshen up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed twice in this Hotel, on business trips, and I still have mixed feelings about it.

On one hand, the Hotel is very well located (close to central station and Grand Place) and you do get some benefits from typical Scandic Hotels: 24h snacks and fruit stand, free wifi of reasonable quality (lobby and rooms) and nice options of healthy breakfast, for instance.

On the other hand, the Hotel does not justify the 4-star rating or the matching high prices. The rooms are not large, many of the rooms face the indoor patio and have smallish windows, no safe in the room, average and aged furniture... Even considering Brussels standards, the rooms are more in line with mid-lower range of 3-star hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.2 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#108 of 199 in Brussels
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Property: Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location in Brussels, hotel Scandic Grand Place is your perfect choice when visiting this charming Belgian capital city. Within walking distance from the hotel you'll find many of Brussel's prominent tourist attractions and a vibrant city life. Scandic Grand Place is situated a 5 minute walk from Brussel's central station, and a quick walk from the famous Manneken Pis, great shopping areas, restaurants, bars, cathedrals and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing