We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not priceworthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #111 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Brasov, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not priceworthy”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in the superior extra room, which promised extra good toiletries and access to hundreds of movies. Well the toiletries were the same as in the other rooms, they have a "FACE Stockholm" box but seem to fill them with the normal stuff. We also ran out of body lotion, the reception gave us two big containers of soap to refill the bodylotion box with(!). Also the movie selection was in reality three extra channels running the same childrensmovie all the time. There is a sauna and gym which are free and very good. The breakfast was rather bad, first the coffee was undrinkable, some nescafemixture, we complained and they offered real coffee for 2.5€ a cup instead, what a deal(!), in all other Scandic hotels they serve brewed coffee for breakfast. The scrambled eggs were not good and also the meats were rather cheap. The breadselection was very good aswell the cakes. The hotel has free internet which was of good speed.
Considering the price per night this hotel was not worth it, also the furniture in the room felt like bought from IKEAs second hand corner.
Also the walls are very thin, whenever your neighbour closes their door you think that the walls will fall down on you, also the view was rather disappointing, if you buy the most expensive category we were expecting some view outside instead of seeing into another guests room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaDeWaele, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Scandic Grand Place for your visit to Brussels and for taking the time to give feedback about your stay in our hotel.

I am happy to read you appreciated our gym, sauna, free internet and the bread and cakes at breakfast, but very sorry to read you were so dissatisfied with the rest of your stay.

One of the perks of our Superior Extra Rooms is free access to our movie channels, with a couple of movies. We do NOT advertise 'hundreds of movies'.
Concerning the FACE STockholm products: we do NOT refill them with 'the normal stuff'. We do indeed use the original FACE Stockholm products. These however are not stocked at reception. Reception only stocks a couple of standard products in case of emergency, which is probabaly what you received.

Concerning the coffee and eggs during breakfast:
I believe you were offered some brewed coffee from the bar instead of our normal organic coffee. In general we have very few remarks on the quality of our coffee.
We are currently looking for another option for our scrambled eggs and hope to offer some 'eggs on request' in 2013.

For future stays, please feel free to contact our front office if you are in any way dissatisfied with your room. Normally - during the weekend - we always have some rooms available, so we could have offered you a room with street view, though these are a bit more noisy due to our central position and the traffic.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to a Scandic Hotel,

Kind regards,


Eva De Waele

Front Office Supervisor

Scandic Grand Place
TVA BE 0462.318.529

Visit Rue d'Arenberg 18, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
Call +32 2 548 18 05
Fax +32 2 548 18 20
E-mail eva.dewaele@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    393
    272
    138
    66
See reviews for
90
371
95
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for some night for a business trip. The ONLY thing this hotel has going for it is the location(why I gave two instead of one).

We got a really small room and it took us about 5 minutes to turn on the lights. They just didn't respond and there was no place to put the key or anything. To be able to move around and get to our bed we put one suitcase on top of the desk and the other underneath, and the chair inside the closet. There was also a terrible smell from the sink, and it was really hot and humid in the room. The A/C barely worked, and every day when they cleaned our room they shut it off. The smell, the temperature and the noise(really thin walls) made it impossible to get a good night sleep.

The breakfast was nothing special, and the atmosphere in the breakfast area was unwelcoming. The hotel is in desperate need of a make-over. It seems old and dirty, especially in the hallways.

The staff was acceptable, neither friendly nor unfriendly.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room - some in our group got a bigger one, however it was a lot hotter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FKLS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaDeWaele, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Scandic Grand Place for your visit to Brussels and for taking the time to give feedback about your stay in our hotel.

Our housekeeping team is instructed to turn of the A/C as we are an eco-friendly hotel chain and this fits in to our energy-saving policy.

Please contact me and let me know which room you stayed in, so I can take a look at all technical issues you mentioned (smell from the sink, A/C, lights).

Also, may I ask you whether you contacted our front desk about the unsatisfactory room?
I am quite amazed that you were not offered another room and would like to research this further.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a Scandic Hotel,

Kind regards,


Eva De Waele

Front Office Supervisor

Scandic Grand Place
TVA BE 0462.318.529

Visit Rue d'Arenberg 18, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
Call +32 2 548 18 05
Fax +32 2 548 18 20
E-mail eva.dewaele@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in October because everything else was booked out. After staying firstly at the Novotel Grand Place, this hotel was a rude shock.
It was tiny. A double bed jammed up against a wall, a desk,and a bathroom where it took the hot water 10 minutes to come up to the 4th floor.
We had a drink in the bar and all 4 of us ended up with a gastric bug which we could only put down to the nuts served with the drinks.The barman was delightful however.
Front desk people good but overall the hotel rated poorly compared to all others we stayed at during 3 weeks in Europe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaDeWaele, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Scandic Grand Place for one night of your visit to Brussels and for taking the time to give feedback about your stay in our hotel.

“Unfortunately” our hotel is situated in a registered building. Therefore we cannot change anything about the interior division and the room size. Also getting approval for renovations is quite a complicated process.
My experience tells me, however, that - for most of our guests - this lack of space is compensated by our central yet quiet location and our knowledgeable staff.

Concerning the nuts at the bar, I can assure you we never divide the protions by hand - so there can be no contamination there - and we always throw away any leftovers.
Hygiene is one of our top priorities and I highly doubts that these nuts, or any other food offered in our hotel, would have been the source of your gastric bug.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Brussels,

Kind regards,

Eva De Waele

Front Office Supervisor

Scandic Grand Place
TVA BE 0462.318.529

Visit Rue d'Arenberg 18, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
Call +32 2 548 18 05
Fax +32 2 548 18 20
E-mail eva.dewaele@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Arrived very early and asked to leave our bags which was not an issue at all. They must be used to this as they have a lockable storage room a few steps from the front desk which was reassuring and convenient. The front desk staff was knowledgeable and helpful in providing directions.

Location is highly desirable; 5 min walk from both Central Station and Grand Palace. We also enjoyed the gym and saunas; there is even a play area for kids in the lobby with a video game station at no cost. The free breakfast surpassed our expectation, hot food such as eggs and bacon, plenty of fresh breads, fruits, and different meats and cheeses, and a wonderful coffee machine. The morning staff was always around monitoring the food selection and clearing tables with a pleasant attitude. Complementary newspapers (2 of which were English) was an added benefit, all of this included with the rate of the room! Needed a couple of beers for my trip to the sauna and headed to the bar to pick them up, the bartender saw that I took a handful of nuts, as I was walking away he offered the bowl to me to take, and I obliged. Such a small and simple offering that goes a long way in terms of customer service.

The room we had looked out onto the street below, the windows did open a bit for fresh air if needed. Comfortable beds, medium size desk, flat screen TV, and god closet/storage space. Free internet as well. One item that we did appreciate was the hotel's environmental awareness. The trashcan offered different compartments for paper and plastic. The bathroom soap was in wall mounted compartments in the shower and next to the sink, decent stuff too (think it was Dove). Have never seen this offering at a hotel in the states, too bad as it is a great concept. The only snag during our stay was when I attempted to buy a Brusseliscous tourist package at about 8pm. There was only one package left which was in the display case and the manager was off duty and they had the only key. We were departing before the manager came back on so we were not able to get the package, too bad as we really wanted one.

Over all a great property, location, staff, and experience. Hope that Scandic looks at opening in North America, but in the meantime will return to this one or try another!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of a interior courtyard, glad we asked for a street view. Keep in mind noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stadiaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaDeWaele, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Scandic Grand Place for your visit to Brussels and for taking the time to give feedback about your stay in our hotel.

I'm so sorry you didn't get the Brusselicious package. I actually do not have this key. It is always located at the reception, but apparently the receptionist on duty that night was not aware of this.
I have just informed him, so you can rest assured that next time you are staying with us, you can buy any package you want!

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,


Eva De Waele

Front Office Supervisor

Scandic Grand Place
TVA BE 0462.318.529

Visit Rue d'Arenberg 18, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
Call +32 2 548 18 05
Fax +32 2 548 18 20
E-mail eva.dewaele@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
616 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

great location in the city center and walking distance to loads of restaurants and chocolate shops. a reasonable price so long as you are not going to be in the room except to sleep. The window looked out on a close brick wall so no light from outside got into the room. no actual soap just dispensers. room kind of bleak and depressing but functional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel. It is well located in central Brussels. Close to the train station, restaurants etc. Why do I like the hotel...

Good location
Reasonable prices
Free wifi
Free breakfast
Feels safe
Full bath
Snack kiosk in lobby

There's nothing that I don't like very much. The only not so perfect points are
Rooms can be dark
Can often hear your neighbours!
Looked like something horrible on the valance of the bed (dried vomit, or something spilt!) room 118 I think

I would stay here again and probably will

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABCHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have arrived at this average hotel at 18:00 local time. and need to get some sustenance as I have to make business calls for the next 3 hours. I try to order some room service only to be told that the restaurant closes at 14:00................

I was offered some nuts from the bar or a sandwich from the vending machine @ €7. I would suggest we move all business away from brussles and close it down it seems that someone already made that suggestion which has obviously been acted upon.

Based on the fact that all the resaturants in the area close at 21:00 just as I finish my calls I have chosen a terrible location for my hotel which is generally over priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaDeWaele, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Scandic Grand Place for your visit to Brussels and for taking the time to give feedback about your stay in our hotel.

Please contact us in order to verify whether you indeed stayed at our hotel. I believe you either stayed at another hotel or were given incorrect information.

Scandic Grand Place's restaurant is open during weekdays from 12h until 14h and daily from 16h until 23h30. There is no reason why you would not have been able to get any food when you checked in at 18h. Our room service could even have brought up the food to your room so you could have taken a bite during your conference call.

Also, we do not have any vending machine's in the hotel. We do have a shop in the lobby that is open 24/7, where you can buy sandwiches (starting at 3€50), fruit, salads, drinks, snacks and other items.

Above that, the hotel is situated right in the city center with hundreds of restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, none of which closes at 21h00.

Feel free to contact us,

Kind regards,


Eva De Waele

Front Office Supervisor

Scandic Grand Place
TVA BE 0462.318.529

Visit Rue d'Arenberg 18, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
Call +32 2 548 18 05
Fax +32 2 548 18 20
E-mail eva.dewaele@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#110 of 199 in Brussels
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Property: Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location in Brussels, hotel Scandic Grand Place is your perfect choice when visiting this charming Belgian capital city. Within walking distance from the hotel you'll find many of Brussel's prominent tourist attractions and a vibrant city life. Scandic Grand Place is situated a 5 minute walk from Brussel's central station, and a quick walk from the famous Manneken Pis, great shopping areas, restaurants, bars, cathedrals and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing