We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like good value until you get inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #109 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Looks like good value until you get inside”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Pros:
Well located
Nice lobby area
Some good value deals if you book early (otherwise expensive)

Cons:
Horrendous corridors leading to the room - with a bad smell and left me feeling like a mouse in a maze
The room was literally falling apart - they came to unblock the sink at 8pm at night and the chemical smell almost did me in. They also had to fix the door.
Tiny room
A view of a wall from the window
Unmemorable breakfast

Room Tip: Go somewhere else - although where I don't know. I've tried over 10 different hotels in Brus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gootandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    389
    269
    135
    64
See reviews for
86
366
91
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slangerup, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location of the hotel isn't bad at all. Main train station a few minutes walk, bike rental on the coner of the steet. Grand Place and other great sights very close by. Don't expect too much from the hotel though. The room is clean, but quite worn. The bathroom is small and with a lifethreatning slippery shower (in the bathtub). Anyway as mentioned clean, great location and so so breakfast.

Note the pool rating is wrong - there isn't one - but I couldn't uncheck it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkjoldDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

small room, breakfast not a 4 stars standard but excellent location.
the hotel was well located, lots of parking around and for 24 hours good deals €14.50
the bed was of good quality and bathroom clean. Make sure to bring your shower gel
staff was doing just enough not that extra bit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Scandic Grand Place is a clean, budget hotel centrally located in Brussels.

We stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and although we booked a superior room this time, the room was much smaller.

The bed however, was large and comfortable. Unfortunately, the hot water took approximately ten minutes to warm up sufficiently to take a shower and the only toiletries available are large squeeze bottles of soap/shampoo. A shower cap is essential as is body lotion.

We had to purchase drinks at the bar and take them up to the room as the mini bar is not stocked. This shouldn’t be the case in a four star hotel!

The gym at the top of the building is free unlike many other hotels in Europe. It contains two treadmills, a bike, fitballs and free weights, sufficient for a good workout.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and consisted of fruit, juices cereal, cold meats, cheeses breads and pastries, plus a selection of hot items.

Overall, the Scandic Grand Place is a value for money place to stay in Brussels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreoCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived to this hotel after a hard days traveling and a bad experience at Carefour De L Europe, and stayed here for 2 nights on the 8th and 9th of Aug ,( Read my review on Carefour De L Europe )
The staff at this hotel couldnt do enough for us , friendly,helpful and very obliging.The room was very clean and had all the important things, it even had free WiFi in the rooms,a very hard thing to get in Europe even in 5star hotels. The only thing wrong was that the room was very small. The breakfast was good and adequate. All in all , A very good 3 to 4 star hotel, clean ,good location and friendly staff .

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room they do have a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raider5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The excellent position of this hotel allow to reach on foot the most important Bruxelles attractions.
It is a modern structure, rooms are not big but comfortable enough and clean.
Breakfast is very rich and the staff is very helpful and professional.
Recommended specially in case of special weekend rates.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Scandic Hotel Grand Place for three nights from July 28 thru 31. Check in was just fine. The lobby was decent and the reception staff was friendly and helpful. Stepping off the elevator on the third floor, I was assaulted by a dirty carpet smell and was appalled at the appearance of the horribly stained carpet as well. I was expecting the room to be just as bad, but was pleasantly surprised to find the room clean and of a decent size. We were happy to be able to adjust the thermostat to our liking (unlike other European hotels we've stayed in) and we also had a "balcony" door that we could open for fresh air. Breakfast was good--nothing special, but good. We were also pleased with the free wi-fi. The location of this hotel is what makes it, though. Just a few minutes' walk to the Grand Place, tons of shopping, and so many restaurants and bars--for the price, it can't be beat. We would definitely stay there again. Now if they could just replace that carpet....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J9NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.2 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#108 of 199 in Brussels
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Property: Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location in Brussels, hotel Scandic Grand Place is your perfect choice when visiting this charming Belgian capital city. Within walking distance from the hotel you'll find many of Brussel's prominent tourist attractions and a vibrant city life. Scandic Grand Place is situated a 5 minute walk from Brussel's central station, and a quick walk from the famous Manneken Pis, great shopping areas, restaurants, bars, cathedrals and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing