We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #111 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overall a good stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The good: the service. The staff was really nice and helpful, the complimentary breakfast was really exceptionally great.

The less good: the room. It was slightly old-looking, although clean. The mattress was thin, but I slept surprisingly ok on it.

I might stay there again... maybe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB__Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    386
    267
    134
    63
See reviews for
85
362
90
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Scandic Grand Place may not have very bright rooms due its location right in the old and narrow streets in the centre of Brussels. But it is so well located, a walk away from the Grand Place, the Central train station, the pedestrian rue des Bouchers and rue Neuve. Good value for money with buffet breakfast and wifi internet included.

Room Tip: Rooms looking inside the central patio are quieter but lack a bit of fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location in Brussels. Lots of restaurants beside it and v close to central station.
The hotel is very basic but clean, decorated in 1970's style. We were given a room first with an extremely soft bed. We requested a bed with more support and without fuss they changed us to a very acceptable bed.

Room Tip: Request a hard bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was well located, well within walking distance of the Central train station and many of the city center sights. The hotel staff, especially at the front desk, were always very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, with plenty of variety. The coffee was just OK. Our hotel room was fine, typical small European style with two twin beds pushed together. My only complaint is that those twin beds weren't very comfortable and the room was somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillZ_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights, the room has a window looking inside the tower which means we couldn't open the window to have some fresh air. We requested a large bed, but they just pushed the two single bed together... While despite of that, we had a good stay, breakfast was nothing fancy but nice and sufficient for us. There is a public parking couple minutes walk away, which is very convenient in this busy city. The best is the location that is close to all important sights we wanted to visit. Really enjoyed the walk in the old city.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room has windows looking out to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lost25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellarine Peninsula
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for just one night in December - but what a great location! We were not exactly sure of this hotel's proximity to the railway station but assumed it must be relatively close, when the driver of the taxi we approached just laughed, refused to take us, and pointed down the hill. We walked in that direction and found the hotel within 3-5 minutes.

This hotel has warm rooms, comfortable beds, and a great sized bathroom. The rooms are a little dark, as all windows face the courtyard and you only get what light comes in from there - but they are clean and comfortable. We had one Queen bed, plus a single for our 12-year-old and had plenty of room for our luggage and to move around. Reception staff were very welcoming, very friendly, and willing to help with tourist information and directions. The buffet breakfast in the hotel dining room was great - plenty of food, very filling start to the day - and served in a nice light bright room.

We wandered from the hotel through the shops, visited the Mannekin Pis (dressed in his Sinterklaas costume) and tried our first cone of Belgian fries. At night, just three minutes from the hotel, we watched the Christmas light show projected onto buildings in Grand Place; it was such a unique experience and fun welcome to Brussels. Dinner was only quick burger at a fast food store nearby (we were all tired from our day of travelling) but there are many restaurants close to the hotel as well).

It was disappointing that our schedule only allowed one night in transit at this hotel, but I would definitely recommend it for warmth, comfort, friendliness and location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkelpunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel was a serious disappointment and not what I expected. I was put in a dark, dingy, old room which had no safe and looked like it hadn't been decorated since the 70s. The bed was also noisy and not very comfortable. There was no plug for the bathroom sink, no face cloths in the bathroom and the corners of the bathroom could have done with an extra clean.
The hotel corridors were dingy and the carpets were filthy. The vacuum sat in the corridor for the length of my stay. This was the corridor which looked like it was out of the Shining!
Reception wasn't great for a number of reasons
1. I asked them about one of the tourist things in the town and they told me to phone them myself - no "I'm not sure, try tourist information", it was more like 'go away, this has nothing to do with me'.
2. My room was noisy and the drains smelt. I said to reception and the lady was nice enough but said that the hotel was full so they couldn't move me, but if i wanted they could send someone to my room at 11pm to look into the smell. 11pm!
3. No one asked about my stay when I checked out.
4. The luggage storage area was unsecure. reception give you a keycard and you go to the other side of the bar (where they can't see) and put your bag in a room. Anyone who was leaving luggage could have stolen bags or their contents while in the room on their own.
6. The bar/restaurant area was't open during the day, but this wasn't told to me during my stay. I also was told very little about the hotel by reception or offerend any assistance on check in with the area etc. A quick - here's a map of Brussels and tourist information is here' wouldn't have been that hard for them to offer.

Overall the hotel was more like a 2* hotel than a 4* hotel. Don't go expecting 4*!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
NH Brussels Grand Place Arenberg
0.2 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#106 of 199 in Brussels
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Property: Scandic Hotel Grand Place
Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its central location in Brussels, hotel Scandic Grand Place is your perfect choice when visiting this charming Belgian capital city. Within walking distance from the hotel you'll find many of Brussel's prominent tourist attractions and a vibrant city life. Scandic Grand Place is situated a 5 minute walk from Brussel's central station, and a quick walk from the famous Manneken Pis, great shopping areas, restaurants, bars, cathedrals and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing