We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are too greedy IMHO”
Review of Le Chatelain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Chatelain Hotel
Ranked #59 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“They are too greedy IMHO”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice, beautiful rooms and fancy lobby. The only thing that really hassled me is that every service, even the smallest one, for for extra fees. Examples:
Umbrella - if you use it (not taking with you, just unpacking it!), that's 10 EUR
Power Adapter - 5 EUR to use, 35 EUR if you forget to return it.

Not to mention the pricey WiFi, drinks in the bar and pay per view movies.
Otherwise it's ok. A little far from the center though...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeshaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear GeshaZ,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel with us.

We are pleased to read that you had an overall pleasant stay and that you appreciated our establishment.

Being a 5-star establishment, we aim at always providing the best services to each of our guest, which is why we do not want to have umbrellas that have already been used by a previous guest in our rooms for example. Had you wished to simply borrow an umbrella, our reception would have been pleased to provide you with one.

The power adapters that are available at the reception are free of charge if you give them back by the end of your stay, and only charged on your account if you keep them with you.

Concerning our location, we hope that you enjoyed the quiet and friendly neighbourhood as well as the proximity of Avenue Louise, its shops and restaurants. For trips to the city centre, our reception is at your disposal to advice you about public transportation as well as to book a taxi for you. Moreover, our VIP shuttle service can bring you to any destination within the city.

We hope to be able to welcome you again at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    139
    41
    25
    10
See reviews for
42
136
25
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maisons Alfort
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week, giving a course. Fortunately, I did not pay for the room, The official price is crazy for what you get. And a waffle in the minibar is 5.5 euros (0.5 in any vending machine).
This hotel is certainly quite good, but without a special touch. The window faces a wall. Rooms are not so large, the bathroom too, with a tub you have to climb to get in. A shower would have been better. The bed is quite large and comfortable.
The desk is certainly polite and friendly, but not very efficient for directions.
Location is quite good, in a quiet place, close to the tram.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlbrillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jlbrillet,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel with us.

We are pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the convenience of our location.

By choosing to stay at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel, you selected a luxury 5-star hotel, therefore offering rates matching the value and services we provide. Had you wished to stay in a hotel from a lower price category, we would have been pleased to welcome you in our 4-star hotel, Hotel Progress. Do not hesitate to visit our website www.progresshotel.be for more information.

Our Superior Rooms are our standard category of rooms, therefore only benefitting from a bathtub. Had you wished for a bigger room with a separated bathtub and shower, would we have been pleased to provide you with an Executive Room.

We hope to be able to welcome you again at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Always happy when my trips take me here.
Excellent location. Rooms are very good and roomy.
Breakfast is very good.
I end up here often and I always know that i can expect a good nights sleep and feel relaxed.
Of course some times they charge for wi-fi...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ben H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel with us.

We are pleased to read that your stays in our establishment are always a relaxing and satisfying time. Such nice comments are always a pleasure to read and have been passed to all our departments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel during your next stay in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Traveled to attend management wirkshop at MCE & Stayed for 7 nights without breakfast. Tiilets & Rooms are clean. Bed comfortable. Nice small garden area for having dinner, drink and smoke. Live Piano playing evening time which was relaxing. Helpful staff and they speak good English. Neighborhood is quite after 18:00 hrs with few bars and irish pub nearby. Loise street near fir lux shopping but Far away from the Grand place but you can get there by the trum which stops 300 meter from the hotel. Its non smoking hotel so each time you have to smoke outside or at the garden. Price little bit high. Overall good and would stay back if attending another workshop at MCE.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HameedDadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear HameedDadi,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our room, the atmosphere of our bar and restaurant and the helpfulness of our staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Top hotel with friendly service, clean rooms, discret, lovely little backgarden for coffee, central but in a calm part of the city. One negative that our pre-ordered taxi never got booked so we had a bit of a tight timeline arriving to church for a wedding. Air conditioning wasn't cool enough at night and no possibility to regulate it in the room. Overall very good stay though!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STHLMPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear STHLMPaula,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the professionalism of our staff, our facilities and our central location.

Be assured that we have taken your comment concerning the taxi into consideration and it has been communicated to the reception team in order to avoid any reoccurrence in the future.

Concerning the air conditioning, all rooms have the possibility to be regulated directly by the client. We are sorry that yours was not cool enough and have passed the information to our maintenance department to prevent such disagreement from happening again.

We hope to welcome you again in Le Châtelain Boutique Hôtel for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Two weeks ago my husband and I spent one night in the chatelain hotel in Brussels - a nice hotel in a pleasant neighborhood. I made an internet reservation for an executive room, described in the hotel site as "at least 45 square meters" with a sitting area and a sofa bed. The room we had was much smaller and with no sofa bed, just one armchair. Going out I asked at the front desk if this is indeed an executive room, and the answer was - yes. In the past I would not have taken this for an answer , but this time I just gave up. However, the next morning, perhaps because I did not sleep well (the bed being not that comfortable), I went to the front desk and complained. This time they admitted that this was rather a small room. I asked - so why did you give me the small room if the hotel is quite empty? They promised to check it. The answer was that it was their mistake and I will be charged for a superior room rather than en executive one. The point is that I made a reservation for a big room and i did not get it. Besides, I cannot understand why, instead of upgrading its customers, if possible, the hotel chose to downgrade them. I wonder if this is a policy, otherwise, what kind of a "mistake"was it?
That being said I would like to add that this is a good hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ruth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear ruth J,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing with us your stay at Châtelain Boutique Hôtel.

We are glad to read that you have appreciated the hotel and had a good stay in our establishment.

Be assured that we have taken into consideration your comments, and we will pass them to all the concerned departments in order to avoid such reoccurrence in the future.

We truly hope to have the chance to welcome you again at hotel Châtelain, during your next stay in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verviers, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I landed here by chance ... as I had no bookings at any other place. And, I was totally surprised with this amazing find!!! Such a beautiful property, very clean and intelligently designed. Stylish décor of the building, lovely rooms, yummy food and that friendly staff ..... All was amazing. I will definitely recommend this place to my other friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barsey by Warwick
Hotel Barsey by Warwick
#68 of 198 in Brussels
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#27 of 198 in Brussels
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 198 in Brussels
1,778 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#21 of 198 in Brussels
1,226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#51 of 198 in Brussels
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chatelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chatelain Hotel

Property: Le Chatelain Hotel
Address: Rue du Chatelain 17 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chatelain Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Chatelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing