We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Izan Avenue Louise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Izan Avenue Louise
Ranked #121 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed April 28, 2013


To be honest, the rooms are in serious need of renovation (in our room, the curtains were hanging off the rails) and they need to provide soap in the bathrooms (or at least provide more shower gel) but the location to the Place Stephanie and Avenue Louise is excellent and it is also well situated aka restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful, with the exception of one person on the reception. For the price, it's excellent but if you want luxury, go elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Von_Smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 585 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here just last weekend. Got the hotel very cheaply on Expedia. Great location just a few yards off avenue Louise and about 100 yards from place de Stephanie. Lots of quaint restaurants nearby. Rooms were clean and pretty nice. Great shower and they provided you with complimentary ear buds, toothbrush, razor etc in your bathroom which was a nice touch!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beauhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at the hotel 2 years ago, and had a really nice large room on the first floor. This time around I got (for the same price) a small room on the 7th floor. The upholstery on the seat was so worn I thought it could tear any time. The heating was hard to regulate (it seems to be either very hot or cold). The air in the room was so stale and musty that I had to keep the window a bit open (it was 0 C outside with snow... Nasty weather... But still kept the window open). There was also a plastic sheet as mattress cover which makes for very uncomfortable sleeping (I took it off). The bathroom was very small and awkwardly arranged (had to close the door entirely to be able to get into the shower). The staff was so-so friendly, and does not provide the standard city map. I could go on, but I suppose you get the picture: a run-down hotel... And you can doubtlessly get better value for your money on Brussels!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Smiley_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Hotel is located just off Avenue Louise, and is a brisk 10 minutes walk to the Louise metro station. The lobby and dining area are quite pleasant, and has a bar service available. As this area has free WiFi, it is popular with guests throughout the day. The breakfast service was buffet-style, not spectacular but perfectly reasonable for a hotel of this price.

Our room was spacious, clean, and everything functioned properly. The rooms could certainly use some renovation, but the decor was OK.

We felt this hotel was reasonably good value, and would especially suit visitors who had the Louise precinct in their plans.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Izan Avenue Louise whilst visiting friends in Brussels. It was important for us to find a good hotel because it was our first trip abroad with our three month old baby. The location is OK, being about 800m from the Louise Metro station and just off Avenue Louise itself, so very handy for all the shops and only about a 20 minute walk into the main tourist spots such as Grand Place and Mannekin Pis.The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Not the most modern of hotels but we had no issues.

+ Friendly, helpful staff
+ Good location next to Avenue Louise
+ Large room for the price
+ Clean room/bathroom
+ Deep bath - was great after a day walking around the city!

- Room in need of some TLC, there was a few minor rips in the bedding and scratches on surfaces
- Bedding was not changed during our three night stay. But the room was cleaned
- Breakfast is expensive at Euro 20 per person.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyollings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our stay here was so-so, nothing special. The pros of it: The lobby area was inviting. Our room was a comfortable size. Shower water pressure was good. The cons of it: The room's carpet was very worn and the wallpaper was shabby. The glass door to the shower would not stay closed (kept swinging open) so water spilled onto the floor. Towels were worn. The elevator was fairly tight especially when handling luggage. The mixed bag: Over 4 days, staff alternated between those who were very friendly/helpful and those who behaved as if they were being put upon by the guests. Forgetting at which time the weekend breakfast would be served, I arrived 10 minutes early to eat. I received a very withering look from the woman arranging the breakfast buffet. I would book here if I couldn't find another place first.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mecorton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I just stayed here for one night on a business-trip, coughing up about 60 pounds booked through LastMinute.com (plus the 6 euros tax you have to pay in person). I stayed in a room on the seventh (top) floor. The room had hints of opulence but had clearly seen better days. It felt a little... unclean: ciggie marks on the carpet, unusual stains near light switches, etc. A shower was OK but probably wouldn't risk a bath [holding nose]. Undoubtedly the worst thing (visuallyh) was the fact the glass screens on either side of the outdoor balcony were both shattered, like a bomb had gone off - in mid-January I didn't want to go outside, so, no major problem, but some would (rightly) think that shattered glass all over the balcony was outrageous. The second worst thing was the fact the room three doors along was all boarded up - as if there'd been a raid on it, or that the room was condemned or something. Oh, also, the lift didn't work once, so I had to walk down seven flights of steep stairs.
Breakfast was 12 euros, so I skipped it - surely a sensible move.
I reckon only about 10-20 of the c. 70-80 rooms (a guess-timate) were occupied, but I could be wrong.
In summary: this place is fine for a last-minute business booking, and the area is great for exploring. But probably wise to give it a miss for a fun/weekend/romantic break!
Cheers!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReviewingHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,087 reviews
2.4 mi away
Husa President Park
Husa President Park
#91 of 198 in Brussels
1,362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
3.1 mi away
Gresham Belson Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brussels Centre Stephanie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Izan Avenue Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izan Avenue Louise

Address: Rue Blanche 4 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $69 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Izan Avenue Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Izan Avenue Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise Hotel Brussels
Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing