We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Average business hotel in the center of Europe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Izan Avenue Louise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Izan Avenue Louise to your Saves list
Izan Avenue Louise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Blanche 4 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 197 Hotels in Brussels
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average business hotel in the center of Europe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night during a business meeting in Brussels. I had to book a hotel at short notice so all of the major business hotels were very expensive. So, I found this nice hotel in the city. The hotel is located on Av. Louise, which is a major district in Brussels. However, it is not easy to walk around to find a good restaurant or any touristic places. It is also not located very close to the metro station.However, you can reach anywhere in Brussels via taxi for a good price.

The hotel has a classic western style decoration. The rooms and furnitures are in good condition. The bathroom is small but has quality materials. There is free wifi in the lobby. The breakfast is not the very best and offering many choices, but tasty.

If you need to book a hotel in Brussels and your favorite hotels are all full, you could go for this hotel at a reasonable price. But don't expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantikiroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    183
    129
    55
    17
See reviews for
47
176
55
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel! Very easy check-in, had to wait a while for our room (i.e. 12pm) but as we arrived in the morning this was understandable, and a very early check-in availability in comparison to other hotels. The lift is small, would fit around 2 or 3 people, but is perfectly functional as it is a small hotel.
Room was excellent! Very spacious and clean. Beds were extremely comfortable and provided good linen and different blankets so we were never too warm or cold. Room had excellent cable TV service, with good range of English-speaking channels available. There was some noise from the street below during the night, but not terrible. The fan that was provided was very useful, on almost constantly while in the room.
The bathroom is a decent size, very clean. The only nuisance was that the shower door did not fully fit the bath, creating a gap for the water to leak out on the floor.
The breakfast was good, decent selection of bread and meat etc. but I feel that there should have been more fruit available.
The hotel is in a good location close to lots of shops and restaurants. The tourist areas, such as Grand-Place, are about a 30 min. walk from the hotel. Maps are available at reception.
By the way, the quality of the English of the Belgians is excellent and they are very helpful, so no need to be worried about the quality of your French!
Overall, excellent hotel with good location and good staff, would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The front rooms are slightly noisier, but appear to be significantly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tf91ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Have stayed several time there as price quality ratio is eessential. At less than 90 Euros a night with breakfast a day when the EU has a full fledge meeting is a bargain not to be missed. Except for a safe which could not be fixed (despite prompt expert intervention), a shower glass screen which was gone and a tiny TV, it was still a bargain. Fortunately the room was on the ground floor, so, unlike the previous time I did not have to wait for the elevator/lift. Would be good if some renovation took place. Breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalthierry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our room was very shabby and really in need of a makeover, the wallpaper was stained and dirty,there were nails sticking out of the dado rail, stains on the carpet, and the curtains were coming off the pole. The room was at the back of the hotel so no view but it was very quiet and warm. We did not have breakfast but were offered it at 24 euro's each - so that would have been an extra 48 euro's a day.

The hotel expect you to leave a 50 euro deposit in case you use the mini bar - when we checked out we were asked if we had used it or used parking to which we answered No to both - and the receptionist said OK so that will just be the tourist tax you owe and duly charged us an extra 18euros for visiting their city!!! That was 4.50euro for every night of our stay. I know it is not a lot but it was on top of what we had already paid.

The lift is very old fashioned but i was ok with this and does not have an inner door. The staircases are spiral small and narrow and not very easy to carry cases up and down.

All in all the hotel is very tired and has a sad feel about the place - the once grand and decadent rooms need some TLC and a lot of money thrown at to restore it to its former glory.


Would we stay there again? No - not at the price they are asking

Room Tip: "Ask for rooms at the front of the hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Rooms are very small and things are a bit worn but the location is very good. Breakfast at the hotel is outrageously expensive for what you get. There are many cheaper eateries nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The room was great ! Enormous, freshly refurbished, the bathroom was new clean and very spacious. overall it was more like a suite and less than a standard hotel room. I guess I was lucky... It was a corner room on the 4th floor. The view was not nice but I did not care as I was away all day. The breakfast was fine the service was pretty awful. Impersonal manner, bored staff, impolite and arrogant. Had to get to a certain pub which is very well known in the area. W hen I asked for directions the receptionist told me that there are so many pubs in Brussels that he was in no position to give me directions! It turned out that google was my best pal and guided me to my destination which was 500 meters away . He was more than eager to guide other guests to certain restaurants in the area...very eagerly as well! The only polite person I met was the cleaner.....other than her the rest of the staff need a change of attitude! So much indifference and boredom I have never encountered anywhere else...and I do travel a lot.

Room Tip: Corner room go for 402 it is a suite view is not nice but room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaritaCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Well, ok, it is true that in this hotel there is an air of old grandeur in its decadence. Marble bathrooms, outdated classical furniture etc. Having stayed in ex-Melia Louise in its top 00's era and also recently in Feb 12', I trully believe that if you don't care about a stain in the moquette, this hotel still offers a very good price/quality ratio. Especially if you are spending working days in Brussels, when most of the hotels ask for exorbitant prices. Moreover, I am a fan of the Louise quarter (shopping, good transportation, safety) and I would never opt for a hotel near the EU institutions...
p.s. Asking for a credit card number as a guarantee for eventual mini bar consumption is not a very kind hotel policy...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazzzarakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agenda Louise
Hotel Agenda Louise
#97 of 197 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brussels
0.1 mi away
Zoom Hotel Brussels
Zoom Hotel Brussels
#73 of 197 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Brussels City Centre
NH Brussels City Centre
#83 of 197 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
2.4 mi away
Husa President Park
Husa President Park
#72 of 197 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Izan Avenue Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izan Avenue Louise

Property: Izan Avenue Louise
Address: Rue Blanche 4 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Izan Avenue Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Izan Avenue Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise Hotel Brussels
Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing