We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Steigenberger”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Ranked #22 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Steigenberger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

lack of staff
staff not properly trained to work on a 5 star hotel especially restaurant (breakfast) and the waiters (floor) at the bar. Head barman was nice and professional tough.
Reception staff did not hide the fact that they were busy..we got it!
Many staff were nice tough especially room stewardess, maintenance, conference and tall guy with glasses and beard at the reception
conference staff was good
prices too high compared to the level of service.
you need to improve on staff training and 5 star attitude

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmbcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing us your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to read that your overall stay at the Grandhotel Brussels went well and that you appreciated our location, sleeping facilities and room cleanliness.
As for the average level of service that you mention received from certain of our team members, please accept our sincere apologies. We would like to assure you we constantly strive to achieve the highest level of friendly and professional service and we truly regret that we fell short of our goal wth you. Your comments have been shared with the relevant heads of departments and actions regarding staff training are being taken.
I will personally pass on your praises to Francois-Xavier and other colleagues you have mentioned. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at which tile we hope your overall appreciation of the service level will be more in keeping with your expectations.
Kind regards,
Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    408
    142
    57
    38
See reviews for
189
525
46
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over weekend in June.
This is by far the most luxurious hotel in Brussels. (Also known under its previous name as Conrad)
Large, impressive place to see and be seen, the Grand Hotel in the full sense.
Located on the Boulevard Louis, prestigious avenue of the city, where you will find the leading brand stores, some museums than stores.
Deluxe category rooms, are very large, huge bathroom, work area, and all the necessary means of communication. Coffee and tea are equipped properly.
Staff efficient and helpful.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mr. H,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review following your recent visit! We are especially pleased to read that our staff showed the efficiency and helpfulness which we strive to upkeep continually within our teams.
We all look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Kind regards,
Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Upon check in, room was not ready - although it was almost 2PM. Room is spacious, dark colours (not my taste) - which make the room dark. Bathroom is convenient - but in little need of renovation (rust in the bathtub, faded copper). Bed very soft.. Need to pay for WIFI, which I consider strange nowadays. Did not use minibar and breakfast (no value for money - extremely expensive). TV did not work properly. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the Grandhotel Brussels. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our prime location and the comfort of our rooms and bathrooms and would like to apologise for the technical issue you have encountered. We hope our colleagues were able to fix it for you without delay. We would like to take this opportunity inform you that we are starting bathroom renovations this summer, followed by suites and bedrooms. Please also be advised that complimentary internet is provided to all our guests who book with the hotel directly. We hope to welcome you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

By and large, I was impressed with Steigenberger Grand Hotel. Beautiful approach just off Avenue Loiuse in a lovely, cosmopolitan area of town surrounded by very nice boutiques. Check in was incredibly slow and i'm not sure why - perhaps desk staff were trying to answer too many calls / check guests in / arrange replacement door cards / give out wifi codes etc etc.

the entrance to the hotel is particularly warming with dark woods and luxurious soft seats positioned around the foyer - this continues throughout the Lobby Bar and into the main bar - very inviting and relaxing.


The restaurant / breakfast room is bright, well appointed and serves excellent steaks and superb wines.

I could go on to find fault with the rooms in as much as the finish on the taps etc is beginning to dull and door/window frames look as if they may need attended to soon but on this occassion I forgive and happily overlooked all of these things because the quality of the room furnishings was excellent and i could not have been more comfortable during my brief stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear jackandarthur,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review following your recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind regards,
Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were good, location was excellent in the heart of the city.. Shops are high end.

However what annoyed me was the fact that they charge 25€ for using the gym or pool. This is a rip off for only 24 hrs use. It should really be part of the room rate..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Abz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive comments! It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed our rooms and location during your recent stay with us. Even though the seperately owned and run Aspria health club already provides preferential entrace fees to our hotel guests, we are happy to inform you that discussions are ongoing to put in place more flexible pricing alternatives.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very grand indeed. Stayed for 3 nights over first weekend in June and weren't disappointed. Staff were very welcoming and the concierge was extremely helpful by providing us with a map and details of places of interest. In fact all staff were always friendly, polite and efficient. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a very big (albeit somewhat deteriorated) bathroom. The public areas are impeccable. We ate in Wiltchers the hotel restaurant and our meal was excellent (possibly the best fillet steak we have ever eaten!) As with other reviewer we were only 2 people in there on a Friday night too. In fact the hotel was very quiet and we hardly saw any other guests during our stay. The busiest place was the spa, which was also very well equipped. Our only gripe was the extortionate charge for daily use at 25 Euros each plus 9.28 city tax adding a total of over 175 Euros to our stay!) We chose this hotel because it had a pool and spa even though it was away from the city centre and feel that use of the facilities should be included in the hotel rate, which is high enough anyway. Would definitely stay again however and happy to recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackem64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are grateful that you took time to share your impressions in regards to your recent stay with us and are are thrilled to read that you had a memorable moment with us! I will personally share your positive comments with all our teams, including the spa management, which is a private membership club, authorizing our hotel guests a preferential entrance fee. We would also like to take the opportunity to let you know that we are starting an intensive renovation programme this summer, which will initially concentrate on our bathrooms and suites.
We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went to this hotel to attend a conference. Although I did not stay there, I must say that the hotel is very imposing on a grand scale. THe location is excellent- near all the high end shops and there are some nice shops on the hotel compund as well.

What I really appreciated was the food and the presentation of the food. The lunch and snacks provided by the hotel were simply superb. The presentation of the food was amazing and the food was great.

The service was amazing and I would considering staying there should I have to return to Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toutpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review following your recent visit! We eagerly look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#20 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Wiltcher's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Wiltcher's

Property: Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Address: Avenue Louise 71 | Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#15 Business Hotel in Brussels
#16 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Wiltcher's 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Wiltcher's offers guests a unique experience in Brussels. This establishment embodies all the regal elegance of Avenue Louise in the capital's most exclusive neighbourhood. A short stroll from the historic centre of town, it is the ideal place to make the very most of one of Europe's trendiest cities. Localisation 20 minute walk from the Palais Royal and Grand Place 20 minute drive away from Brussels International Airport/Zaventem and 5 minutes from the Midi Station (Eurostar/Thalys terminal) Public parking available (600 spaces) with direct hotel access (maximum height 1m90) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Wiltcher's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Brussels Hotel Brussels
Brussels Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing