We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean basic hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maxhotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maxhotel
Ranked #57 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, clean basic hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Arrived at the hotel which was easy to find. On the main road between Gare de Nord and Gare de Midi, just minutes away from Grand Place. Arrived at the hotel around 11am due to an early flight and couldnt check in till 3. They did let us into the hotel so we could leave our bags in lockers on the first floor which was handy. On check in had a lot of problems (tried to check in about 5 times but the machine wasnt having it) and in the end the guy behind reception activated cards for us.

The rooms were very basic, 2 beds a tv and a chair, but they were spotless and the bathroom was a decent size with a good shower. We were situated on the 8th floor which was very quiet with no traffic noise. On the first floor is a dining area with vending machines with drinks, food and toiletries.

Overall if you are looking for somewhere in a good location that is cheap and you just want a hotel to sleep you cant go wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murf139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    447
    134
    39
    16
See reviews for
51
445
112
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is the hotel for You if You don't need any staff to see and live mostly outside of it. Street noise is quite heavy otherwise very nice budget hotel. Paid wifi never worked, had to use someones open wifi :) If You don't have any high expectations its worth any penny.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aixxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Think of this hotel as renting a clean box with bed and shower in the center of Brussels. Check in is by computer and there is no front desk. First you need a check-in code and type it into the computer. Afterwards you will need to register your passport on a very unhandy screen ( I had to retry for about seven times). The hotel is cheaper then other hotels in Brussels, but no, thank you ! I prefer paying 20 euro more for a normal serviced hotel then this concept. Besides this a lot of the rooms give out on a side street wich is used by youngsters to have their 2 AM conversations and the provided TV channels are mostly French. You need to pay for BBC world ! And the Flemish Belgians have to do with a single combined Flemish/Dutch tv channel (in their own capital).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misseghers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having read some of the reviews on here, I was in two minds about staying here, but am glad we chose it. Overall impressions were better than expected. The hotel was clean and fresh, decorated in a modern simple style that may not be to everyone's taste, but I liked it. The room was adequately sized, and certainly not poor value for the price we paid. The bathroom was larger than in some other hotels, with a good sized, powerful shower. We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the quality of food (it is served by vending machines in a "lounge" area, which again appeared clean, fresh and fit-for-purpose, and very quiet at the time of our stay).
The room was not overly noisy, and whilst it was possible to hear voices of people in the corridor, or doors being opened/closed, it was no worse than in many other hotels, and not intrusive.
There was a chair and small table in the room, along with a couple of hooks and a rail (with hangars) to hang clothing, plus a couple of shelves. Nothing extravagant, but again functional. There was a TV, small but adequate, with some channels available for free, but others requiring a payment - we didn't really use it anyway, so it didn't matter to us.
We had little interaction with the staff, so cannot really judge on this aspect, however they seemed polite and friendly. The location is fine, it was on a main road but its a city centre hotel, so this is to be expected. Noise was not a problem. The hotel is well-located for the shopping areas (turn right out of the door, immediately right again, and you will be on one of the main shopping streets - not even 2 minutes walk!
Overall, I would happily recommend Max Hotel to anyone looking for a budget hotel in Brussels. It did what I expected it to, is well located, and appeared to have a good balance of price/location/quality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JDW1983_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here due to the impressive tripadvisor ratings but feel misled. The rooms are very basic, one plug socket, one hard plastic chair, two coat hangers, tiny TV, shower only, one bar of soap for toiletries. Surrounding area includes a porn cinema and sex shops and not a fat lot else.

The WiFi comes and goes and if you register, your code only works in one device. Was useless for making a VOIP call.

Overall disappointing and I rarely give bad reviews.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColonelDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a great hotel to stay at with friends if you are in your 20s. The staff was very friendly and helpful and it was a great location. I would recommend it to friends going to Amsterdam. They sent very helpful directions to get to the hotel when we arrived.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.6 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#7 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#74 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#22 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#61 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.8 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhotel

Property: Maxhotel
Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 107 | Boulevard Adolphe Max 107, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Maxhotel 1*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As we already said: Simple & Smart Maxhotel offers 63 one star brand new rooms in a modern fully redesigned 9 floors building located on one of the most important boulevard crossing the centre of Brussels . Our vision is to provide you the best value for money hotel in town. To achieve this goal we have fashioned this new concept of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maxhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxhotel Hotel Brussels
President Nord Brussels
Hotel President Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing