We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Warwick Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Warwick Brussels
Ranked #49 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in the Royal Windsor Hotel for a long weekend to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and although the hotel itself was nice we were disappointed with the experience. The website we booked through stated there was tea and coffee making facilities in the room so we were not happy to find you had to pay 8 euros per day for it!

On our first evening we decided to have an quiet night in after sight seeing all day but the television was not working. An engineer came but couldn't get it to work so reception called and said they would send someone up to move us to another room. We changed rooms but the air con was not working in the second room and despite it being an executive room we found it dark and dreary, not what we wanted for a romantic weekend away. I went to the reception desk to see if we could be moved again but the hotel was full and there were no other rooms with a double bed. I asked to be moved back to the original room and the man on reception seemed aghast at having to put us back in a room without a working TV but he did. I asked for the tea and coffee maker as compensation and which did not appear.

In the morning I rang up to order the tea and coffee maker to be told there wasn't one available. They did send a complimentary pot of tea but with only one cup! As requested I spoke to reception on our way out to say we didn't want to move rooms again and I asked them to ensure a tea and coffee maker would be made available to us later that day. It was in the room when we returned in the evening but they still charged us 2 days for it on checkout.

A few small changes could make this hotel great as the location is fabulous and the room was lovely. I can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't use it but the other facilities seems good and the staff were generally helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Ruth B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place – Brussels.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences you have faced during your stay, especially regarding the lack of information provided concerning the hotel’s room facilities and also the non-working TV in your room. For your information, a complimentary coffee and tea maker are available on Premium rooms and Warwick Suites.

Please rest assured your comments have been addressed to our different department heads concerned in order to avoid such situation in the future.

Should you give us another chance during your next visit to Brussels, we would be delighted to welcome you again and improve your impression of the high level of service we aspire to provide. To that effect, please do not hesitate to contact me directly in order to oversee personally your stay.

Yours Sincerely,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    932
    422
    167
    116
See reviews for
248
1,080
151
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed in the Royal Windsor hotel for 3 nights at the end of October. The location is really great, a two minute walk from the grand place, it really is in the heart of Brussels. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well equipped, it would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities as standard in the room though. The wifi access throughout the hotel is also very handy. I would definitely recommend the Royal Windsor to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Amina E,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your feelings with us regarding your stay. It was a great pleasure to read your comments about our central location, wifi access and the friendliness of our staff.

We look forward to welcome you again for your next trip in Brussels.

Sincerely Yours,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived at Royal Windsor and were checked into our room. A double room, but what a beautiful place. Has all the fixtures and fittings, a beautiful work desk with a nice view of the old town street. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows are amazing and HUGE! Tv has lots of channels in every language. Bathroom is very nice. The staff are very very friendly and took time to explain to us where the monuments were on a map and pointed out the best chocolate places etc. Wish we could have stayed longer. This hotel also backs onto Old Town square which is beautiful at night. PERFECT location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear E,

Thank you for writing such lovely comment about your stay with us.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, especially regarding the atmosphere of the hotel, our room as well as our friendly staff.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again in Brussels.

Best regards,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
577 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had three days in Brussels and decided we wanted to be close to the Grand Place so stayed here. The only disappointment was their offer of an "Express Breakfast" which is a total waste of money. It is set up in their separate bar area downstairs with no staff and the very basics of food on offer. Qyite dreadful actually. Could have done far better at one of the many eateries out and about. Apart from the brekky, we loved our stay. Our room was delightful. The bed was very comfy and the staff were most obliging. Yes, I would recommend it, with the exception of the "Express Breakfast".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanP196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear SusanP196,

Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place – Brussels.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and experience with us.

Regarding the Breakfast, we offer a sumptuous breakfast buffet featuring American-style for €30 per person per day and also we propose an express breakfast.

Looking forward to your next visit at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place.

Yours Sincerely,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is a good value for money.Proximity to Grand Place and Metro Station; in the heart of Brussels.Nice decoration in the room with amenities.Professional behavior of associates team.I would prefer a flat screen TV though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DespinaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Despina Thomas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place.

I thank you for your comments and I am pleased to read you enjoyed the nice decoration, quality of the hospitality, our service as well as our professional staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in Brussels.

Sincerely Yours,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a short break. We were recommended the Royal Windsor by family.

After arriving at Brussels Central station, we were both amazed at how close the hotel was. It was just a two minute walk away. However, the hotel is situated down a fairly quiet road so you are not too intruded by tourists or commuters.

We checked in and as our room was not ready yet, staff were helpful and kept our bags for us whilst we explored the city. Grand Place is just a 5 minute walk away!

We had booked a double bed classic room and on arrival we were given a twin bed. We explained the situation to reception and they were happy to upgrade us to a business room. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfy with lovely big pillows (would love to know the size so we can purchase some ourselves!)

After our first night stay there was a lot of noise from people out late at night. Would recommend a room not facing onto the road.

We didn't actually eat at the hotel, however there are plenty of lovely restaurants to eat at just down the road.

Would recommend this hotel to families, couples (older or younger), commuters and individual travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Lucy D,

Thank you for sharing your experience and comments.

Further to your comments for which we thank you, I am please to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed your upgrade to our Premium Room.

We have taken good note about the noise disturbance during your stay from the surrounding area. For your information, our windows are soundproofed, however due to the exclusive location of the hotel, only few steps from the Grand Place, the heart of Belgium and the high activities related to the centre of the capital, the night life in our area might result some noise disturbance from some special events.

For your next stay, in order to have more quiet room, please mention during the reservation process that you would like a room on the inside court.

Thank you again for your comments and we do look forward to having you back with us.

Very best regards,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived at The Royal Windsor on a Wednesday lunch time and parked underneath the hotel in the 25 Euro per 24 hours car park. We were swiftly allocated a room ahead of usual check-in time by a very friendly Front Desk lady. The first impression of the hotel was excellent, plush furniture and fixtures in the lobby and an elegant piano-bar for pre-dinner cocktails later!

The room was well proportioned with a nice marble bathroom and the all the usual 'freebie' products. We immediately noticed a few minor flaws which were excusable to us on a internet booking rate of 100 Euros a night. Had we forked out the rack rate indicated on a crisp white card on the reception counter of 500 Euros plus, we may have been less enamoured! Some carpet staining, slightly dusty canopy above the bed, areas of grimy grouting in the bathroom tiling, some wall paper stains, 1 pair of slippers (2 people staying) etc However ,it is a lovely hotel and perfectly situated right in the centre of town. My main gripe is what occurred on our 2nd and 3rd night. Right opposite the hotel frontage is a HUGE ex-casino venue that now houses parties and private functions. This establishment hosted a 'Back to the 90's ' night on the Thursday and the noise was quite unbelievable. I am not a prude (I'm only 44!!) and love a good party, but only if I want to go to the party. This continued to 6am, with lots of street drunken brawls etc. now I am aware that this is not the hotels fault, however I do think that it must take some responsibility to inform customers of what occurs in front of its establishment. the rooms are not sound-proofed, with the windows shut it was stifling hot and the bass from the music physically shook the room. I got 1 and a half hours sleep.

The following evening we asked whether the venue would be open again that night and were told yes. We recanted the previous evenings experience at which point another woman arrived and quite aggressively implied that we should have complained in the morning. I explained that we had been out sightseeing and assumed it was a 1 off party etc. The hotel was full so we could not be moved.That night the club opposite had a similar affair and the night was repeated all over again. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel but INSIST on a room at the back of the hotel. I am flabbergasted that the staff and management made no attempt to refer to the issue that was so blatantly obvious- I would be astounded if no one else complained. A simple message on the room phone or note to guests would have made a massive difference-pretending the building is not shaking at 0530am is evasive and contradictory to the hotel's website mantra of "a cosy ambiance that's sure to make you feel at home the minute you walk through the door."

Would I stay again? Yes I certainly would..in a back room, at the exceptionally good rate we had and on the assurance that the 4 Storey Concrete 'Juke Box' opposite is unplugged!
Mr A Powell

Room Tip: Request back or side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reptonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear reptonboy,

Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place. We appreciate you have taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I deeply regret you had an issue with the noise and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Should you be willing to let me have further information on this issue, please find my email address for further communication. jvitu@warwickhotels.com

Yours Sincerely,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager – Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#17 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#83 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Brussels

Property: Warwick Brussels
Address: Rue Duquesnoy 5, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Royal Windsor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Warwick Brussels 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the Warwick Brussels boasts the best location in Brussels. Just off the world-famous Grand Place and only 150 meters from the “Square” congress centre, this Brussels hotel is within walking distance from Brussels' Central Station, the Antique Market on the Sablon, the Royal Covered Galleries and Brussels' Royal Palace Gardens. Brussels' Zaventem Airport is only a 20-minute journey away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Windsor Brussels
Hotel Royal Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing