We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Warwick Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Warwick Brussels
Ranked #52 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Can't beat the location. Literally just minutes from the Centraal station and also from the Grand Place. Room was a bit small, but it is the center of Brussels, so that was to be expected. Bed was comfortable, and the bathtub had a shower curtain (always a plus). Only issue is that the room can get a bit warm. Opening the window helped, but it can get noisy outside late at night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuenchMyThirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Quenchmythirst,

Thank you for staying at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place.

The hotel offers a unique location in the old downtown and very close to the Grand Place.
We are sorry you found our rooms a little small and should you come back to Brussels, I invite you to visit our website to book an inside court room which are available on our website for better comfort.

Best regards,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 2,648 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Royal Windsor has a great location near Brussels Central and Grand Place, and allows most of the Brussels tourist area to be walkable.

The check in was smooth and we was allocated a room on the 1st floor. It seems smoking rooms were available as the corridors smelt of cigarette smoke, but we couldn't smell it in the room.

The room itself was small but with plenty of character. The furniture looked classical but not the most practical, I was afraid to put a cup down. The bathroom was of a decent size.

The biggest let down was the noise, you can hear most things, in the corridor, other rooms and outside.

It was expensive 200E a night and it seems most of this was on location which was great for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bumper31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Bumper31,

Thank you for your valuable comments in reference to your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay but we are sorry you faced some noise disturbance during your stay. Rest assured that this comment has been shared with the head of department concerned. Let me recommend you in the future our Business rooms and do reserve a back court yard room as these are quitter, especially at night.

Best regards

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wfe and I had a very brief stay at The Royal Windsor recently (basically overnight) as we were making our way to Ieper. So it would be very difficult to give any sort of in-depth review as we were not there long enough and only chose the hotel for its close proximity to the Centraal Station. We had read all of the previous reviews before leaving for our trip,and although people said that it was only a few minutes walk from the station we were still slightly apprehensive if this was the case and also about how easy it would be to find the hotel. It really is only a few minutes away and easy to find. The hotel itself is a lovely hotel. Our room was great except for the low lighting that most hotel rooms seem to suffer from and we had a couple of drinks in one of the bars which was a pleasant place with quite a good atmosphere. After we left the bar we decided to have a short walk and as we left the bar entrance we went out onto a narrow street that was quite magical at that time of night. It was full of bars and restaurants, all with their neon signs lit up and people eating and drinking at tables outside on the pavement. It really did look lovely. The street then lopened out onto the Grand Place which again, when lit up at night, was quite a sight. We returned in the morning to have another look before leaving and whilst the Grand Place was still very impressive, unfortunately the same could not be said for the street with the bars. Litter was strewn everywhere and the magic had gone. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food. The only negative things that I can say about the Royal Windsor are that it is probably overpriced, certainly just for a stayover as we had and also be aware that on top of your bill they charge a "city tax" of 9.28 euros. We had never at any time during the booking process been made aware of this and it left me feeling quite ripped off.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Colinc47,

Thank you for staying with us at the Royal Windsor Hotel.
We thank you for sharing your experience in Brussels and also about the hotel.

Regarding your comment about the city tax, please note that this is normally visible when you book through Internet or is confirmed when you book through your travel agency, we are sorry you faced this issue. We thank you for having bring this to our attention and rest assured that we will double check that this well mentioned at time of the booking to all our guests.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in Brussels soonest.

Best regards,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spacious rooms but sometimes too dark, comfortable, excellent beds, good wifi, very near the Grand Place and Central Station. Lady in the business center was very nice, but some guys in the receptions were curt. I understand it's one of the older hotels, its lobby is not as impressive as those of the newer hotel chains. Good overall experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aws830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear AweeD,

Thank you for staying at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and mainly the location of the hotel next to the Grand Place.

Rest assured that your remarks about our front office staff has been addressed to avid any reoccurrence. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again for your next visit in Brussels.

Best regards

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here once because Le Meridien over the road was full. The room was tiny. Very clean and nice friendly environment but felt really claustrophobic. I won't be going back. I didn't try the food or anything else. I spent as little time in the hotel as I could.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Ash H,

Thank you for your comments and sharing openly your experience.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed our hotel, obviously we are sorry if the size of your room did not match your needs in term of space.

Should you reconsider to visit us for your next stay in Brussels, please do not hesitate to visit our webside to discover our different types of room offering different sizes.

Sincerely Yours,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Older hotel but kept up well. This was a very nice hotel, spacious, comfortable, good wifi, reasonable price, spacious bathroom. Only one problem: nonsmoking room smelled like smoke and “special room treatment” did not work.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Anne B ,

Thank you very much for your kind comment and for sharing your experience and comments.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place. Obviously, we are very sorry for the inconvenience you faced with the smell of cigarette in your non-smoking room. Rest assured your comment has been taken seriously and the department head concerned has been informed in order to avoid such situation on the future.

Looking forward to your next visit to our wondeful city of Brussels.

Best regards,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

When one books a five star hotel the expectations are reasonably high. That's why my stay at the Royal Windsor was disappointing. The reception process was courteous but cold and no information was given on facilities like the complimentary wifi or about breakfast in the morning. I had booked a queen room and was given a twin - and was never asked by the receptionist whether this was fine with me. The room was on the 2nd floor, rather tiny. with a tiny closet. Bathroom was ok, but seen much better in other 5 star hotels - the bathroom vent did not work, so the room would steam up quickly while using the shower. Air conditioning was so weak that often the room was stuffy, but the window would only tilt, not open properly.
Maybe a 4 stars, but not certainly a 5 in my experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Giorgio P,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay, especially regarding the lack of information provided at check-in, the way your room was prepared (twin bed instead of queen bed) as well as the ventilation in the bathroom. Please rest assured that your comments have been addressed to our different department heads concerned in order to avoid such situation in the future.

We are sorry for these inconveniences and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming back. Should you wish to contact me directly, my email address is the following jvitu@warwickhotels.com

Yours Sincerely,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#74 of 199 in Brussels
2,755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Brussels

Address: Rue Duquesnoy 5, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Royal Windsor Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $125 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Warwick Brussels 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the Warwick Brussels boasts the best location in Brussels. Just off the world-famous Grand Place and only 150 meters from the “Square” congress centre, this Brussels hotel is within walking distance from Brussels' Central Station, the Antique Market on the Sablon, the Royal Covered Galleries and Brussels' Royal Palace Gardens. Brussels' Zaventem Airport is only a 20-minute journey away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Windsor Brussels
Hotel Royal Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing