We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Warwick Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Warwick Brussels
Ranked #49 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice and openminded hotel. Centrally located, but the rooms are a bit worn. Will be back in Brussels and Royale Windsor Hotel. Nice city, Nice people and wery organized. And of course the best party in Europe: La Demence!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Norwegian38,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place, Brussels.

Your kind comments humble us and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially its staff and location.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again in beautiful Brussels.

Sincerely,

Louis Vanheusden
Regional General Manager Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    919
    419
    166
    114
See reviews for
241
1,065
149
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

In two words: very disappointing. I'd rate this hotel at 3* but rate them down for pretenting to be a 5* hotel.

So what's good: location. A couple of streets from the Grand Place, it's right in the heart of things. However, there are plenty of other hotels within a few hundred feet so it's not unique. Breakfast was ok. hmm - I struggle after that.

What wasn't good:
The rooms on the 1-3rd floors are all pretty small. Mine looked out onto the back of the hotel, facing a wall. They're also tired. The bathroom was tiny with a bath that I wouldn't have been able to sit down in, had I desired (I didn't - it was yellow). The walls around the bath were mouldy. The water pressure was appaling - little more than a dribble and as soon as someone flushed their toilet, you got scalded.

Room service was shocking - I phoned for a coffee and had to call again 45 minutes later. The mini-bar was a complete rip-off E5.50 for a 200ml bottle of water. Also, I told them that the main lightbulb in my room had gone but after 2 days, it was still not fixed.

Check-in and check-out were poorly executed and with long queues. There was only one woman doing check-out until we insisted that she found someone else to help clear the queue of about 10 people. The conceirge was ineffectual when faced with lots of bags.

I was staying with work colleagues for our annual industry conference and one of my consultant friends (value add from PWC!) had warned them that they might want to consider keeping the bar open after midnight on Monday as they'd probably get a sizeable volume of custom. They agreed but didn't believe him on the numbers so there was one (hassled) barman trying to serve over 100 people. Eventually, they found someone to assist him but ran out of beer and white wine before we ran out of patience and went to the off-licence next door.

Generally, a shambolic effort. Don't stay here - it's overpriced and poorly run.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Stevo789,

Thank you for sharing with the Tripadvisor travellers your opinion about our property.

Your evaluation of various services and facilities is very much appreciated. We sincerely apologize that your stay was spoiled by the quality of your room and that your overall experience at our property felt so disappointing.

Our valued guests' comments are crucial to us. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and make amends for the inconveniences you encountered.

Kind regards,

Louis Vanheusden
General Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having read the Trip Advisor website I was concerned about the remarks about the noise in rooms from a disco across the street and specifically asked for a "quiet room" at check in. We were given room 119 directly above the main entrance. I have to say the room was very quiet from street noise. However when the deep throb and beat of disco music continues until around 0530 in the morning I can see why guests have cause for complaint. I slept generally well but I can quite see why guests would be upset. Remember I asked for a quiet room!!! The remaining two nights in 119 were not affected by any Disco beats but the noise of air conditioning or similar machinery in a room next to the room entrance with its constant beat/hum/throb and could be a distraction for some.
The disco noise is incompatible for a 5 star hotel and is clearly an issue for hotel management to resolve. I believe the disco is actually within the hotel as the lift makes reference to it on one of the basement floor stops. Clearly a major point not addressed yet given by the number of complaints I have read.
I just wonder If I was not on a special deal if I would have had a better room?.
On the morning of checkout (12.00 was stated as latest time to leave the room) I was excluded form my room at 10.00am. Having returned from buying some presents my room key was cancelled and I was shown complete indifference from the receptionist when I checked when the latest checkout time was supposed to be and requested my access key be re-activated. To feel like a privileged guest these things matter, particularly for a 5 star hotel. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and continue to do so for business and pleasure. Management have more than enough time to take note of my and other guests comments so I think action is now well overdue .. guests are difficult at times but the points above detract from a overall comfortable hotel and room. By the way the room service was excellent from a friendly cleaner who kept our room very nice and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and make sure you get it? The hotel is a straightforward 20 minute work from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear MrCliff,

We would like to thank you for having taken time to share your feedback with the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place – Brussels. Obviously, we do regret the inconveniences caused to you by the night life activities around the hotel, due to the Halloween parties, and which took place in the near avenues.

For your information, the Dukes is not a public club, but a private venue using for after works, which was not operated during your stay.

It goes without saying that I regret the inconvenience that the night activities has caused to you, and could not address your wish to have a room assign at the rearward of the hotel as we were fully booked.

We have taken good note, of the noise of the air-co which has since been attempted by the maintenance department. We have been equally sorry to read that your key didn’t’ give you access to your room, as a program.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place, and we will be able to provide you with a room on the rearward of the hotel, a higher floor and with a view of the roof top of the Grand’ Place, which is exceptionally nice with the Christmas illuminations.

Kind regards,

Louis Vanheusden
General Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is very strategic to the tourist areas and Grand Palace. Restaurants and souvenir shops are abound within 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. There is no shortage of things to do. The rooms are very well appointed, clean and spacious. The pillows are huge and the comfortable bed puts you to sleep in minutes. All the small things you need like kettle, safe, complete set of towels are available. The reception was very helpful and efficient as expected. Hotel is within walking distance of Centrale train station so its a convenient place to stay if you are travelling to other cities in Europe. The hotel is not cheap, but you always get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear RedwoodFarms,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us. We are very grateful for your time.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us for the size of our room and its location in the heart of Brussels.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again in our beautiful Brussels.

Kind regards,

Louis Vanheusden
Area general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

In average, I travel two times a year in Brussels for business purposes and I had stayed in several hotels around Gare Centrale area. It was the third time that I stayed at Royal Windsor Hotel from Sep 8 to Sep 14, 2012. In my experience this hotel stands out from the others with regards to the service, cleanness, neatness, comfort, convenience and competitive price in this category. This is the kind of place I would like to be when I am away from my home.

Konstandin

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
287 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was the 3rd time in say 6 years I stayed at the Royal Windsor. The staff is extremely nice and helpful (especially good for Americans & Brits, since the latter own & run it). Unfortunately the rooms are getting tired. They're a bit too dark & are getting shabby. I've had rooms here with wonderful bathtubs, but this room had a shower that totally sprayed the bathroom door. This was obviously not a new problem because you could see where they'd painted over the part that water keeps damaging. The bed was very comfortable and linens high quality.

The rooms are slightly bigger than normal European standards, but do make sure you get a special price because it is expensive. . You can't beat the location - right by the central train station and a mere block up from the Grand Place. I will probably still return.

Room Tip: They have a few "designer rooms" or the such - avoid these as they can be crazy and uncomf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear nkdp,

Thank you for your value guest comment as regular guest and your pleasant word for the hotel staff, which is always the most valuable encouragement.

For your information the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place is presently running a rolling over soft refurbishment program and I am sorry that on your last visit we did not have the opportunity to provide you with one of our redecorated room. Furthermore, within this program of refurbishment, some new technologies will be introduced in order to enhance the guest experience whilst staying at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place.

As we have notice that you are coming to Brussels from to time to time, I look forward to meeting you when staying next at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place, and may I invite you to your forthcoming visit to make your reservation on resa.royalwindsor@warwickhotels.com, so that we can recognise your loyalty as a regular guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Louis Vanheusden
Area general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Room and amenities were very nice, location was excellent, but for a 5 star hotel, the service was very poor. Housekeeping somehow managed to not clean the room at all, which is a rather basic mistake. I had been out of the room from 9am until midnight, and when I got back had to ring the front desk just to get towels, more coffee, etc. Then had to wait up 40 minutes until almost 1am when the towels were finally brought, and a bit longer until they brought some more coffee and tea for the morning. Ended up regretting that I even called at all.

Anyway. I think the poor service might have been a fluke, but I still wouldn't stay here again. For the money and the supposed 5 star rating, the service was stupidly bad. Go to the Le Meridien or one of the others right around the same area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Ian K,

Further to your comments, we sincerely regret the short full of our housekeeping service whilst staying at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place - Brussels, this incident is most unusual and does not reflect our usual standard of service.

We would very much like to recreate your faith into our service and therefore should you be a regular guest to Brussels, please do not hesitate to announce your forthcoming via resa.royalwindsor@warwickhotels.com so that I can oversee your stay personally.

With my repeated apologies for this unusual oversight.

Sincerely,

Louis Vanheusden
Area general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#15 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#85 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Brussels

Property: Warwick Brussels
Address: Rue Duquesnoy 5, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Royal Windsor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Warwick Brussels 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the Warwick Brussels boasts the best location in Brussels. Just off the world-famous Grand Place and only 150 meters from the “Square” congress centre, this Brussels hotel is within walking distance from Brussels' Central Station, the Antique Market on the Sablon, the Royal Covered Galleries and Brussels' Royal Palace Gardens. Brussels' Zaventem Airport is only a 20-minute journey away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Windsor Brussels
Hotel Royal Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing