We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, but great location and very friendly staff”
Review of Warwick Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Warwick Brussels
Ranked #49 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small rooms, but great location and very friendly staff”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

As in the title, location is great, 5 min from Brussels Central. Walkable distance from Grand Place. Small room, nothing to write home about, but then i did not go to stay in the room entire day. It was passable. However the staff was very good and very helpful. Would not take the same room, the next time i go, but will definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear N S,

It is a pleasure to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Windsor Hotel.

For your information large rooms are available within our selection of accommodation. Please take the advantages of booking our Business Premier package, which will offer you to stay in our business premier room with the additional advantage of much more comfortable atmosphere in bedding (high quality feature duvet, large pillow, etc.)

We look forward to welcome you again for your next trip in Brussels.

Kind regards,

Louis Vanheusden
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    947
    426
    170
    117
See reviews for
253
1,099
152
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I would agree with everything the previous poster has said. Location is great but considering we were told , when shocked that breakfast was 30 euros each it was because it was a 5 star hotel it was certainly lacking. The room was smaller than average, small TV, one small body wash/shampoo and lotion in the room and that was it. I have stayed in 3 star hotels were you get a shower cap/sewing kit etc and i cant remember if I have ever stayed anywhere where there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room. A few little things would make it so much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debgreg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Debgreg02,

In relation to your comments for which we thank you, we are sorry to read that you were disappointed with our standard offering.

For your information, the business premier package offers the opportunity to enjoy at special condition, not only the upgrade to a Business Premiere Room, which include tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable beddings of high quality natural duvet, but also complimentary breakfast buffet and free viewing of one of our in-house movie.

To that effect, may I invite you to visit our website, when making your next reservation to Brussels, so that you can enjoy special deals.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Royal Windsor Grand Place for your next stay in Brussels.

Kind regards,

Louis Vanheusden
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Est
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed at standard room (5th floor) at the front side of the hotel. The room was tiny, but clean. Bed was comfortable. There were nightclubs just across the street, but no noise reached the room. Overall - ok stay, but would not return.
From personal view:
Plusses - clean and quiet room, comfortable bed, polite reception-desk and concierges, daily room service, free luggage hold, close to convention centre and Grand Place
Minuses - too expensive, small room, breakfast not included in standard fee, only one set of toiletries in a double room (?), no tea-coffee making facilities in the room (costs extra (?) in a 5-star hotel).

Room Tip: Would recommend a room at higher floor. If you are a light sleeper, then a room at back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0rka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear d0rka,

Thank you for sharing with us your personal appreciation about our property whilst staying in Brussels.

It is a pleasure to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Windsor Hotel, its exceptional location and for the quality of our staff service.

As a practical detail should you whish to enjoy complimentary breakfast, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and one free viewing of the in-house movie, please take the advantages of booking our Business Premier package, which will offer you the additional advantage of much more comfortable atmosphere in bedding (high quality feature duvet, large pillow, etc.) To that effect, may I invite you to visit our website, when making your next reservation to Brussels, so that you can enjoy special deals.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Louis Vanheusden
General Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city, michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I don't really have anything new to say about this place that hasn't already been pointed out in multiple other reviews. The room was small with old carpet and furnishings and didn't feel especially clean. There were no washcloths in our first room. There was a shower/tub combo and the tub is very narrow with sloped sides so you have to be very careful standing in it. It was hard to get the water temp right with separate hot and cold taps and fluctuating temperatures. The main issue was the noise, though. We were initially put in room 224 at the front of the hotel, facing the street. It was bad enough on our first 2 nights, which were weeknights, with drunk people outside yelling until 5 am. On the weekend a nightclub opens up and the noise is unbearable. We went the the desk at midnight and they moved us to the back of the hotel where it was quiet. We had complained about the noise to a woman at the desk during the day and were told it was "tourists" and there was nothing they could do. The only good points are the location and free wi-fi. If you can afford it I would recommen

Room Tip: Insist on a room at the back of the hotel unless you are completely deaf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimskrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear mimskrad,

In relation to your comments for which we thank you, we are sorry to read that you were disappointed by your stay.

It goes without saying that I regret the inconvenience that the night activities has caused to you, and that we could not address your wish to have a room assign at the rearward directly on you first time request. Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with the department head concerned, and the necessary actions have been taken to avoid reoccurrence.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Royal Windsor Grand Place for your next stay in Brussels.

Kind regards,

Louis Vanheusden
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012 whilst at a conference at "The Square" just a few minutes walk away. In fact the hotel is ideally situated for the conference centre and the train station which will take you one stop to Eurostar terminal.The main square which is quite lovely is only two minutes walk away as are the shops - and plenty of chocolate ones too!
Overall room was spotlessly clean but typically businesslike, quite compact with two single beds pushed together and a desk. If I come back to Brussels with my wife I would look for something a little more suitable/romantic. TV had a list of channels and numbers which I wish more hotels would do (english channels at the start).
Gym was disappointing - two running machines (1 didn't work), a cross trainer and a rowing machine (cable broken) - but the park is just up the hill so run there instead, and I'm sure I was just unlucky.
My security box was missing from inside the wardrobe and there were just two holes in the wall where one once was - presumably taken to repair or be replaced?
No tea making facilites - unless you want to pay €8 a day. A tiny 300ml bottle of water cost €5 from the mini bar - that's expensive by anyone's standard. Tap water tasted fine though!
Breakfast was €30 if you don't have it included in the room rate - again on the steep side, and I would have been a bit upset if I was picking up the bill personally. But there was plenty of selection.
Having said that you are in a prime central location.
Free wifi in the room was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCityBod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear LondonCityBod,

We would like to thank you for having taken time to share your feedback with the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place – Brussels.

We are delighted that you took the advantage to use our fitness centre and sauna. Although we did the necessary action to remedy to the defective equipment, we do sincerely regret to not have been able to fix the equipment before your departure.

For your information, the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place is presently running a rolling over soft refurbishment program. Furthermore, within this program of refurbishment, some new technologies will be introduced in order to enhance the guest experience whilst staying at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place.

If you wish to visit us with your wife, why not take the advantages of the promotional Royal Romance package, which offer you a numerous of advantages such as a privileged early check/in and late check/out, complimentary breakfast which offers a wide range of cooked and cold selection of food and drinks, but most specifically regional delicatessens: cheeses, waffles, pancakes, breads, preserves... a bottle of Champagne, a romantic flower bouquet, and a free access to our sauna and fitness room. To that effect, may I invite you to visit our website, when making your next reservation to Brussels, so that you can enjoy special deals.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Louis Vanheusden
Area general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
446 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It’s website does not match the actual hotel and the hotel is actually quite dated and more like a 3 star. There are similar hotels (Amigo, Le Meridien, Novotel, Best Western Premier) in just as good a location giving much better quality at a similar price. The hotel is dated, and its standard ‘superior’ rooms have seen better days. We booked and paid for a King Room but were offered a Queen Bed, or a twin room with two small single beds on check in. The bathroom door didn’t close properly, the bathroom was dated and furnishings all scratched. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t really bad but for the money we paid we expected a better hotel and having stayed at Le Meridien, Novotel and Best Western Premier nearby all were better for a similar price.

It is in a good location, but so are many others- my advice is book those instead. The hotel needs to raise its game and stop trading on past glories.

Room Tip: 'Superior Rooms' are not at all superior. If you have to stay here pay for a better room typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUDITHbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was drawn to this hotel as something special for a 10th anniversary trip, however it is nowhere near a five star hotel. Our 'Superior' room had twin beds, tv and a bathroom. No tea or coffee making facility, though allegedly you can hire them for €8 a day. None available over the three days we asked so ended up paying almost €6 per cup of tea/ coffee from the bar/ room service.
If you come here a room upgrade is definitely needed if you expect those little extras from a 5 star hotel!
Also make sure you know if your package includes breakfast. Ours did not and they come in at a massive €30 per person, so we stepped out to the local Exki and had breakfast for two for under €15!
For the price paid, and service and facilities we experienced I feel I let my wife down on this special 5 star trip away, and could have had more at a Holiday Inn for much less!

On the plus side the location is fantastic and everything is a short stroll away

Room Tip: There is a nightclub out the front, upgrade your room and check if breakfast is included in th price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Richard B,

We would like to thank you for having taken time to share your feedback about the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place – Brussels. Obviously, we do regret that you were disappointed by the room, especially regarding the making facilities. Effectively, the Superior room doesn’t provide this service. May I kindly invite you to visit our website to discover our different Room and Suite with different service provided.

We thank you again for your recommendation and looking forward to welcome you again at the Royal Windsor Grand Place for your next stay in Brussels.

Kind regards,

Louis Vanheusden
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.0 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#79 of 199 in Brussels
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Brussels

Property: Warwick Brussels
Address: Rue Duquesnoy 5, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Royal Windsor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Warwick Brussels 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the Warwick Brussels boasts the best location in Brussels. Just off the world-famous Grand Place and only 150 meters from the “Square” congress centre, this Brussels hotel is within walking distance from Brussels' Central Station, the Antique Market on the Sablon, the Royal Covered Galleries and Brussels' Royal Palace Gardens. Brussels' Zaventem Airport is only a 20-minute journey away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Warwick Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Windsor Brussels
Hotel Royal Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing