We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Competitive price and perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Warwick Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Warwick Brussels
Ranked #49 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
gent
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Competitive price and perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Let me start by managing expectations: If you are looking for a posh place, a hip lounge or the newest design this is definitely not your hotel.

The Royal Windsor is well run, comfortable place.
The staff is friendly and helpfull, the rooms offer most basics.
Location is just great, very central to visit the city, next to the train station.
The gym is in the same basic way all it needs to be.

I got the basic room for just EUR 79, including taxes, excluding breakfast. Great deal and a
5* rating for the yielding department of this hotel ;-)

The hotel has also an underground parking: save and easy if you come by car. Reasonable priced at EUR 25 per day.

30 EUR for the buffet breakfast is less of a deal (decent cappuccino is an art), but plenty of places around to go for breakfast.
(and they need to make some money somewhere, don't they?)

The old-fashioned design? Well "unbestimmt" is a great german word for it.
You won't find an ipod dock, the flatscreen tv takes you back to probably its first version ever produced.
Wireless network was not accessable in my room (335), but worked well downstairs.

The non-ability of the staff to the speak decent Dutch -still the first lanaguage of the country- is an issue for me. Still it is an issue in most hotels in this city and here they did try (something).
Since you reading this in English however you're not concerned.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    919
    418
    166
    114
See reviews for
241
1,064
149
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I hosted a small business conference at the Royal Windsor, and couldn't have been more pleased. The amenities and service were excellent, and the staff was very accommodating. But I am writing this review about the personal elements of my stay, because I so loved the hotel!

I stayed after the conference ended, to spend some time in Brussels, having never visited the city before. I can't imagine a better location. You can walk everywhere from the hotel, including just a few blocks to the Grand Place, the city's central square with beautiful 15th- and 16th-century architecture. There is great dining all around, and lots of interesting shops and stores.

The brick-lined streets are narrow and historic, lending a unique, old-world feeling to the entire area. Within the hotel itself, there is luxury. The rooms are a bit smallish (by large hotel standards), but very beautifully appointed. Solid wood furniture, lovely linens and plush carpets lend a dark and homey sense...very comforting if you are away from home.

The staff are VERY friendly, always quick with a smiling, sing-songy "Bonjour" when you pass them in the halls or visit the front desk. It is difficult to be in a bad mood here!

There is a small pub-style bar, Chutneys, which also serves a limited menu. The barman is friendly and personable, and the on-tap Belgian beers are fresh and exceptionally refreshing.

If you are visiting -- for business OR pleasure -- or even if you live in Brussels, the Royal Windsor Hotel is a great option for a luxurious getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk_Hardcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

First, I need to point out that I received a great deal on a single room at 65 Euro per night. At this price, the hotel was simply amazing. Regardless, the hotel is not to be ignored. I wish I had been able to stay longer, but I had already booked a flight to Greece. My room was very nicely decorated. There was an armchair for relaxing, and a desk to work at. The location couldn't be any better. The bed and linen was of high quality. With the windows closed, I could not hear anything from the street. I slept comfortably and peacefully (ok, the local food and drink helped somewhat). Breakfast was not included in my rate (and, how could it). Usually, I am not a breakfast-eater, but I was curious to see what a 30 Euro breakfast would look like. Everything was nice. Coffee, eggs, bacon, salmon, pastries. This is probably a good match for business travelers. For the rest of us, however, I would suggest passing on the breakie and instead get a cappuccino and a pastry at one of the bakeries nearby (Le Pain Quotidien is a 10 minute walk, but wonderful). I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xosgul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

My partner and I recently visited this hotel for a city break. The location is excellent in that the train station is approximately 200m from the hotel and it is within very close (walking) proximity to a number of tourist spots. Previous reviews on this hotel mentioned the amount of 'bums' or ' le clochard' as they're known locally, to be honest i don't think this is restricted to the area around the hotel, we agreed that we'd never seen so many vagrants in any other city....And i'm originally from Glasgow!

On first impressions the hotel is fantastic, the lobby is quite opulent and there is an air of superiority in the surroundings, It was also immaculately clean. Check in was relatively pain free although the computer kept crashing.

The room was tiny, there were dirty marks all over the walls, the bed was comfortable although i wasn't overly impressed with the cushion covers or throw, the covers were dirty and the throw had what appeared to be chewing gum attached to it. There was a large chip out of the bathroom mirror, a chunk of tile had come out above the bath exposing a screw (granted it would have been impossible to harm oneself on it; but aesthetically, very poor).

Housekeeping were very efficient, complimentary toiletries were of an average standard, towels of a good size. Beds made and floor hoovered daily. As a British couple we are used to having complimentary tea and coffee making facilities when we visit hotels....Don't expect it of the Royal Windsor, unless you're willing to pay 8 Euro per day for the privilege, which i think is just ridiculous.

I think the main thing we took away from this hotel is that they market themselves as 5* and provide a maximum of 3* facilities, i thought the point was you paid a 5 * price for the conveniences at the outset, so you didn't have to keep paying out for added extras!

All in all, we wouldn't stay here again, really not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eternaloptimist79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My other half booked this via the internet 5months prior to our stay. We would definitely come back. We stayed for 3 nights from the 12th - 15th July 2012. Hotel was just a short walk from the central station and was easy to find. We were welcomed by staff on our arrival at reception and check-in was no problem at all. They had upgraded us to a business suite free of charge which was a very nice suprise. We were then showed to our room whilst a staff member carried our luggage. The room was lovely and clean. Television with english channels, tea and coffee, towels, bathrobes etc. Housekeeping was brilliant. We had clean sheets, towels and the bed was made everyday. The hotel itself is in the centre of the town which was brilliant for us. Just a short walk to the grande place and all the bars and restaurants. We didn't want to leave.

The only thing to watch out for is the pre-authorisation on the debit/credit card you use. Its 50euros a day. They pre-authorise your card on the day you are due to arrive and as long as you haven't used the mini-bar or damaged any thing you get that money back a week after you have checked out. However, we didnt know this until we arrived back in England. This wasn't stated on the website or wasn't mentioned when we checked in.

Overall though the hotel was lovely and we would definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

There's nothing special here, you are right next to the tourist trap that is the Grand Place. The area of town is actually very dirty and littered with bums and people screaming at themselves in whatever language they can, high on drugs. The hotel is ok and offers great room rates if you don't include the 25 Euro a night parking. The service is average, nothing special and the rooms are the standard European rooms that are small and attempt at Air Conditioning. Keep in mind you are in a tourist trap area so always ask what the cost is for everything, nothing is free. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are very plush. The walls are very very thin and the smoking floors tend to smell like bars all day long. I contemplated moving to another room but just bit the bullet and slept with the bar patrons. I highly suggest not to go out at night as you might get gang raped or jumped. I'm sure if you are looking for the score on drugs, this is the spot to be, as the little park next to the hotel is full of insanity. I would suggest to stay further outside of the city center and go see the many museums. Stay away from spending any money near the Grand Place! It's a trap!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliGard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, General Manager at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Aligard,

We would like to thank you for having taken time to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor travellers.

We read your comment with a great attention and I was surprised to learn that you have been disappointed by the surroundings of the hotel and mainly the Grand Place area. That’s true that Brussels, as any other big city, comes alive at night . We do care about our guests’ wellbeing in all circumstances and we would like to thank you sharing your concern with us. We sincerely hope that this resentment towards the city centre of Brussels didn’t spoil your feeling and your appreciation of our hotel.

We look forward to your return so that you might give us the opportunity to prove our commitment to you. Meanwhile, we all remain at your service.

Kind regards

Louis Vanheusden
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great location, right between central station and grand place.
Friendly staff.
Quiet room

great little bread and cheese shop over the road for takeaway lunch.

Requested a tea/coffee maker, this never arrived

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom and Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis V, Directeur général at Warwick Brussels, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Tom and Paula B,
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Royal Windsor Grand’Place, its central location and the friendliness of our staff. Your post is very motivating for them and we will be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.
Sincerely Yours,
Louis Vanheusden
Regional General Manager Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#15 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#88 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Brussels

Property: Warwick Brussels
Address: Rue Duquesnoy 5, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Royal Windsor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Warwick Brussels 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the Warwick Brussels boasts the best location in Brussels. Just off the world-famous Grand Place and only 150 meters from the “Square” congress centre, this Brussels hotel is within walking distance from Brussels' Central Station, the Antique Market on the Sablon, the Royal Covered Galleries and Brussels' Royal Palace Gardens. Brussels' Zaventem Airport is only a 20-minute journey away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warwick Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Windsor Brussels
Hotel Royal Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing