We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #75 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Loved the Metropole with its ornate lobby, old style lifts and really comfortable, relaxing bar.

We paid for a privilege room which was large and comfortable, if a little battered about the edges … i.e. paintwork a bit chipped etc., bathroom not the most modern. However, the bed was large and comfortable, pillows also comfortable. There was air conditioning which worked well, although the room was a bit hot at times for me. I was impressed by the standard of house keeping … our room was kept very clean and neat, with towels and linen changed every day. Towels were of good quality. The shower was over the bath but worked very well, and there were double sinks, a good hairdryer and a magnifying mirror. The free mini bar was also restocked daily. There was a modern flat screen TV with a choice of channels including BBC 1 and 2. Free internet was also available which worked well.

There were two drawbacks to the room … one, it looked out on a grim and gloomy inner service courtyard, complete with fire escapes. However, we were only in the room during hours of darkness, so this did not matter to us in the slightest, and it also meant no traffic or building work noise which I suspect would affect some rooms, particularly at the front of the hotel. The biggest issue was lack of soundproofing between rooms: we had quite noisy people adjoining us on Saturday evening and this affected us until late on. However, the rooms on either side seemed mainly empty for the other evenings, so this did not cause a problem for the rest of our stay.

We did not eat in the hotel at all so I cannot comment on food, but alcohol in the bar was reasonably priced and it was a lovely environment in which to relax after a day's site-seeing.

The hotel is fantastically located, five-ten minutes walk to all attractions, both old and new, including the main shopping streets and Grand Place. There is a tram station right outside so it was easy get to the hotel from the Eurostar terminus and return there (once you figure out the tram ticket machines). There are lots of restaurants and coffee shops nearby and Grand Place is also just a ten minute stroll away. I would also recommend Place St-Catherine, across the main road, for restaurants, again all in easy walking distance. The hotel concierge will be happy to direct.

Overall, staff were very courteous and efficient and kindly gave us an extended checkout on our final day.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and would certainly return there. I don't think it warrants five stars as the rooms don't quite meet that standard … i.e. no dressing gowns or slippers, no walk-in shower, and toiletries are not anything exceptional. However, I would certainly stay there again for the lovely old world ambience, the super location, the excellent housekeeping and the courteous, efficient staff.

Room Tip: I think traffic noise might affect rooms at the front and there are major works at the back. We hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretW519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 2,765 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

Such an oasis of beauty in the middle of a hectic buisnesstown. The bar,the diningroon and the lobby is straight out of a Poirot novel. Dont miss this beautiful hotel with great breakfast and outstanding service!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyescreamtattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

You'll immediately recognize the lobby of this hotel is you love old movies. Original caged elevator in the old part of the hotel is still used. Clearly the rooms are past their glory, but it doesn't matter. They are large and clean, and it would just be wrong to have them new and modern. The location is perfect - next to the opera house and the restaurants. This is definitely a "come back to" place, even though we were pick pocketed walking back from dinner the last night! Just stash your cash inside your jacket or someplace better, and be wary of friendly strangers that bump into you! The police don't do much, even though they are walking the streets. All we lost was our pride and 60 euros! We will still stay here again, and still walk to dinner.

Room Tip: If you like the old elevator feature, ask for a room on the older side of the hotel. It is very coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Softsoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a beautiful old hotel. Friendly staff and complimentary drinks for free every day. The location is perfect for touring the city. Would like to give extra credits to the pianist in the lounge, highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is interesting in light of some of the other ratings but I'm pushed to give the Metropole 2 stars. It was obviously once a beautiful, impressive and imposing hotel and the lobby area certainly retains some of the that long gone glory. It now needs a full refurbishment and quite a lot of money spent on it.

I'll start with the positives. The location is fine - 10 minutes from the centre of the old town by foot. The staff at reception were efficient. The bed was comfortable. The cleaning staff were friendly.

Now the rest:-

Our room, number 405, was at best tired. The furniture was old, cupboards and skirting boards were chipped and damaged and this followed through into the bathroom with a marked bath, some fittings missing, and a loose shower head (connected to the bath taps). It doesn't sound major but when you add it all together it was really disappointing. It was 'shabby' which was such a shame because it could be wonderful.

The windows rattled badly in the wind and the balcony had a rotten wooded handrail which crumbled on touch.

The noise on the Saturday night was extraordinary. I appreciate that the hotel can do little about this but be warned - traffic and police sirens were loud.

The lift (which is a beautiful old machine) broke twice during our two night stay. The latter on the morning which we were leaving which meant I had to lug our cases down four floors - I was spotted by a member of staff struggling away, but he quickly pretended not to see me and drifted along the corridor.

I travel frequently and often stay in Hotels with 4 & 5 star ratings. This isn't one of them. I've never written a negative review before - only ever good ones - but this was meant to be a special weekend and we were let down a little by the hotel.

So, whoever owns this hotel, take a good look at it and make some plans. It could be wonderful - a venue with a glorious history and a great future - please spend some money on this old girl, because right now its a sad place to stay.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of our Honeymoon last week. On arrival the front of the hotel does not do the inside justice, as when you enter the lobby it is palatial and very impressive that you think you were back in the 1920's. Check in was very easy and having emailed the hotel before stating that this was part of our Honeymoon, they advised us that they had upgraded us to a Privilege room and had given us free breakfast. The room was very large, very clean and was kept in decor with the hotel. In the room, we had two large windows that you could open and then three steps down to a huge balcony that you could stand on and watch the world go by below. We also had a complimentary bottle of wine, rose and a card congratulating us on our marriage, which was a very nice touch. We ate out both nights and would recommend Aux Armes De Bruxelles Restaurant but is advisable to book. Breakfast in the hotel is a buffet style with plenty of choice for anyone and would recommend the breads, pastries and cakes as they were gorgeous! Hotel is a perfect location as shopping areas with shopping centres is a Road behind the Hotel and Grand Place is 700 metres away. Not a modern hotel but hotel is classy, charming and takes you back in time and would recommend to anyone. For those that do not mind heights would recommend the Privilege rooms on the 3rd floor with the balcony.

Room Tip: If you don't mind heights and want to watch the world go by book a Priviledge room with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefscorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is very beautiful outside and inside. I think that the best advantage of this hotel is its unique style and atmosphere, unlike regular chain hotel this is an experience you'll remember for a long time. Location is very convenient - 7 minutes walking from Grand Place and just near the metro station. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is quite nice. It's definitely not 5 stars hotel, but it's quite descent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#52 of 199 in Brussels
2,656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#44 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $108 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing