We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #74 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and we had chosen to return because we had enjoyed our previous stay so much. On this occasion I had arranged for my friend's birthday present to be delivered to him at the hotel, and when the parcel failed to turn up the hotel staff did sterling work in chasing up the carrier and making sure my friend received his present before departure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinmarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    1,010
    482
    194
    131
See reviews for
324
1,210
175
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I like hotels loged in historical Buildings - Metropole is a masterpiece. Lobby decorationis wonderfull. Very nice life music on Thuesday and Friday evening in the lobby. Vey comfortable beds, good breakfast. Nessessary to chose room in advance - there very small old rooms in the hotel.

Room Tip: There are renovoted rooms - they are very modern, I prefer old rooms - they are more stylish. Good r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I managed to find a great deal on hoteltravel.com website - 2 nights for $204 CAD (€137). After reading most of the reviews on TripAdvisor, I got the feeling that the hotel would be luxurious but slightly outdated (it was built in 1895) and in possible need of repairs.

When we walked into our room, we were pleasantly surprised at how big the "Standard room" was. A long hallway opens up on the room, which has the older look to it but there is plenty of space, a king sized comfortable bed, flat screen TV, large mirror, tub & shower, safe in closet and ironing board. Most important of all, the room was very clean. Included in the room rate was a mini bar filled with 2 cokes, 2 beers and 2 mineral waters for FREE! I thought this was too good to be true but they even replenished it on the 2nd day. WiFi in the rooms is free but on the slower side (which was fine), you can pay more for high speed. We did not eat or drink at the hotel since the menu looked very expensive (ex. 18 euros for a very small continental bfast of coffee and pastry). The fitness center on the 1st floor was suitable - 2 bikes, 2 cross trainers and some weight machines. My only complaint about our stay was the very slow "old style" elevator which was the only one in the entire hotel I believe, the hard to adjust, narrow spout showerhead and the lack of in-room coffee/tea ammenities.

The Metropole hotel is conviently located - less than 1km walk from both the Gare Centrale and Gare du Nord, very close to the main tourist area (La Grande Place - Grote Markt) but far enough to avoid the noise.
We found a nice bakery "Paul" just 2 blocks south, which we frequently visited for breakfast or afternoon pastry.
I highly recommend this hotel if you can find a rate for less that €100/night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Smirshner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned home from a 3 night stay at this hotel with my boyfriend. He got a deal from another hotel website which included a free breakfast with our stay. The historic grandeur of the hotel is breathtaking and the staff are extremely accomodating to your needs. The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds and although some of the furniture was worn it gave off a wonderful rustic feel. Hotel is centred in the heart of the city and just a few minutes away from the Grand Place and other sightseeing attractions. The breakfast was lovely and they offer extended hours for those of us who enjoy a lie in. We had a great stay and credit to the hotel for making our time in Brussels a little easier!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

A great hotel with a real sense of style. The entrance and foyer are absolutely stunning and well worth a visit, even if you're not staying at this beautiful Belle Époque hotel.
The location is brilliant - just a 5 minute stroll from St Catherine's with its wealth of restaurants.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, with a fabulous bath and complimentary mini-bar.
The only negatives were the shower room which got water everywhere, and rather inadequate bedside lighting, which made reading a problem. Apart from that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizzydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I decided to head to Brussels for the Christmas market. I’d been to the city before so had an idea where to stay and for €100 a night this seemed like a more interesting choice than a chain, so we gave it a go, and did not regret it .

The location alone is amazing, you are on a busy road, but you can’t hear any noise from it in the hotel. There is a metro station 1 minute walk, Grand Place is a 10 min walk, the main shopping street is 5 minutes away.

We come up through the metro right by the hotel, right away my wife loved the place, the front has a doorman and an old fashioned revolving door in front of it. You go through, and there is a beautiful old fashioned marble corridor stretching out before you. It’s an amazing sight, right away we didn’t regret playing it safe and staying at a chain hotel just off grand place.

The staff were extremely friendly, gave advice on where to go, shopping eating, as well as telling us where and how the Xmas market is split in the city.

We were in a corner room on the 4th floor. Hallways nice and clean. Seemed in good enough condition, we get to our room through the door, and I had a little issue getting the light on. Just me being dumb.

Once they were on, I was very impressed. There was an oversized King bed, which was very comfortable. A big window with black out blinds, that have a good view of a little court yard, a little seating area. Complimentary mini bar with, 2beers, 2 cokes and 2 waters. Plus a little room for you to add some more later.

The bathroom is big, clean, had two sinks and the toilet was in a separate room. Shower wasn’t adjustable, and it was a fixed shower, did have decent enough pressure and stayed hot. Bath is quite big and very deep & was in decent condition. You had the little bottles of shampoo etc you’d expect.

I would say the furnishings in the hotel looked lived in, maybe a spot of paint was needed, the carpet and chairs were in a decent enough condition. Heard they are refurbishing some rooms, but I’m sure the classic look will be kept.

We enjoyed our stay and was happy with the price we paid. Breakfast seemed quite expensive, so we didn’t have it, there were plenty of places nearby. I enjoyed Brussels, if we go back, we’ll return to the Metropole.

Room Tip: There are some good cafe's on the same street for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hellz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

it's the first time that the description and photos was less than reality..
the hotel is splendide we where in the 4 floor room 405 privilege beautiful spacious 3 balconies in the front.mini bar whith 6 bottles every day.we have a deal by venere 5 nights whith breakfast i recommande to stay only whith breakfast.it's great to begin your day after it. the location is great. we went to "the salon de l'automobile" it's easy to get there we also took a train to Bruges very nice trip.
the staff in the hotel was extremely helpful and friendly.
we will come back to Metropole and i recommande to everyone how want to travel to brussel.try to book there..

Room Tip: privilegue room hight floor (405)..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#51 of 199 in Brussels
2,549 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 199 in Brussels
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#43 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing