We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historical Hotel in Bruxelle”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #74 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historical Hotel in Bruxelle”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel with magnificient reception hall.
Location is close to La Grande Place.
Kind and helpful reception and hotel staff.
Free effective wireless connection.
Very large room with comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISMETCENGIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    1,013
    482
    194
    131
See reviews for
325
1,212
175
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is very special in that it is a beautiful building with lots of interesting rooms and really attractive public areas. The staff are all very formal dressed, which is a lovely touch, and extremely helpful.
The rooms have everything you need, really interesting decoration, clean and work as expected. The area has lots of restauarants and bars, and is easy walking distance to the Grand Place and other sites. We have stayed here a few times and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

First experience was having a drink in the cafe a few years ago had a peep inside and it was stunning, so I wanted to go back to experience the hotel, unfortunately the cafe was shut for renovation this time but the piano bar was open but the happy hour didnt happen as we paid full price for 2 drinks about 20 euro!
Breakfast was not included and a bit expensive so we got coffee out.
Our room was lovely on the first floor facing the street with a large terrace which I would go back to if we went in the summer.
Brussels is lovely at Christmas and the hotel gives easy access to the centre and Christmas Markets.
On our last day the lift was out of order but the notice was only at the bottom after we had lugged our case down we saw it. when I suggested to reception that a notice by the lift would have been handy she pretended not to understand me, odd when everyone else in Brussels can speak good English especially the guys that try to lure you into the restaurants.
If you travel by Eurostar have some euros for the metro the machine dosnt take notes and its 2 euros for one trip its only a few stops and the metro exit is right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: no experience of any other part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentGranma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotem Metropole one of the best 5 star hotel in Brussels! thanks for the 2 very nice night!
Very clean rooms, and very big too for nice value and for the 5 star quality. The Burckere is still on city central, every attraction is so close to the hotel with walking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xzoleex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

after my two successful visits to Metropole, I experienced in my third visit not a good, as expected, hospitality in the check in, the receptionist was not friendly at all, unlike her colleagues that I was used to their very warm welcoming
I arrived at 1030, they told me that I have to wait until the room will be ready which s not expected to be before 1300; this is fine and understandable,
But when I decided to go out for a coffee, I went to the reception to advise me when I come back for the room; the lady on the reception was not friendly at all, she asked me to wait and that when the room is ready she will bring me the keys; she even didn't want to listen to my question.
When she gave me the key, (at 1230) I realized that she logged me in the older part of the hotel where I have to use a very old lift, so I was wondering with her if she can move me since with my neck pain I cannot easily open the door of the old lift, so she again didn't wait until I end my inquiery and in a very arrogant way she started to show me the alternative way to reach my room

Room Tip: as for the rooms, all are good, there are no preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The room was big, clean and quiet - it's old style with wall-to-wall carpet in the bedroom. The breakfast was great, and the location is really good as well. The mini bar was free (with the basics - water, coke and beer), which was very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank OutandaboutNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Metropole is a magnificent place. Few hotels can match the elegance and beauty of the decor, which had been lovingly restored. The staff are wonderfully helpful. The car parking valet, and the front desk staff were most helpful. The room are well-appointed, large, with very grand bathrooms and extremely comfortable beds. The decoration of our room was perfect, totally in keeping with the period, yet timeless and fascinating. The hotel is centrally located, just next to the Metro (De Brouckère).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magnifico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#51 of 198 in Brussels
2,559 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 198 in Brussels
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#43 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing