We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably trading on its' historic importance more than its current quality.”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #73 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed September 8, 2013

the best aspect may be its location just 10 minutes walk from Grand Place. Inside there is much to admire in its art deco lobby. the rooms are traditional and spacious but not that well maintained. our bathroom in 4017 had a peeling damp bath panel and what was annoying was the location of the shower on the side wall, meaning you risk stepping back and topping out of the bath - a bad idea for older people. some nice touches with free range of mini bar drinks and free in room safe. No tea or coffee though. Can't understand how any guest can merit 28euro for breakfast and we didnt join that bandwagon but did pay 14 euro for 2 hot chocolates - ridiculous really. All in all an average hotel now when considering the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulriddiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,003 - 1,009 of 2,778 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent old hotel in the historical center of Brussels. Friendly staff, tasty and versatile breakfasts. Rooms are large, sunny and clean. I had free minibar use (2 water, 2 coca-cola and 2 beers daily). Internet works quite well

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSpiffels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

An historical building, good services, but the hotel must be refurbished inside the rooms immediately. The bathroom sometime is bigger than the room, clean and renovated. But the room is very poor in quality. Please choose a room with outside view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Spectacular foyer reminiscent of old world 5 star glamour hotels. In fact, this hotel really is old school in most respects, but that doesn't make it a bad hotel by any means.

Great location, really close to centre square of Brussels and main tourist/shopping area i.e. 3 mins walk.

We had a superior room, it was spacious, big comfy bed, big bathroom, cute old fashioned decoration. The bathroom was fairly modern, but the shower had bad water pressure. All was very clean,

Based on the fire exit plan I saw hanging by the lift, the Standard Rooms look pretty small, but I can't fairly comment on that without having stayed in one.

The service was really good from the reception and concierge staff. Even the housekeeping staff were very friendly.

They wanted 28 euros per person for breakfast, which is outrageous in my opinion. There are plenty of small cafes around if you are on a budget and don't book breakfast with your room.

Overall, would recommend this hotel if you want great value for money, a nice room, good location, and the added bonus of staying in a hotel that echoes with glamour of years gone by.

Room Tip: Would recommend Superior Rooms for size, and also many feature an entrance hall way which eliminates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22bld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The common areas of this hotel (reception, bar, breakfast area) do look grand, however that does not continue in the rooms. In my room the bathroom was new, but for example the bathroom door was not, the bottom of the door frame was rotting away and the hooks in the door for towels were breaking out. Furniture in the room was in an OK condition but the whole room did not feel cozy or warm at all. Somehow felt like you are staying in a run-down but upper class hotel from the fifties. Breakfast buffet was not special at all, also here "uninspired" is the word that comes to my mind. It was not really bad to stay at the Metropole but there wasn't anything memorable about it either, so next time in Brussels I'll look for something else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Classic hotel, very luxurious, very beautiful, nice, large bedroom, well-trained staff, all speak fluent English. Amazing cafe breakfast included. Very well located, is less than 300 meters from the Grand Place which is the main attraction of Brussels, Free Wifi, cable TV, refrigerator, safe in the bedroom, large bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcelo u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel has the same style of an impoverished nobleman. Great location, great environment, great service but investments cannot be delayed anymore. The hotel is situated in the center of Brussels, the building is classical style and the hall and all other common parts let you breeze the air of two centuries ago. The elevator (even if terribly uncomfortable) is a piece if art and it sounds amazing. Is not only an elevator but a great experience. The personnel is professional and able to understand the customer requests without problems. The only concern is about the rooms that are outdated even if clean and large. If owner will invest in renovations this hotel could became one of best options in Brussels. Anyway, if I'll travel for leisure again in Brussels I won't have any concern to join again this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxury_and_Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#53 of 199 in Brussels
2,675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#44 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $104 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing