We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice wallpaper, shame about the bacon”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #69 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice wallpaper, shame about the bacon”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Metropole Hotel Brussels is reputedly one of the best in Europe,
Well it probably was back in the day. When we went August 2013 it was good in parts. The decor in the entrance and the bar was gorgeous. The decor in our room did look a bit old rather than retro.
We arrived too early to book in so we left our luggage to be sent up to our room, and went off to see the sights .When we got to our room, there was no luggage. We tried to phone the lobby, but the phone was as dead as a Dodo. Husband had to go to reception where a porter fount the cases, and left Husband to bring them up by himself.
The T.V. was also as dead as a Dodo. An engineer got it going , but couldn't get the phone to work at all..
Breakfast was in " Le Jardin Indian". Very pretty decor. But the hot food was at best only luke- warm. Every morning, cold breakfast.
In the very opulent bar , we could not have the special cocktail advertised as the bar had run out of Cointreau and it was the weekend so they couldn't get any more.
If this hotel wants to stay one of the best, it has to do much better.

Room Tip: The bed was as big as a tennis court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 868valerie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    987
    469
    190
    122
See reviews for
313
1,174
172
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed here a few times over the past.The hotel retains its elegant charm as do all the staff we encountered all very helpful. However on this occassion the Metropole Cafe outdoor is closed for extensive renovations and is a big miss for atmosphere.
Also very disappointed in breakfast the second morning. Hot buffet cold,no bacon or bread for toast. Below their usual high standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandEamonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff of the Metropole have done a wonderful job balancing keeping the "old world" charm of their hotel while at the same time providing 5-star service and quality. The rooms are well appointed and spacious, the location is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I stay here frequently while in Brussels on business. I've stayed at several other similarly priced four star hotels in Brussels and the difference is noticable. I highly recommend the Metropole, whether you are here for a single night or staying for longer. My only recommendation for improvement would be to add a proper Sunday Brunch for guests who have stayed the weekend and may want to sleep in past 1030 when breakfast ends. Well done Metropole staff, keep up the excellent work! -James

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was average and old fashioned. I paid £125/night however which for central Brussels is cheap. So bearing that in mind, the bed was comfortable, I made use of the free soft drinks provided and the gym which was small but I was the only person ever in there. Location is great, a stone's throw from De Brouckere metro station. Would I stay there again? No. It was cheap and served it's purpose but I would spend a little more to get someone better.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in desperate need to an update. Rooms are big but appear to not have been refurbished in more than 20 years. The elevator was broken and they assigned a room to my 80 year old mother that required walking over 20 steps to enter to leave. There are a lot of nice hotels in Brussels - Metropole is not one of them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bashtage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Wonderful 19th century building very centrally located. Close to the highlights and shopping area. You can never be met by such polite front office staff at anywhere else.. Beside their politeness very helpful too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahsoyaslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has some lovely period features but the room we stayed in and the bathroom was modern and comfortable. Yes the paintwork was knocked about a bit by visitors suitcases but thats guests for you!
The reception staff were lovely, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Special mention of Aurora.
The fridge in the room provides bottles of beer, water and cola free of charge.
The hotel is superbly situated.
De Broukere metro stop 50 yards away,
Shopping street Niuewe just behind the hotel with all the top name shops and department stores,
Easy access to Grand Place and if you can walk further Mannikin Pis, grand and petit Sablon, the Royal Palace and Beaux Arts and Magritte museum. If not metro costs ?2 per journey and cheaper still if you purchase a bundle,
We visited European parliament and went by metro - very easy to navigate, suggest you buy tickets for both directions at main station and remember to validate them in the orange machine before travelling.
St Catherines area to the west just over the main road is ideal for eating out especially along the old quai side - lots of restaurants where you can sit outside if the weather is nice.
We took a return trip to Gent ?13pp from Central station and would highly recommend that trip - it takes about 35 minutes on the train and Gent is really beautiful.
Finally the people of Brussels and Gent were very helpful, if you looked a bit lost they would step in and help you, cars stopped to let you cross the road and everything was very easy to negotiate.

Helpful?
Thank Brayford
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#50 of 199 in Brussels
2,497 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#19 of 199 in Brussels
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#41 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing