We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Metropole Hotel Brussels”
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #71 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has some lovely period features but the room we stayed in and the bathroom was modern and comfortable. Yes the paintwork was knocked about a bit by visitors suitcases but thats guests for you!
The reception staff were lovely, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Special mention of Aurora.
The fridge in the room provides bottles of beer, water and cola free of charge.
The hotel is superbly situated.
De Broukere metro stop 50 yards away,
Shopping street Niuewe just behind the hotel with all the top name shops and department stores,
Easy access to Grand Place and if you can walk further Mannikin Pis, grand and petit Sablon, the Royal Palace and Beaux Arts and Magritte museum. If not metro costs ?2 per journey and cheaper still if you purchase a bundle,
We visited European parliament and went by metro - very easy to navigate, suggest you buy tickets for both directions at main station and remember to validate them in the orange machine before travelling.
St Catherines area to the west just over the main road is ideal for eating out especially along the old quai side - lots of restaurants where you can sit outside if the weather is nice.
We took a return trip to Gent ?13pp from Central station and would highly recommend that trip - it takes about 35 minutes on the train and Gent is really beautiful.
Finally the people of Brussels and Gent were very helpful, if you looked a bit lost they would step in and help you, cars stopped to let you cross the road and everything was very easy to negotiate.

Thank Brayford
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 2,809 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated really close to the main square. Stayed in room 3016 room was ok, bathroom was newly done, no view looked out window in another building. Did not have breakfast so cannot comment. Hotel very nice, staff very helpful. Do not get a taxi cost 50 euro to travel 6.5 miles from the airport. Station right outside main entrance, took us 16 mins and cost 4 euros back to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Listerphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Got a free upgrade to a suite in the weekend that we booked. Great prices in the weekend for a five star hotel. Suite was bit old fashioned but great bed and good shower. Main entrance and lobby of the hotel are simply amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Metroploe is an Art Deco hotel dating from 1895 and is located right outside the De Brouckere metro station, some four stops from Brussels Midi station (for Eurostar). The location is quite pleasant although busy, with traffic, many shop and restaurants. The hotel is ten minutes’ walk from the Grand Place.

Entering the hotel it is like walking into a marble palace. The reception staff were friendly and efficient as I checked in. I was in a newly renovated standard room (415) on floor four. (I cannot comment on the rooms which may not have yet been renovated).

My standard room was richly decorated and very nice indeed: clean, spacious, with a large bathroom (bath with shower attachment) and had a mini-bar, safe, trouser press and air conditioning. Two complimentary cokes, two beers and two waters were provided each day in the mini-bar, a nice touch. Free high speed wi-fi would have been a nice touch too, but it carried a surcharge.

The hotel was undergoing some renovation and the restaurant was closed. Also a wonderful Belle Époque lift was undergoing renovation. There was an attractive bar which was open, which once again resembled the room in a palace or museum. However the staff member did not always seem over-happy to serve me.

The breakfast room was very attractive and had ‘Indian’ décor. The range of breakfast food was excellent and included both cooked and many cold items. However the cooked items (bacon, egg, sausage, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes and hash-browns) were always luke warm.

The hotel staff varied in the quality of service that they provided. They all looked very smart, put on a smile, but I sense that they were not all particularly happy to serve. One male waiter in particular, at breakfast, always seemed reluctant to bring me a second coffee. The doorman rarely greeted me.

During my stay the hot water malfunctioned for some hours and I was unable to have a shower before going out to dine one evening (unless I had a cold one). I did complain to the reception desk and the member of staff dismissed my complaint with a big grin, as if it was not important. However, it was important to me. I do not expect hot water to stop at a peak time, in a five star hotel.

I stayed in August 2013 and the room rate (with included breakfast) was excellent. I would have expected to pay twice as much for such a hotel elsewhere. Maybe August sees a lck of business travellers and conferences, hence the low rate?

Only the renovation work (no restaurant), no ornate lift, and some staff attitudes let-down an otherwise excellent hotel, a little.

I would still thoroughly recommend the Metropole, assuming that you have a renovated room.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLondonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked a Superior room and got a free upgrade to junior suite after asking. The reception staff is very welcoming and professional. The room was very spacious and richly decorated.
The style is belle époque (XVIII th century) and we really have the feeling to travel back in time, every single detail is respected!
The bathroom and overall cleaningness was excellent!
We recommend high floors with street view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Shezaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel in a very good location. Remarkable 100 year old lift that is being refitted adds a lot of charm. I found our room to be in very good order, large spacious and comfortable.

Worth booking a number of nights to get a better rate per day

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genuinecopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The lobby is totally worth seeing, the rooms are less than average, worn out and not cleaned properly. Very disappointing after fantastic first impression. The staff is very helpful. Located very close to the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erykkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#54 of 199 in Brussels
2,709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#44 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $98 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing