We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Metropole
Ranked #67 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is stunning! The foyer and restaurant areas are classically elegant with huge marble columns and beautiful chandeliers. Our room was quite spacious, especially by European standards, but it lacked the wow factor that the rest of the hotel had--this is the only reason I give the hotel a 4 instead of a 5. We had a champagne breakfast that was lovely. The location was good--easy walking distance to the Grand Place and metro stations right outside. We were thrilled to get free parking in front of the hotel (space is not always available, evidently).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    953
    454
    178
    114
See reviews for
297
1,141
169
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a superior room for an overnight, whistlestop tour of Brussels. It also happened to be the hottest weekend of the year which shouldn't have been a downfall for this hotel.

The room was nice and big and the beds very comfortable with a large bathroom and separate toilet. The hotel location is great, about a 5 minute walk from the Grand Place and about 10 minutes in a taxi from the Eurostar terminal.

We noticed that our room was particularly warm and after playing around with the air con, asked for someone to come up and have a look at it. Maintenance arrived within a couple of minutes and confirmed that our air con was not working. They provided us with a fan unit which we left on whilst we went out for dinner. We returned to a room that was basically a sauna and asked to move rooms. Although our room was a downgrade from the one we had, it was still large and comfortable although the air con was still an issue and we had the hottest night's sleep which took away from our overall stay. I'm not sure if it's because the hotel is a bit older than some of its modern counterparts and therefore the air con is not of a suitable standard but sleeping was almost impossible.

Overall a nice hotel (loved the old style lift!) in a great location but needs updating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroadwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel definitely garners a four-out-of five rating. And we can say we were very happy with the quality of the hotel, our room, and the location. We were quite happy with the housekeeping and buffet breakfast staff, and doormen. One lady both upon check-in and check-out was shall we say inattentive, uncaring, lackadaisical. Otherwise staff were fine. We got off on a bit of a bad footing this stay. We caught the Thalys train from Paris that a.m. and arrived shortly after 2:00 p.m. to find that our 2:00 p.m. check-in room, a large "Privilege Room with smoking and a/c" was not ready. What they did was stick us in a lovely huge privilege room without a working air conditioner that required you to step out onto the small balcony to smoke. The nonworking a/c meant we had to leave the balcony doors open and hear sirens, screeching brakes, honking horns, and some lunatic singing and otherwise holding forth on the street below for our first nite. But the room itself was really grand, even had a chandelier and the big Belgian style soaker tub we have come to love. We did move to another privilege room the next afternoon with a working a/c, but still only a smoking balcony, and from the previous king-size bed to a queen-size and a less well organized tub/shower - BUT LARGE & COMFORTABLE.

One wonderful feature we must point out is that we arrived in Brussels from our transoceanic flight and a week in France with some pretty well developed upper respiratory infections. The concierge phoned their on-call physician, and in less than an hour a very nice young Belgian M.D. who spoke perfect English was examining us in our hotel room and prescribing just exactly the antibiotics and palliative remedies the two of us needed. Consultation ran 67 euros apiece and all our meds combined 53 euros. What a bargain to get speedily on the road to recovery for the two weeks remaining of our trip.

Breakfast was theoretically a sumptuous feast which they sold to all comers for 28 euros. We had booked a summer special type of deal that included their breakfast buffet and free wi-fi, plus two free of each from the minibar each day - 2 Stella Artiois beers, 2 waters, 2 Cokes. And they didn't reuire a prepayment of deposit booking directly through the hotel. The buffet breakfast was very good and no one would have an excuse for leaving hungry, but again the cooked sausages were inedible and the bacon was almost entirely lard. At least the scrambled eggs were solid and not liquid like in France.

You are really paying for the ambience of a well-maintained classic art nouveau hotel with huge comfortable rooms in an ideal location for exploring the Old Town Center. The Summer Special we ended up with was really a bargain, and all-in-all we can not complain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myomayaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I think that we made a good decision. De Brouckere metro station is in front of the hotel. Grand Palace is five minutes walking distance from the hotel. Reception was helpful both in check-in and out. Our room was huge and clean. Room amenities were enough but in a five star hotel, I looked for a pair of slippers. Minibar was free for two bottles of beer, coke and water everyday; but if you want to drink or eat something else with your money, there's nothing else ! Breakfast was good, but the hall was cold. Overall, Hotel Metropole worth to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ENTsinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was the second time we've stayed at the Hotel Metropole -- and we don't usually like staying in a place more than once -- but this time we made the right decision. But this time, we also upgraded to a priviledge room and that made all the difference in the world. Huge room & bath, free minibar, deep garden tub, free wifi, sofa, king bed, comfy covers, helpful staff, amazing breakfasts, great location. And beautiful, beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at this excellent hotel. It was a highlight of our trip to Belgium, and certainly the best value of any of the hotels at which we stayed. The staff was very efficient and helpful. A couple of other reviewers mentioned that this hotel was somewhat worn and dated. Our room had older decor, but it was in very good condition and fit with the overall ambiance of the hotel. The breakfast was good, with lots of choice and quality. The first floor and the facade of the building are registered historic landmarks, and the hotel has obviously done a lot to maintain the look and feel of these areas. The hotel includes daily free drinks in each room's minibar, a nice touch that is certainly lacking on other hotels. We would definitely stay at the Metropole again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervo, Italia
Level Contributor
559 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very central, with a grand entrance, it has efficient check-in service and many boutiques on ground level. We had an ample, well-appointed room on the 3rd floor and enjoyed business treatment. A good recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#50 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#15 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole

Property: Hotel Metropole
Address: Place de Brouckere 31, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#29 Business Hotel in Brussels
#41 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 19th-century Hotel with original Art Déco interior, offering belgian typical food at the Café Métropole. You can enjoy a drink at the Bar le 31, re-decorated in 2011 in a "End of 19th century" style, you will enjoy relaxing and comfortable moments in a new and prestigious decor. Individually decorated guestrooms in classic European design with 22 suites available. Excellent down-town location close to Grand Place and public transport links. Hotel also offers free Wifi throughout, 24-hr concierge and room service and extensive business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing