We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soulless Beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moeder Lambic Fontainas

Moeder Lambic Fontainas
Ranked #13 of 3,492 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Soulless Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Was really living up to the opening of this bar and the concept is really great, even exceptional, with their unique cooling chamber, where even the barrels are in a fridge! The beer selection is awesome, and in Winter they have a great selection of Christmas beers.
But the place is very cold, the benches are not very comfortable, and some of the staff are extremely snobbish about their beers, looking down on the commercial beers. But this won't keep me from going there...from time to time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnEm74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    305
    46
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, this is not a restaurant. Unless you want quiche or nibbles. What it is is a great bar with a massive selection of great Belgian beers. Staff are friendly even though they always seem rushed. Great location on Anspach (especially when staying at the Exe Grande Place Hotel as its stumbling distance). Great atmosphere, wide demographic of clientele and top music. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome to Brussels.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was one of the first places we visited after landing in Brussels, partly because we stumbled across it and partly because we had it in mind as the #1 destination on TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed.

The decor is genuine without being tacky or overtly arty, the staff are very helpful and the beers excellent and exciting. The cheese and meat platter was excellent and the atmosphere of the place was great - relaxed and laid-back. The music was good and I recommend you try a Band of Brothers beer if you like lighter beers, as it was spectacular and I didn't see it anywhere else.

The little bowls of malted barley served with the beers are a nice touch, too - much better than peanuts!

Definitely worth a visit, even if you're only in town a little while.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebbyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheese, Pate, Lambic, what the heck, how 'bout a flight of belgian trippels?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Don't waste your time agonizing over which beer to drink. Try them all. Put your trust in the young staff and ask for a flight of whichever type of beer strikes your fancy. If you have only one shot, ask for a flight of the spontaneously fermented brews. a hoppy gueuze (cuvee Saint-Guilloise) is a surprising balance of bitter and sour. If y Po u can talk then into selling a bottle to go, don't hesitate!

I also recommend a flight of the trippels. Ask Robin to set you up with a couple of sweet tripples, along with couple of hoppy tripples. Select your favorite and take a bottle home with you.

No matter what you drink, order the mixte plate, a combination of Belgian cheeses (the Malmady is heavenly)Iand dried meats. Pure foodie nirvana! Combined with the trippel flight, I can't imagine a better combination.

Sit back, enjoy the jazz, the conversation, and the food and beer. Welcome to Belgium! Doesn't get much better than this. Cheers!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat55nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“God does exist....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Belinda Carlisle once belted out through her lungs, 'woah, heaven is a place on earth' the story behind this song is unclear but I am confident that this must have been written after visiting this enchanting bar.

There really isn't any negatives here, jazz and French hip hop play as you find yourself a seat, table service brings over some bird food for you to nibble on as you peruse the menu of great beers!

This bar also sells the best cheese and meat platter possibly in the world, you may find it hard to catch your breath as the cheese is presented to you, it really is a sight to behold.

I for one cannot wait until I have grandkids so I can tell them of this experience, I hold the memories close to me and hope to one day go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chris_redmayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moeder Lambic Fontainas also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Moeder Lambic Fontainas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing