We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bravo to the "dolce amaro" Italian restaurant, in Brussels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolce Amaro

Dolce Amaro
Ranked #38 of 3,492 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
“A Bravo to the "dolce amaro" Italian restaurant, in Brussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

It was a fantastic experience of a good service, combined with the unique taste of it's plates. Everything was nice, well presented and very special italian cuisine. Don't miss it. Bravo to the Chef and all the other staff. Don'τ miss the plate Black risotto with osobucco. Fantastic!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    110
    25
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bellissimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent food and very friendly staff. I've been there with my wife in a Wednesday night just for some pasta and wine and we were surprised by a a great number of tasty options. This is a piece of Italy in Brussels, you should visit it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasantly minimalist setting and a culinary treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

From the outside, “Dolce Amaro” - located on the rather soulless Chausée de Charleroi - seems fairly indistinct; it could easily been mistaken for a store ... instead of ... a place for a culinary treat.

However, the deceptive impression is immediately undone as soon as you enter the spacious, luminous reastaurant with various dining areas (including a terrace), articulated around a low, central counter and the large, open kitchen, in the rear. And, as soon as you enter, you are being greeted and authentically welcomed by the gracious and etiquette-aware staff – (throughout the evening, service was perfect, from beginning to end).

The minimalist, bright interior, with its subdued colors and contemporary furniture – tables are set up impeccably – has a lively, “open and warm” feel to it.

As the waiter – in a playful yet articulate way – went over the appetizers and main dishes “of the day,” (the suggestions/”specials”), there was no need to open the menus and explore any further. Soon, on that Monday evening, a little feast had begun ...

Strikingly fresh ingredients, prepared/combined in a thought out manner ... resulting in wonderful dishes, ...

In short, a festive sequence of delicious, refined courses ... a great meal - in a very contemporary setting. Value; enjoyment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place, but avoid when crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had dinner at Dolce Amaro recently, and I'd have to say the begining of the visit was rather delightful with a very warm welcome and an overall pleasant atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and not intrusive and helped us make some excellent food and wine choices. The food arrived promptly and the quality was outstanding.

All in all this was heading towards being a flawless evening, until all of a sudden it seemed as though we went invisible. Once we had been served our main course we did not see a single waiter for a period of 30 minutes, and even our attempts to flag down a waiter were fruitless. At one point we asked for a dessert menu and didn't get one for 10 minutes and never saw the waitress that dropped it off again. I attribute it to them becoming over-crowded as the evening went on, but it was still very strange behaviour as it just seemed as though they lost our table in the shuffle and forgot all about it (their waiters didn't seem to have properly defined "territories" within the restaurant)

I may give this place another chance, but I have to say that unfortunately I left with a very sour taste of the place in spite of an outstanding dining experience otherwise

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

warm welcome is just a amazing. Service was impeccable, food was sublime. There is little more that one could wish for.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimcricket007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Amaro also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Dolce Amaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing