We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently poor food”
Review of poivre & sel

poivre & sel
Ranked #696 of 3,549 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brussels
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Consistently poor food”
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

This place has existed for many years and sometimes, when all the better places in the neighbourhood are full, I come to eat here. And usually regret my choice.
The positive point is that unlike most of the other places in the area you get some peace and quiet here. The place is tastefully decorated and not cramped.
Unfortunately I have never eaten well here. Last time one of the day's specials was tomatoes with buffalo mozzarella. So naturally I expected the
chef had found some nice ripe tomatoes on the market that day. What I got, apart from boring industrial mozzarella, was tough and tasteless greenhouse tomatoes. My complaint met with utter indifference.
My advice: stay away!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PukkaSahib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    59
    15
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Great atmosphere. Nice mix of new world with old world charm. The food was great. The only down side is they only have the menu in French.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartiLittleRock_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No Change There, Then ...”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Nicola Colucci's Poivre et Sel has long been a favourite; mercifully,precious little has changed over the years: his food is as excellent and quietly innovative as ever, his wine list no less so.

The P & S is a hop, skip and jump away from the Hotel Renaissance and the bustle of the Place du Luxembourg, but many miles removed from some of the indifferent fare that sadly seems to be infiltrating the traditionally splendid Brussels restaurant scene. The freshly-made pasta is a delight (try the Raviolis à la Chaire de Crabes et Safran, the Tortellini aux Truffes or the Tagliolini Noir et ses Perles Roses), the scallops succulent, the Saltimbocca alla Romana beyond reproach; but, for my money (well, yours, actually) don't miss out on the filets of sole or the breast of duck or the lamb filets or the excellent veal kidneys or the .... etc., etc.

On the booze front: take your time over the wine list – it's well worth it. Try the Barolo Batasiolo if you're feeling flush, but don't write off the more reasonably-priced Rosso di Montepulciano Crocciani.

The Poivre et Sel is small and self-effacingly excellent. It is unwise to imagine you can eat there without a reservation.

Note:
I lodged a formal complaint with Nicola on the grounds that his (for me) legendary carpaccio of pigeon does not feature on the current menu list; I shall be checking back to establish whether this sin of commission has been expiated.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie_Crockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food - if you can stand the noise and sometimes chaotic service”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Having eaten at Poivre et Sel several times, I can attest to its huge popularity, even at lunchtime on days that the European Parliament is not sitting in Brussels. The food has always been of good quality, even if not reaching the more rarefied levels one can find in the city.

The biggest drawback is the restaurant's popularity, and its setting as a brasserie on two floors of an old town house. The tables are very close together and, with little to absorb the noise, it is sometimes difficult to hear one's companion speak. Moreover, the popularity means the service can be very slow and there is a tendency to confuse plates with those chosen by fellow diners. On the other hand, there is plenty of time to pursue the obscure sport of "spot the MEP".

I find three blobs a little mean but cannot bring myself to award four. Three-and-a-half.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EUConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto and Chennai
Level Contributor
154 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Reliable Italian restaurant close to the European Parliament”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I ate both lunch and dinner here. Pasta casalinga - entrees generally well executed. Dessert a little disappointing

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brennunjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed poivre & sel also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to poivre & sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing