We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B Residence in St Catherine Lower Town”
Review of Downtown Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brussels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downtown Residence
Ranked #132 of 209 Brussels B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2012

After a bad experience with Air BNB (Our host Maximiliian deceived us about the location and state of the lodging, so I advise much caution with Air BNB.), we needed to find a place to stay fast. We wanted to stay in the St Catherine area of the Brussels lower town.
Luckily for us, we noticed the Downtown Residence as we were walking through the neighborhood. A B&B residence with three ample-sized suites with private baths located above the St Catherine restaurant, it's just a block from the beautiful Beguine Church.
The whole place is charmingly designed, with one suite on each floor. Our top floor suite had a hardwood floor, beautiful wooden beams on the ceiling, big flatscreen TV, sofa, chairs and small table. The decor is contemporary, simple and very comfortable. Everything looks new and very clean. We slept well on the firm queen sized bed. And the bathtub/shower was a nice size for taking a warm bath after a long day walking around Brussels.
The owner and Chef, Louie, is a real character. We liked him and his staff very much. The small staff is super friendly, speaks English well, and were helpful with whatever we needed.
Every morning, a delicious breakfast was provided with fresh orange juice, croissants, jam, fruit, omelets and as much coffee as we wanted. The service was excellent.
We ate at the first floor restaurant for lunch and dinner quite a few times during our two week stay. The food is very good and it's great to have the option to dine so close to our rooms after a long day.
It's located in a great part of town with so many things to do right there. This place is real gem and a solid bet for a great stay in Brussels.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. 2nd floor room is a bit bigger.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineA39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Downtown Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

Convenient to the Brussels underground, walking distance to the Grand-Place and most places of interest, and very close to Ste. Catherine’s church, the Beguinage, and the open area that was once the fish market. One underground stop to the Brussels Central train station and only four stops to Brussels Midi.
There are three rooms, one on each of three floors above the Restaurant Ste. Catherine. The second- and third-floor rooms are quite spacious, the first-floor a bit smaller. The second-floor is cozy with many (five?) windows, has a wall separating the bedroom from a sitting area, and also appears to have a standard shower. The third-floor is more open-concept, with taller ceilings and an armoire separating the bed from the sitting area, but with a European-style, hand-held shower-head, if that matters. These are all steep, skinny walk-ups, although not as extreme as one might find, for example, in Amsterdam. That said, even if it’s raining or cold, these rooms are pleasant enough that you wouldn’t mind staying in and reading a book.
A substantial breakfast with fresh bakery is included and provided in the restaurant on the ground floor at the time of your choice. Staff is friendly and attentive.
We stayed there for a total of seven nights, and the only noise we encountered was minor street noise on Saturday night / early Sunday morning; but another person staying there at the time said she heard nothing. The restaurant can be open late; but that tends to make it convenient for dining and then staggering up to one’s room rather than it being a noise issue.
For the right persons (and by that we mean persons who don’t want to stay there the next time we do), this is a great place to stay. As with the Restaurant Ste. Catherine (see separate review), chatting with the multilingual owner is part of the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Found this B&B by accident. I travel to Brussels from time to time on business and was staying at a nearby chain hotel when I used Tripadvisor to find a bite to eat nearby. Ended up at the highly recommended Restaurante Sainte Catherine where I fell in love with the unpretentious environment and delicious food. Interestingly it turned out that the owners also ran a B&B out of the same building so I decided to stay there on my next trip.

When shown to the room, I was pleasantly surprised by the contemporary design (amazing high ceilings with exposed brick walls, wooden joists and floor boards). And I loved having the large, tall windows to look out at the street below (a little street noise from time to time but nothing too annoying). Private bath with shower was also great. And the bed was large and comfortable. Very clean. Oh, free wireless was nice too. And it shouldn't be too much of a surprise that a top rated restaurant would produce great breakfasts!

Next time I come to Brussels I will definitely stay here again. I hope to bring my wife along as well because the B&B is situated in a beautiful neighbourhood for shopping, eating, and generally wandering around.

Note - The only caveat is that the staircase might be a bit tricky for anyone with mobility issues.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manitoban_Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have to travel to Brussels professionally quite often and I keep returning to this lovely B&B-style hotel year after year. Location is convenient at just about 200 m from the de Brouckére tube station and rooms are clean, spacious and ample. There are only three rooms and the way up is via a narrow and steep staircase so you may want to book early and not be overly sloshed when returning for some deserved shuteye.
Breakfast is fresh and served at the time of your convenience. Also, the restaurant through which you gain entrance, is a must place for dinner at some point. The char coal grill transforms prime meat into mouth-watering steaks at the hands of the proprietor!

Room Tip: All rooms are equal, just on top of each other. All face a quiet street corner.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed in this wonderful 3 room B&B. Rooms with private baths are very clean, bright, and spacious. Large windows look out on to the quiet street below. Bed was comfortable. The proprietor is charming and works very hard to please. The restaurant is quaint and the food delicious!! Would recommend this great place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at the Downtown Residence for a total of 5 days and were very pleased. The location was most convenient to the historical part of the city.

We ate in the restaurant each morning for breakfast and were able to choose our preferred time. We also ate dinner there a couple times. It was delicious and very reasonably priced compared to surrounding restaurants.

Our stay was most enjoyable. The proprietor was very enjoyable and the staff most friendly and accommodating. We would definitely recommend the Downtown Residence.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaykay42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Aurelie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
0.2 mi away
Atlas Hotel Brussels
Atlas Hotel Brussels
#57 of 198 in Brussels
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orts
Hotel Orts
#127 of 198 in Brussels
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.2 mi away
FishMarket B&B
FishMarket B&B
#12 of 209 in Brussels
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Residence

Address: Place du Samedi 15, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range: $108 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Brussels, in the center of Europe, a small and hospitable Guesthouse, Downtown Residence, is waiting for you!For businessmen who require an efficient and reliable service or just for tourism, we are the place to be if you search for a Guesthouse in Brussels.Located in the center of Brussels, Downtown Residence is about 5 minutes walking distance from the shopping area and the historical center of Brussels. At 100 meters from the nearest metro station (main lines), Dowtown Residence is ideally located in the city!Our approach is a 100 % satisfaction of our guests. Downtown Residence is always giving its best to make your stay in Brussels comfortable.Besides the ideal location and our “client” satisfaction approach, Downtown Residence offers also the best in terms of Guestrooms. We propose three luxurious guestrooms, each one equipped with double bed, its own bathroom, toilets, television, and a broadband Internet access (bring your portable and a Ethernet card). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing