We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Dandoy - Tea Room

Maison Dandoy - Tea Room
Ranked #2 of 41 Coffee & Tea in Brussels
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Belgian, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of Brussels between the Grand-Place and the Bourse (Stock market), the family owned Dandoy Biscuits has perpetuated its unique craftsmanship of traditional Belgian and Brussels specialties since 1829. Based on original recipes, using the best natural ingredients, with no additives, preserving or colouringagents, Dandoy Biscuits are daily hand made in our factory. Hence the uniqueand incomparable flavour of our biscuits which is the foundation of our extended reputation locally and internationally. The Dandoy Tea Room was opened in 1984in the Rue Charles Buls by Jean Dandoy. The Tea Room enabled Dandoy to better respond to our customers’ ever increasing demand for innovation and high quality products. In this unique environment dedicated to Dandoy products consumers can not only savour our range of biscuits but also our unique traditional Brussels and Liège Waffles based on our family’s recipe. We complete our Tea Room offer witha wide range of home made ice creams and traditional Tea Room quality products (salted tarts, pancakes, fresh juices,...).
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive and Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited here in the late afternoon for a drink and snack, on the recommendation from this site.

It was very busy when we went and this affected the service. We waited longer than we would have liked for all elements of the service, from the order being taken to the bill at the end. There was only one waiter looking after all of the tables in the sitting area. Due to how busy it was, a second person was needed as the waiter was clearly being stretched too far.

When the waffles finally came they were a little disappointing. We tried the Brussels style waffles, as we had already had sampled Liege ones, and we weren't keen on them. This could just be a bad choice from us. What can't be faulted is the size of the waffles, which we were able to share between two - but is probably best suited for one person who is looking to over-indulge. I had a Mocha milkshake which was OK and a tea consisted of a cup of mildly warm water and a tea bag as opposed to a tea pot.

This leads to our main complaint; the price. We had a 3 Euro waffle from another cafe which we much preferred, tea of a comparable price elsewhere came with several cups of water in a tea pot and the milkshake was the same price as many mid-priced wines in restaurants.

Maison Dandoy must be doing something right, otherwise it would not be so well rated. From our visit however, we would not recommend this to others and were sorely disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alexrdevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maison D, Responsable relations clients at Maison Dandoy - Tea Room, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Alex,

Thank you for your review.
We would like to apologize for the bad service you experienced. We are taking your concerns very seriously and we'll do our best to avoid such situation in the futur.

Best regard,

Alexandre for the Maison Dandoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    331
    137
    55
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“delicious, crowded, price on the high side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

perfect spot for a short break while visiting the city centre. they have a large selection of biscuits, waffles and warm drinks. can be crowded but very nice

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChasseurDetoiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maison D, Responsable relations publiques at Maison Dandoy - Tea Room, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi Chasseur Détoiles,

I would like to thank you for your lovely review, this make us very happy!

Hope to meet you next time you, don't hesitate to ask for Alexandre ;-)

Best

Alexandre for Maison Dandoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Bad Liege waffle”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I really wanted to like my Liege waffle but this one was really disappointing. The caramel sugar flavor was amazing but the waffle itself was hard; it had the consistency of a frozen waffle after it's been in the microwave. To be fair, it may have been because I was the first customer of the day. They already had the waffles pre-made and just stuck them in the iron to heat up. It wasn't too bad though because the woman at the counter only charged me 2.05 euros even though it was supposed to be 2.70 euros (for takeaway) according to the menu—not sure why though. I recommend coming later in the day when it's busier so you get a fresh waffle which might've made all the difference. Also good to note, there's a location nearby on Rue au Beurre, but they don't make waffles there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank framboise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Biscuits in Belgium”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just off teh Grand Place this small shop is packed out at xmas time as their scrumptious calorie-laden tis of biscuits are in high demand for xmas presents. A must visit store when visitind the grand place.

Helpful?
Thank robin22059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My sister and I popped into Dandoy to warm up for a bit on a February afternoon. Being in Belgium, of course we needed to try some Belgian waffles, which she had with chocolate, advocaat, and ice cream. I enjoyed a Liege waffle with chocolate and hazelnuts. Both were scrumptious. We also tried a quiche, which was tasty though I've had better. On the way out I bought some pate de fruit to bring home for my husband, who was very pleased with the quality (even after crossing the Atlantic). A delightful experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kettie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison Dandoy - Tea Room also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Maison Dandoy - Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing