We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable, Safe, and close to Everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed and Breakfast Taptoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Taptoe
Ranked #10 of 223 Brussels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Safe, and close to Everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spent three nights at B&B Taptoe in their (red rose) Room “Sarabande”. Along with other review writers, I question why this room is named as a “budget” room because it was perfectly beautiful and comfortable. I was booked in for four nights, but to my dismay, there was a scheduled train strike on the day that I needed to travel to my next destination. I therefore had to (unfortunately) cut my stay by one night in order to make other travel connections. Daniel (my host) was extremely helpful in trying to arrange alternate means of transportation and it was much appreciated. The location of this B&B could not be more convenient to the main sights for which most people visit Brussels. “Manneken Pis” is not more than three blocks down the street. Brussels’ Grand Place is within a 10-minute walk, as is Brussel-Centraal train station. Moreover, the B&B is located near a small central square with a number of good restaurants.

The owners/hosts, Daniel and Catherine are very interested in providing a quality place to stay, and are actively involved in all aspects of this lodging. Breakfast is “self-serve” in a community kitchen with fresh bread provided each morning. Cold cuts and cheese, along with various other breakfast staples are provided as well.

My room was very clean, as was the en-suite bathroom. The complimentary WiFi signal was strong and steady. The queen-size bed was extremely comfortable. Also appreciated was the bottled water which was on the night stand upon my arrival. The housekeeper made a daily visit and also replenished the water as needed. The wooden floors squeaked slightly but considering the age of this building (early 19th century) this was more charming than annoying.

But, it would not be fair if I didn’t make one mildly negative observation of this room, and this is not any indication of an overall unpleasant stay or in any way a reflection on the owners of B&B Taptoe. I spoke with Daniel about this, and he is addressing this issue as best as he can, since the person responsible for this observation is not connected with B&B Taptoe in any way. Upon checking into my room, I noticed that my windows were wide open (which is fine), but I could detect a distinct odor of cigarette smoke in the room. It was thought that the previous guest had smoked in the room (which is forbidden), however, after my first night, I know that this was not the case. The building tenant in the apartment directly below this particular room is a heavy smoker, and the smoke was seeping up through the floor boards. It did little good to open the windows in the morning or throughout the day because the smoke from downstairs wafted upward and entered the open windows anyway. The other observation is that this same downstairs tenant also keeps his television (or radio) on throughout the night. Although my bed was very comfortable, the noise from downstairs definitely hindered completely restful sleep.

I would most assuredly stay at B&B Taptoe again, but would perhaps choose a different room if I knew that the neighbor downstairs (ground floor) was still “the smoker” and “all night TV/radio listener.” But this small problem aside—Daniel and Catherine are terrific hosts of a great place to stay. Do not hesitate to book with them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielBeauvois, Owner at Bed and Breakfast Taptoe, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are aware of the issues of slight tobacco smell and noise since our new neighbor moved in a few weeks ago. Luckily this only affects the "Sarabande" room. We have spoken to the neighbor and he is paying more attention now. We will isolate the floor of the room and/or the ceiling of the neighbor's place to solve the problem during our yearly winter break (our b&b closes in January).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    49
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
93
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were a group of seven and stayed at the three rooms on the second floor (Méditerranée, Atlantique and Pacifique). It was nice since we had the kitchen only for us. The rooms are nice, the only drawback is that Pacific room has no bathroom door which is a little weird.

The kitchen has everything you need and Daniel brought bread every morning for the breakfast.

The train station is 5 minutes away, which is great if you want to visit Bruges. The Grand Place is also reaaly close and you'll find many options to have dinner there.

As we stayed on the second floor, we had a little trouble to take our bags through the stairs but Daniel was really kind and help us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielB_uy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We only stayed the one night in September and thoroughly recommend B & B Taptoe. The B & B is beautifully located to see the sights of Brussels. It is an easy 5 minute walk from the station and about 100 metres from Manneken Pis It is only about a 5 minute walk to Grand Place (which lives up to its name). We stayed in the apartment just a short distance from Catherine's studio. Daniel met us and showed us around the apartment and was a good host and told us about some of his adventures in Australia. It was a very nice, comfortable room, beautifully decorated with a nice clean bathroom. there was also free wifi.
There was only 1 of the 2 other rooms occupied and we met them at breakfast. It is a do it yourself breakfast with fresh bread and pastries supplied in the morning, with ham, cheese, eggs, cereal and spreads provided. There is also a good coffe machine. The only negative was the narrow staircase was difficult to negotiate with our large suitcases.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stimmo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This B & B is an easy 5 minute walk from the train station, and a few minutes walk from restaurants and bars. Fabulous value for such a good location. We stayed at the Taptoe for 4 nights in the "Rose" room. It was billed as a budget room, but I don't really understand why. The room was big enough, and the bed was heavenly. Private washroom, flat screen tv with some English channels, and good wifi in the room. You could not hear anything from the other rooms in the B & B, however, on our last night, there was music playing in a nearby building until 4:30 a.m. It was a muffled sound, and earplugs took care of that. I don't think this is a regular occurance. Room stayed at a perfect temperature all the time, and was quite dark at night. Daily maid service. Breakfast was good, as we are cereal and yogurt eaters, although the daily fresh breads were a nice treat, as well as the assorted spreads to go on them. There was also eggs, meat and cheese available if you wanted to cook. You can tell the hosts are very passionate about this venture. They were truly interested in the guests, and made everyone feel welcome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Check the B&B's website, you can get a look at all the rooms. Don't be afraid of the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

You can't fault the location of B&B Taptoe. It's very close to the Grand Place (5 mins walk) but not actually in it, which is good.

We stayed in the Mme Butterfly room. It was a tastefully decorated room equipped with cable TV and wifi. Its very spacious bathroom had a 2 washing basins, a toilet and a shower (but no bathtub).

My room wasn't in the same building as the host's gallery and since breakfast was self-serviced, we didn't really meet the host except during check in and check out. So if you would like more interaction with/attention from the host, this place may not be ideal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anteaterpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My daughter and I spent a day and night in Brussels. The bed and breafast is right by the plaza and the pissing statue. The owners were wonderful. The room was beautifully decorated and the breakfast very european with an array of bread and croissants jams and condiments. I wanted to my daughter to have a real down to earth experience and this was it. Only disappointment no view from the room. Very quiet never saw other guests. Owners very charming and more than helpful
Enjoy

Room Tip: just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtopack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in June 2012, fantastic location, easy stroll from the Railway Station and the Old Town just minutes down the street...perfect .Room and bathroom were very spacious and clean, breakfast supplies were good ...self service style in a shared breakfast room.Wifi in room was very reliable and it was handy to be able to store our luggage after check out.Missy Australia

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
#22 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 17 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.0 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Taptoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Taptoe

Property: Bed and Breakfast Taptoe
Address: Pl. de la Vieille Hle aux Bles 24, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed and Breakfast Taptoe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast Taptoe is an intimate guesthouse situated only 200 metres from the Manneken Pis Statue. It offers unique rooms and free Wi-Fi in a 19th-century building. The rooms at Bed and Breakfast Taptoe have been decorated with attention to detail and have been inspired by different coloured roses. Both the rooms and the studio apartment have cable TV. Taptoe is located in a quiet side street off a picturesque square 5 minutes’ walk from Grand Place. Parc de Bruxelles and the BELvue Museum are just over a 10-minutes walk away. The communal facilities at this bed and breakfast include a large, fully-equipped kitchen and a living room. Guests can enjoy freshly baked bread as part of the daily self-service breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Taptoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing