We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rich taste, one of the better Thaï restaurants in Brussel”
Review of Chao Phraya - CLOSED

Chao Phraya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This newly opened restaurant on Avenue Louise in Brussels fills a gap in the culinary offerings of the Louise area. Chao Phraya serves EXCELLENT Thai food in a beautiful setting. There is a buffet on the 1st floor and a la carte service on the ground floor. Worth a visit !!
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very rich taste, one of the better Thaï restaurants in Brussel”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went to this Thaï restaurant and we were surprise how rich the taste of the diches is.
The curry is very tasty and not made havy by adding cream. We started with as salad which was very good. We can recommend number 20 and 33 on the menu.
The house whine from Chile is very good and not expensive.
The good thing is that they have also a nice decoration, it's like a lounge but nice colours.
Wehne you order you have to wait a bit but not to long because evrything is made fresh and this you can taste.
A lot of people think that Avenue Louise is expensive, but this restaurant is not expensive.
We sure will go back to this restaurant Chao Phraya !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArleteJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    46
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty, not expensive, rapid”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Service is rapid, but not too.
Beware, there is no buffet on Fiday night :-(
Dishes are very tasty and the people are very kind.
We had Curry massamam and shrimps in garlic soup, just perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sacha1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My first time here”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The food quality is quite high. The service is good but the weitress really impolite. The interiors design is very cool. The price was proportionate but...7€for a bottle of water...!

    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silviosar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome service!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Their curry is really terrific, the service is very kind and incredibly quick. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great green curry”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went to this restaurant for dinner. The ambience was nice. Decorations not distinctively Asian, but classy. We did not have reservations, but were accommodated. It was a small table against the wall, separated by string curtains from the next table. Therefore, I would highly recommend to make a reservation for better space.

We ordered tom yam kung, chicken green curry, and fried rice. The orders take a long time to arrive and they don't serve chips or any other appetizers so make sure you're not too hungry. Tom yam was less than average. To be fair, it doesn't have the strange sweet flavour you find in other thai restos in Brussels. However, they were not generous with the ingredients so the soup tasted overwhelmingly of fish sauce only. It was also served just warm instead of hot. On the upside, the shrimps seemed fresh, not frozen.

We didn't expect much after the disappointing soup, but were pleasantly surprised with our mains. Well, the staff served us a wrong dish, 1 green curry and 1 red curry (both chicken), missing the fried rice altogether. We pointed this out and they were ready to exchange the dishes, but fearing it would take another 30 minutes, we opted to just retain the red curry. The jasmine rice serving was generous. The red curry was good, but the green curry even better. It had an authentic flavour and was moderately spicy--something not too common when tastes are adapted to the locality. The servings for the main dishes were also considerably more generous compared to the soup. Overall, it was a great dinner. The green curry more than compensated for the slowness of service, mistake in order, and disappointing soup.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pale_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chao Phraya also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing