We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Ranked #65 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The room is small but clean. The decoration is okay in the ibis pattern. The location is very near to city centre with a walking distance. Staff are very nice and helpful. No coffee facility is provided in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank spornsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We highly appreciate the time you have taken to post your positive review on this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    1,408
    707
    138
    51
See reviews for
301
1,245
295
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is well located.. About a 5 minute walk to the grand place. There are lots of nice restaurants and bars near by.

A taxi to/from brussels midi was about 8€ although the hotel would have been easy to find if you want to walk it.

The staff were friendly and the entrance was newly renovated. However once you get out if the lifts into the corridors it's a little different. Very dated. That said it was perfectly comfortable and absolutely nothing wrong with the room.

I note a few people refer to noise. We stayed in a Sunday night so may have been quieter anyway but I wouldn't say the hotel was very noisy. Apart from one or two doors in the night nothing woke us up.

I would stay here again for a short break.

Nb: No iron or kettle.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Me and the team are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Location is good, only few minutes walk away from the Grand Place. Easily reached from the Central Station as well. Room was clean, and bed confortable. Room was one of the smallest ones I have stayed at in Ibis hotels. Ok for one person, but thanks to the big bed with two people it would have been hard to move around. Breakfast was good selection, the breakfast area surprisingly large compared to many other Ibis hotels. Though many didn't seem to notice it continued behind a corner and ate cramped in the main area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Brussels City Centrum Ste Catherine. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I've stated here a few times when working at the EU institutions. Good location near St Catherine's and Grand Place a few minutes walk away. Rooms are basic but clean. Bathrooms are tiny but ok. This is definitely no frills. White artexed walls are not attractive and look like they couldn't withstand a sneeze. Breakfast on the other hand is really good. Nice bread plus scrambled eggs and sausages are available. You get what you pay for but this isn't a bad budget option at all.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank johnnybowman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Brussels City Centrum Ste Catherine. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Me and a few friends stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, leaving this morning. I have stayed in Ibis hotels in Amsterdam, the UK and in Paris and I have to say that this is the worst out of the few I have stayed in.

Initially, my friends and I were put on the first floor. 3 out of the 4 of us had a room facing the road outside. I found it to be very noisy throughout the night with traffic going past outside, people talking loudly and on one occasion waking up startled due to someone screaming in the street. The outside factors could not be helped by the Ibis staff but I found my room too warm because the air conditioning was still hard set to winter mode and when I addressed this with the desk staff they simply told me that it, "hasn't been set to spring mode yet" and they didn't even tell me if / when it would be fixed. The drain stunk badly in this room as well and I found the bathroom area to be smaller than other Ibis hotels I've stayed at.

In light of the above, I asked to be moved to a different room at which point I was placed on the 6th floor on an inward facing room away from the noise outside. This was a vast improvement over the room on the 1st floor and overall the room was of slightly better quality but I still suffered with the air conditioning issue mentioned above.

In terms of other amenities in the hotel, I found it difficult to get anyones attention at the bar as no-one seemed to keep an eye on it and you had to make a noise to get anyones attention in the back at which point someone came to attend to your needs.

Overall, this is a rather disappointing experience and not one I would usually expect from the Ibis. There was one particularly helpful lady named Anna who changed all of our rooms for us and seemed to understand our problems.

Room Tip: If you stay at this Ibis, I'd recommend asking to be place on one of the higher floors, i.e. 5,6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Brussels City Centrum Ste Catherine. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I'm slightly confused about the recent bad reviews on this hotel. Myself and 3 friends stayed here a couple of weeks ago and found it to be absolutely fine! We must have got a better deal than most: we paid £20 per night each - and you couldn't ask for more based on that price! To clarify; i am giving this a 4 star rating based on what we paid, rather than in comparison to other hotels.

The location is great, in the St Catherine area which is lovely and chock full of seafood restaurants and nice cafe's and bars. The most important thing for me is getting a good night sleep, and this hotel is away from the noise of the town and traffic (though only a few minutes walk to town) so it's quiet and safe. They supply extra bedding so we left the quilt 'as is' and got the other quilt out of storage - which made the bed really comfortable. Yes the rooms are quite small, but they're prefectly functional and clean, have a powerful shower in the en suite and a big TV if you want it.

The breakfast is expensive, and you can find nice restaurants locally so we didn't bother. They supply shower gel but the soap is a 3in1 type gel which is drying, so i'd definitely recommend taking your own toiletries. It's also worth noting that the voltage in the bedrooms is 220V - fine for a phone charger but i wasn't willing to try my 250V GHD's in the sockets!

The staff were friendly; they let us keep out luggage in storage for free all day on the day we checked out - despite the usual 4pm curfew. One lady in particular was lovely, she ordered us a cab to take us the Eurostar (10-15 Euros FYI) which didn't arrive; she got as annoyed as we did that it didn't come and called them to chase before helping us flag on down on the street. Unfortunately i didn't catch her name.

Overall - this is a perfectly functional hotel in a perfect location. For the price, i'd definitely go back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LJ9169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review about our hotel.
It is encouraging to hear that you have loved your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We checked in this hotel and checked out again after seeing the rooms, they are minute, so small that you can not open the door properly as the bed is in the way, and if you are more than 10 stone you will never get in the bathroom, I have never seen a room so tiny, we asked if they had a better room which we were quite willing to pay extra for, to be told by the staff that ALL the rooms were the same. We had paid in advance for this room and when we checked out no one offered to refund any of the money, in fact no one said anything to us at all, which said EVERYTHING. we had to find another hotel and pay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Evans33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCar, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We thank you for having taken the time to write to us following your stay at ibis Brussels City Centrum Ste Catherine.

You have a lukewarm memory of your stay and you rightly highlighted certain insufficiencies in the service that was provided to you, and I have been made aware of them. I assure you that we are sorry and we present our sincerest apologies for this unpleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.0 mi away
Novotel Brussels Centre
Novotel Brussels Centre
#26 of 199 in Brussels
2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,006 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#61 of 199 in Brussels
898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#74 of 199 in Brussels
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine

Property: Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Address: Rue Joseph Plateau 2, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine is located near the Fish market and the Place Sainte Catherine, in the very heart of Brussels, in the authentic part. At only 5 minutes walk from the famous Brussels Grand Place! Two metro stops at 100 meter, choose either Metro station 'Ste Catherine' at the Fishmarket or 'the Brouckère' in the shopping district. The hotel has 236 contemporary and totally refurbished rooms (2015), all with airconditioning. An 'all-you-can-eat' breakfast buffet with cold and hot dishes and even home made Brussels Waffles from 7am to 10am! Early bird, Express Breakfast and Late riser breakfast from 4am to 12am. Bar, Free WiFi in all public areas and all rooms, 24/7 drinks and snacks available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Centre Ste Catherine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing