We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Ranked #64 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good deal”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Set in walking distance from trendy restaurants and bars. Its clean, the staff are friendly and efficient, breakfast is decent, rooms are a little small but are satisfy all the basic requirements considering what you are paying for. 2-3 English tv channels are available and best of all the beds (even for a single) are generous and very comfortable so you'll always get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandernyonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    1,418
    710
    138
    51
See reviews for
304
1,253
297
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having stayed in 5 or 6 hotels in Brussels on business over the years, this was my first stay at an Ibis hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was centrally located - a 5 minute walk from De Broukere or Ste Katherine metro stations and walking distance to the Grand Place and other sights with lots of restaurants nearby. My room was on the small side (as was the bathroom) but clean and perfectly acceptable for a short stay. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was served in a pleasant spacious room and offered a good choice of the standard hot and cold options. The staff were friendly and efficient. There is a restaurant offering a selection of foods and drinks on the ground floor although I did not use it. I would recommend this hotel for a good value stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EU27Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel it has a perfect location only 10 minutes walk from the Grand Place. The rooms are quite small but immaculate and so is the bathroom. The bed was to die for and wish we could have brought it home. Breakfast was very good plenty to chooses and as much as you wanted.

Room Tip: we booked with low cost holidays last minute expected a crap room but was amazed at the quality we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had been to this hotel with my friends for the weekend. The rooms were a little small but the beds were extremely cosy. You get what you pay for. The rooms were neat and clean. The hotel is very well located, close to underground public transport. I enjoyed my stay there and my travel ended up on a good note.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanzim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Ibis Brussels Centre Ste. Catherine in September, and while we were enamored with the hotel's location, weren't blown away by the hotel itself. While there wasn't anything necessarily wrong with the hotel, the value wasn't great for paying 130€ per night.

The room was a standard small European room, but lacking in any frills whatsoever. The bed was quite comfortable, and there was a small closet. The bathroom was clean on the surface, but small hairs abounded in the shower and on the sink, giving it that not-entirely-clean feeling. The shower had good pressure; both soap for the shower and the sink were dispensers mounted on the wall (which could have been for environmental reasons too). The only provided "toiletry" was a shower cap. While I realize it wasn't a four-star hotel, for the price, it was still in the "not a backpacker's hovel" range, and toiletries would have been nice. There were only two large towels provided each day, no hand towels or washcloths, and the towels were incredibly thin and scratchy and poor quality.

Another gripe was that we arrived early on a flight from the States, and had hoped to leave our luggage at the hotel while we went off exploring before check-in at noon. Much to our surprise, this wasn't a service provided by the hotel; they instead had pay luggage lockers in a back room, akin to a train station. While again, I realize the Ibis is not a Ritz Carlton, it would have been nice to have the luggage service provided, instead of having to pay to keep the luggages for just a couple hours.

The staff was hit or miss. Some of the midday staff were less than friendly. The gentleman who helped us with checkout very early in the morning, however, was great, and helped us call for a taxi and pre-negotiated a price in French on the phone with the driver for us.

The hotel did have a bar, and the bar served snacks 24-7. We didn't try any of the food at the hotel.

However, what the hotel lacked in amenities or service, it did make up for in location. The immediate Ste. Catherine area is chock full of great little restaurants and cafes. The square in front of Ste. Catherine's church is full of vendors day and night, including farmers markets, bakers, pop up bars in the evening... it was full of life and locals. It didn't feel like a touristy spot at all, but instead where real Brusseleers go. There's high end food, cheap eats, trendy locations, down-home Belgian food... this neighborhood has it all. The hotel is also two blocks from the Ste. Catherine's metro stop, which was a nice perk, and about a 10€ taxi ride from Gare du Midi. You can walk to both the Grand Place and Gare Central without too much trouble if you don't have a lot of luggage.

Overall, the Ibis wasn't great, but it wasn't terrible. Because of the location, if we were ever to get a steal of a price on it in the future, we'd likely stay again. But not at the price of over 100€ per night. It's simply poor bang for your buck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edythevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent 3 nights here and was quite happy with what we got for the price. The room was very clean, the bed was comfy and the bathroom, though small, was enough as we didn't go there to spend our days in the bath or lying on the bed... we went there for sightseeing so the room didn't need to be fancy. Someone below wrote "We had only two bath towels, nothing else in the way of bathroom linens, no kleenex, no toiletries, no clock and a useless TV. " - I'm sure if you had asked at reception they would have helped you. We had bath towels and hand towels, soap and shampoo and toilet paper. Tissues we didn't need (or 'kleenex' as US people seem to call them) because you can use toilet paper to blow your nose if you're lazy to buy tissues for yourself somewhere...

My only complaint is that the breakfast was very expensive - we only wanted a coffee and a few croissants or something, but there was no such option, only the full continental, which was too pricey for what we'd have eaten, so we chose to buy breakfast somewhere else, but it'd have been much more comfortable to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aoife M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've stayed in a few different places in Brussels for a single night on business, and have stayed in Ibis hotels in Paris as well. This particular Ibis is a typical good option. The room was small, with a very small bathroom, but it was clean and had everything one would need. The WiFi was especially good, since it didn't even need a password, yet seemed to have good, reliable connection with enough speed to work well all the time that I used it. The breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room quite roomy with enough seating. The location is good, with a short walk to many restaurants. I'd give five stars if the room had been a bit bigger, and if the bathroom had at least been large enough to get the shower door all the way open (an obese person probably could not have fit!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.0 mi away
Novotel Brussels Centre
Novotel Brussels Centre
#26 of 199 in Brussels
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#63 of 199 in Brussels
910 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#4 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#72 of 199 in Brussels
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine

Property: Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Address: Rue Joseph Plateau 2, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#18 Green Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine is located near the Fish market and the Place Sainte Catherine, in the very heart of Brussels, in the authentic part. At only 5 minutes walk from the famous Brussels Grand Place! Two metro stops at 100 meter, choose either Metro station 'Ste Catherine' at the Fishmarket or 'the Brouckère' in the shopping district. The hotel has 236 contemporary and totally refurbished rooms (2015), all with airconditioning. An 'all-you-can-eat' breakfast buffet with cold and hot dishes and even home made Brussels Waffles from 7am to 10am! Early bird, Express Breakfast and Late riser breakfast from 4am to 12am. Bar, Free WiFi in all public areas and all rooms, 24/7 drinks and snacks available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Centre Ste Catherine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing