We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an Ibis...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
Ranked #64 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 3, 2012

A small hotel at a great location. Not worth the money paid. Novotel next door looks much better. Very low value for money. Felt like a dorm room!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,804)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 2,804 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

I can say that my experience with this ibis is the worst i ever had with any hotel all over the world.

First of all a little history. i am a silver accor hotel member, and i have been staying mostly in novotels. This time i decided to choose ibis, for the reasonable price (for the novotel) of 85 euros per night.

1.while arriving the reception staff had just served a group of italians, and they were so overwhelmed by that, so they did not even welcome us or smth..
2. The room we got was tiny.. there was barelly place to but a backpack. The rest of our staff. We had to leave on the floor..what?

3.there was only one hand towel in the bathroom. ??

4. The room did not feel clean. Stuff on the floor in the toilet.. half finished toilet paper and wrinkles on the bed made us feel that way. Everything else was ok.

5. No fridge on the room. Yes, because there is no space to put it !

6. And now the best part.. after arriving back to the hotel on the first night of our stay, at some time around twelve in the midnight the room started to smell like cigarette smoke. Apparently this was coming in from the vedilation system of the hotel. I got down to the reception and started complaining about it saying that my wife s got asthma and she cannot handle it. And of course that this is unacceptable since none of us smokes. Suprisingly the two receptionists started talking between to each other in french, while i talked to them in english and acted as this is the first time they heard about something like that. At the end the emploee said that there is nothing he can do about that !!! At that time i got crazy and started shouting, until a couple hearing the whole story told me that they have the same problem every time they visit the specific ibis. They proposed that i should fill the wholes of the internal air system with wet toilet paper, in order to block the smoke from coming in. At the same time they keep the window open all time. At that point the receptionist agreed with the solution, the other couple had, and admitted that this is a problem they have years now. Ok, great problem solving skills! No need to say that we spent the whole three nights with the paper hanging on the holes of the air system.

7. We stayed on the 6th floor, and at some time we decided to use the stairs to go down. When we arrived at floor zero, we found a locked door and no way out. We had to go up again to usd the stairs on the other side of the hotel that led to the reception. I do not want to imagine what would happen if we had to use these stairs in case of an emergency. (i saw later that there was a sign on the 6th floor saying that these emergency srairs do not lead to the reception).

And now what is good about that ibis:

A. The bed is soooo comfortable.. we could sleep for hours.
B. The location. Some great restaurants right across the corner and the metro 5 minutes walk.
C. The breakfast. There was nothing missing from the breakfast buffe. If you are planning to walk in brussels then the breakfast in the ibis is the best to keep you on your legs for the whole day.

To end, i do not know if 85 euro a night non refundable is ok for a great breakfast and a good location. Maybe my review would be a bit better if the smoke system issue was solved in a better way and by the hotel it self.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room..
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tharsdim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Well, I stayed there for 3 nights and all can I say is: AMAZING!
Location, neighborhood, staff courtesy, clanliness, sleep quality.
Easily the best Ibis I´ve ever been on, really good located close to the subway and main
attractions but in a quiet and peaceful street.
Smoking and non-smoking rooms, free and fast wifi internet provided, intl channels on TV, heating system even in the bathroom!
Just loved the Belgian way to treat the guests.
Well done!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlandoJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Have stayed in Ibis hotels before. They are clean, inexpensive and VERY basic. Also have stayed in many hotels in Europe with small rooms. This one wins the prize for the smallest room ever!! One can barely fit in the shower. If you can picture an airline bathroom and then fit in a shower, you have a picture of the bathroom in this hotel.
Clean but VERY basic

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepere20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I found this hotel to be a good local location, good clean room & en-suite, on small size but this is normal in central locations, not in a old building its a building of maybe 25 yrs old, good modern with free inter-net but no printer which is very bad for people who do web-check in to print off there boarding pass, breakfast not in my price so its €14 for all you can eat buffet so quite dear if you have it every day so good to get some thing else smaller.

Found it an ok in every thing but main problem was no printer at free internet, they took my visa for the payment for one breakfast I had but as I have chip & pin they expected me to sign for it which I found very bad as in Brussels they have chip & pin there & I used my visa & visa debt card in Brussels with the pin code no problem.

I would have no problem recommading this hotel for good location, ok price at €477 for single room for 5 nights but bad for no printer & would not take the pin for payment.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ripunzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_BXL
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Brussels is a hotels ripoff on prices. This being an Ibis is moderate on prices (and moderate on rooms - standard Ibis - ok rooms, ok beds, consistent experiences) and its location is terrific. Getting off the St Catherine Metro, one looks at the big church and 50m away is the Ibis.

- The lower floors can be noisy with street sounds - ask for a high floor
- The check-in is sloooow - be patient!
- Forget the hotel Wifi - there are many open networks one sees and most cafes offer free wifi
- This is a key restaurant district - the whole street is full of restaurants
- The Metro has the direct line to Beaulieu in case you have EC mtg (why one would voluntarily go to Brussels unless one is forced to go to an EC mtg beats me :-))

Room Tip: Take a high floor for quietness
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
1.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
#10 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Brussels Centre
Novotel Brussels Centre
#30 of 198 in Brussels
2,856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#68 of 198 in Brussels
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine

Address: Rue Joseph Plateau 2, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $72 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine is located near the Fish market and the Place Sainte Catherine, in the very heart of Brussels, in the authentic part. At only 5 minutes walk from the famous Brussels Grand Place! Two metro stops at 100 meter, choose either Metro station 'Ste Catherine' at the Fishmarket or 'the Brouckère' in the shopping district. The hotel has 236 contemporary and totally refurbished rooms (2015), all with airconditioning. An 'all-you-can-eat' breakfast buffet with cold and hot dishes and even home made Brussels Waffles from 7am to 10am! Early bird, Express Breakfast and Late riser breakfast from 4am to 12am. Bar, Free WiFi in all public areas and all rooms, 24/7 drinks and snacks available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Centre Ste Catherine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing