We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Walk in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Ranked #42 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I was I Bruxelles for a job related meeting so I needed a hotel near enough to the city and easily reachable by public transportation.
My choice fell on the Ibis off grand to the few minutes walk from the train central station, a couple of buses lines from and to the airport,passing by my meeting location and the fact that it was in a lovely position for a walk inn the city.
The reception personnel was amazing, helpful and really kind satisfying every possible request!
The room I got was nice, facing the square, essential furnitures and modern style, while the bathroom slightly under my expectations, with an old bathtub but all tidy.
Arriving late, I choosed to have my dinner in the hotel restaurant, noticing only a limited choice of dishes most looking microwaveable dishes. The restaurant personnel supportive and amazingly kind.
For the second dinner I preferred one of the next door restaurants finding them perfect.
Nice place for a short staying or a tour in the beautiful Bruxelles.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinghialott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence B, Directeur général at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Good afternoon
We appreciate your positive feedback on your stay with us. As we don't have any restaurant we're only serving snacks in the bar, but we do it 24/7 so everyone can order a snack whenever he wants. It's true that Brussels offers a lot of possibilities for a good dinner.
We hope to see you back again in our hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 2,938 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

i´ve stayed with my girlfriend in Ibis Off Grand Place and our experience was terrible.

The cleaness of the room was not very good, the sink and the bathtub had stains all over, the towels were small and thin and seem too old.

The hotel room is waaaaaaaay to small, and during my first 2 days the window was closed, and You can´t control the temperature of the room, you remain a hostage of the main AC of the hotel ( they set always the temperature way too high(28... 30º C). As the room was ridiculously small, window closed, and the temperature too high... The place was very claustrophobic, like the fresh couldnt ever get in... and the walls between the other rooms and the corridor are very thin you can hear everything... slam of the elevator door, people talking...

The staff was ok... dont seem to care much about the problems ( i´ve had to go down to the lobby to solve al he problems ´cause the phone on my room did not work...

The location is excellent ( 10 steps of Grand place) and there is free internet in the room ( not that fast but still...)
I wouldnt stay there again...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brunito2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence B, Directeur général at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Good afternoon,
We're sorry that your stay at our hotel didn't meet your expectations. Only on the first floor windows can't be opened totally for security reasons, but at the reception we have a key to open the window on your request.
The system of the aircondtioning keeps the room on a constant temperature between 19 and 22 degrees. The system depends as well from the outside temperature which in Belgium unfortunately can change every day during the spring season. One day it can be 23 degrees and the day after the temperature goes down to 10 degrees. The airconditioning is also based on a very ecological system to minimize our foot print on the environment.
The average room size in our hotel is 17m². We're sorry that the room appeared to small for you. At the reception we would be glad to find a solution for this problem. They could switch you eventually to a triple room, which is like 22m².
Nevertheless we hope we can still welcome you in one of our Ibis hotels.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

next to central station, next to grand place, next to restaurants row. location is 5 star. service is also 5 star. room was better than expected and better than other ibis i stayed, it looked new, clean. i like it very much. though i book a 2+1 bed as many comments are that the rooms are small. the price was not much different. in a range of 100 usd.

Room Tip: our room look to the back square, pretty quiet at night. though tourist bus came in from 8-9, but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tunwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence B, Directeur général at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Good afternoon,
We thank you for your feedback and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the size of the room we would like to inform you that a room in our hotel has an average size of 17m². We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I chose to stay at this hotel because it was just a short walk from Brussels Centraal, and after flying overnight and train ride from Schipol, it was very convenient to walk out of the train station and be at the hotel within 3 minutes. Check-in and check-out was easy and quick. The room was a bit small as expected in a location near Grand Place, but not a problem as we were out most of the day. Also, the room was very basic, no safe, lack of bathroom amenities, but this is expected for the price.

The best thing is really the location, 3 minutes from Grand Place, trains and metro, and plenty of restaurants all around the hotel. Even had dinner at the bar/restaurant, and it was not too bad and price was reasonable. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel as there were many more options near the hotel. Overall, if you need to be centrally located in Brussels near the sights, restaurants, and transportation, this is probably a good bet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jip79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence B, Directeur général at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Good afternoon,
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We can only agree that the location of our hotel is fantastic. Concerning the bathroom amenities, we can tell you that all Ibis hotels provide the same standard. Our reception is always at your disposal in case you want extra towels, cups, soap....We hope to see you back soon in our hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We picked this hotel for two reasons, firstly the proximity of a car park and secondly the proximity of sightseeing stuff and cafes, restaurants, etc. It excelled at both! With a massive underground multistory car park below it and easy roads in we had no problems driving there and parking. The Grand Place is maybe a 2 minute walk away, so many shops, museums, the Palace at the top of the hill, this location is excellent.

The hotel was clean, and comfortable. A little cramped, but if you stay in Ibis enough you'll expect rooms of this size. It's fine for the two of us anyway. My only issue with this Ibis was the wafer thin walls. Every step from people in high heels, every door banging, suitcases trundling and what I'm sure was hoovers whacking the walls as the rooms were cleaned. Each morning the noise was just there in the background as I lay half asleep in bed. Not very annoying, but still a background noise...

Two tips:
1: Breakfast across the road at Exki. Orange juice and croissant or pains au chocolat for €2, plus espresso for €1. High quality at a fraction the price of the hotel breakfast.
2: Pasta Divina is about 10m from the entrance to the hotel. A truly excellent Italian restaurant!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence B, Directeur général at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Good afternoon,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Brussels Off Grand Place. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was perfect for us. The hotels location is ideal. We had breakfast included and there was so much choice. We just expected continental but they had egg, sausage, bacon, croissants, cereal, fruit, yogurts, pâtés all different spreads and much more. The staff were great & the bar was nice to just relax in. The bar man even changed the channel to BBC One so my bf could watch MOTD whilst we enjoyed our beers. Free WIFI also. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WeLove2Wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence B, Directeur général at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Good afternoon,
We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Brussels Off Grand'Place. We try to satisfy our guests in any way possible and we appreciate your fantastic feedback.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is ideally located close to the beautiful Grand Place, and has everything you need close to hand. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The bar was a pleasant place to enjoy a drink. Rooms were of reasonable size - ours on the 5th floor had a wonderful view. Our only gripe was that soundproofing is nonexistent - we could hear clearly the lift coming up and down, and the normal conversation of people next door. If you are sensitive to noise it can be a problem getting a good night's sleep unless you bring some earplugs. Breakfast was of good quality, but as with everything in Brussels was very, very expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neervoort S, Directeur général at Ibis Brussels off Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for your comments, it help us to improve our services.
I am glad to see that your stay with us was good, Brussels is an expensive city but you can find good deals during the summer..
I wish you a good day.
Yours sincerelly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#72 of 199 in Brussels
2,779 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brussels off Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brussels off Grand Place

Address: Grasmarkt 100 | Rue du Marché aux Herbes 100, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $87 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brussels off Grand Place 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a top location at the Grand Place and the historical center of Brussels, the Ibis Brussels Off Grand'Place offers a direct access towards the international airport and the railway station. Metro, the Congress Palace, the main shopping areas and the cultural district are only a few meters away. With 184 air-conditioned and modern rooms, a pleasant bar, free wifi access and a public parking, this completely non smoking hotel is the ideal place to book for your business and leisure purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Brussels off Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brussels Off Grand Place Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Off Grand Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing