We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Ranked #42 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to Brussels a week for Christmas in 2012 to sample the yuletide festive season in Belgium. We booked the Ibis off Grand Place and did not know what to expect until we arrived. It was about 10 minutes taxi ride from the Central Station. On arrival, the check in was quick and we were given a room on the 1st floor. There is a lift, small bar, and a dining room where breakfast is served. There is quite a good selection for breakfast - there is fruit juices, cereal, cold meat and yogurt, varieties of bread, bacon, sausages, and scrambled egg.

The room is not big but adequate, clean and comfortable. We had no complaint and definitely made a good choice.

The location is fantastic, within walking distances to the Grand Place, restaurants and shops.

There was a Christmas market near the Grand Place and a bigger one st St Catherine's square with an ice skating rink and Big Wheel. (Note: we were there in December so the Christmas market was there).

We had a nice time in Brussels. There is plenty of seafood, Belgium beers and wait....... chocolate! We have not seen so many chocolateries in one place. It is almost heaven for chocolates lovers. They are so yummy and delicious and so many varieties.

We will definitely stay at the Ibis again when next in Brussels.


The Wise Ones
17/12/2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Wise-Ones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 2,936 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Well, I wish i could tell you about this hotel, but I didn't have a chance to stay as they had double booked my room, despite email communications about my late arrival time, which they were fine with.
I arrived at 12 midnight, and got shipped off in a taxi to another hotel. No apologies.
Looked like a good hotel, chosen because of reviews and location. The hotel I stayed at was in the wrong location for me and wasn't the best review wise.

Room Tip: Check your reservation before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank BabsJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was at the Ibis Hotel, near Grand Place for 3 nights and I was given a room on the 5th floor overlooking the pedestrian square outside hotel. This hotel situated 5 minutes from Central Station , and the hotel a few minutes walk over to the Grand Place. Upon entering the bright décor is appealing and inviting and the staff member by the name of Maria was very pleasant, efficient and courteous . Going up on the lift I appreciated the music being played and upon entering my room I was pleasantly surprised and especially with the attic type window and the view overlooking the square. The room,bathroom,WC were spotless and the bed very comfortable. Not a thick mattress but still nonetheless for my self ensured a most restful and peaceful sleep, except for the noise during the night by drunken revellers in the square who made such a noise which did disturb my sleep pattern at 02.00am and also at 03.45am But then there is no antidote for People who are hell bent on getting Drunk so that they can be MERRY and CHEERY and giving no thought for others.
I did not have breakfast as I thought it was a bit pricey and there are plenty of eateries in the vicinity. however for location,cleanliness and good service then it is to be recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WFSGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We got a room for one night at a fairly good discount, which made the stay worthwhile given the location right in the centre of Brussels and very handy for railway connections. The room was quite small but well-appointed and quiet, with an okay bathroom. What really let them down was service - front-desk service was poor (no city maps were available and we were sent off with a vague wave of the hand to find the tourist office) and we were charged €5 to store bags for a couple of hours. I don't think I've ever been asked before to pay to store luggage at a hotel for same-day collection. Stay here if you must, but don't pay full price.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SuzanneD_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent location if you travel from Brussels Central station. Only 5 minute walk from the station and all tourist attractions.

The room is clean and all the staffs are helpful to find the good restaurant with the city map.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SV_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The location of this hotel is incredible, it honestly couldn't be any better and is right near the main station if you want to travel elsewhere.

Unfortunately a massive downside of being so central is it is noisy, we were in the 4th floor and got woken up most might by drunk people.

The second massive disadvantage is the beds aren't beds, they're pieces of foam about 3 inches thick instead of a mattress so if you require comfort of any kind then this won't work for you.

So great location but I felt like a zombie for most of the trip due to sleep deprivation.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

As we only had two nights in Brussels we wanted a central location. This hotel is hard to beat as it's just off the Grand Place (as the name suggests) but is also in its own little square with bars, shops and restaurants.

Check-in was efficient and we were given the choice of room location, which was nice. The room itself was a little cramped for two but had an excellent view of the square and we could also see the lights of the Grand Place at night. Breakfast was expensive but excellent.

The hotel is also next to the Galeries Royales shopping arcade where there are numerous shops and cafes. There is an excellent restaurant right at the end of the arcade called Arcadi, which I have also reviewed.

If you are staying in Brussels for the Christmas markets you will find plenty of chalet around the vicinity of the Grand Place but the main area is a ten minute walk towards St Catherine's Square.

All in all an excellent stay at the Ibis and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone who's priority is a clean, friendly hotel in a central location. Book in advance via the Ibis website to receive a good discount.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moussie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#73 of 199 in Brussels
2,778 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Brussels off Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brussels off Grand Place

Address: Grasmarkt 100 | Rue du Marché aux Herbes 100, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $87 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brussels off Grand Place 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a top location at the Grand Place and the historical center of Brussels, the Ibis Brussels Off Grand'Place offers a direct access towards the international airport and the railway station. Metro, the Congress Palace, the main shopping areas and the cultural district are only a few meters away. With 184 air-conditioned and modern rooms, a pleasant bar, free wifi access and a public parking, this completely non smoking hotel is the ideal place to book for your business and leisure purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Brussels off Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brussels Off Grand Place Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Off Grand Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing