We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced hotel outside the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Hotel Charlemagne
Ranked #124 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel was very well priced although the breakfast was extra and this soon brought the price up. The rooms were clean and pleasant. The area is quiet and about a half hour walk from the city centre (although there was a metro stop close by). There were several small restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear valued guest,
We want to thank you so much for writing a nice review on the Newhotel Charlemagne Brussels. We are proud that you enjoyed your experience so much. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from Brussels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 361 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

If you're on a budget and just want a clean place to sleep, this hotel is fine.

If you want more, I wouldn't recommend it: my room didn't have a kettle, an iron, air conditioning, or for that matter a chain attached to the bath plug!

If I wanted the room to cool down, I had to open my window, which looked out over somewhat noisy street. I was woken at 5.45 by the rubbish collectors one morning, and the room was still too hot despite having the window slightly open. Meanwhile, to drain the bath I had to use a knitting needle to extract the plug!

The bathroom had some other minor issues. The shower curtain, when pulled across to shield the sink area from water, obscured the controls for the shower. The bath drained very slowly -- even after a very quick shower, I found myself standing in cool water that had not yet drained.

The wifi was generally ok but a bit dodgy -- it would shut off mid-way through skype calls, which wasn't terribly helpful.

All of the above said, the staff were friendly and breakfast was basic but fine. Like I say -- if you're on a budget and value the location, go for it. If you want a bit of a higher standard, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear valued guest,
We are very sad that you did not appreciate our property. Our property counts 68 rooms and 38 of them have air condition. You can find this information in the features of the room. Please allow me to apologize for the fact that you deal with a few technical issues in the room you've stayed in - we take this very seriously and due to your comment we have been organising a training for the room maids! Meanwhile, thank you very much for your feedback and we really hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a night, and out of the five places we stayed during our trip, this hotel was definitely the best.

The room was clean, staff was friendly, and the quality of room was the best we stayed.

For the price, I don't think many could complain and from the other reviews I've seen, it may be that the personal standards set are higher than others. To each their own.

No complaints, other than the shower didn't work.

Room Tip: Don't buy the breakfast. There are tons of brunch places around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d00st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear valued guest,
We want to thank you so much for writing a nice review on the Newhotel Charlemagne Brussels.We are proud that you enjoyed your experience so much. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the shower and we will take care of it. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from Brussels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at, the beds were so uncomfortable I did not get a good nights sleep during my stay, the safe in the room was broken and it took 3 complaints to get someone to look at it and then when they could not fix it there was no suggestion of getting it fixed. The wifi was close to useless would disconnect you ever few minutes and you would have to log on again and to take a show was a case of the temperature would change ever few seconds from cold to hot. I would not stay there again if you paid me.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeG232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear guest,
We appreciate you take time to write us your comments regarding your stay at the Newhotel Charlemagne. Indeed, during that period we've been through a breakdown of the water supply and the Internet connection was disturbed. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. In the meantime, everything is repaired. We are really sorry that you did not appreciate the comfort of our beds. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest, should your travel plans bring you to Brussels.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nice bathroom, double bed and fairly new furniture. Could have done with new wallpaper though. Wifi worked fine for me. Amazing location right behind the Berlaymont, very convenient if you are in Brussels on EU-related business.


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon for another stay.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Choose this hotel if you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel that's well located. Close to the Metro station, Schuman- this hotel is within 10mins of the Grand Place by subway.

What I would class as a no-frills hotel, it was clean, spacious and staff are friendly. If you just want somewhere to put your head down for the night, while you explore the city during the day, this is a great choice. Only thing I would say is that the Wifi is pretty hit and miss.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Rebacca,
We are really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully see you back soon with us here at New Hotel Charlemagne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is very clean and the rooms are a decent size. The bathroom could do with painting but overall the hotel is very clean. The hotel is a little distance from the centre of town although we did walk there and back and it took about 15/20 minutes. There is also lots of bars and restaurants around the hotel for an evening meal but no so much for breakfast unless you walk into town. The staff are friendly and the hotel is practically on the door step of the European committee building,

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinaBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your compliment on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you choose the New Hotel Charlemagne for your stay in Brussels. We have shared your nice comments with all the staff. We look forward to welcome you back for another nice experience with us.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0 mi away
First Euroflat Hotel
First Euroflat Hotel
#122 of 199 in Brussels
362 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gresham Belson Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Berlaymont Brussels
Hotel Berlaymont Brussels
#86 of 199 in Brussels
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
0 mi away
Martin's Brussels EU
Martin's Brussels EU
#27 of 199 in Brussels
712 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Brussels Louise
NH Brussels Louise
#96 of 199 in Brussels
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel Charlemagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Charlemagne

Address: Boulevard Charlemagne 25-27 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $73 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel Charlemagne 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing