We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel Normal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Ranked #27 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Novotel Normal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a great location two minute walk from the centraal station (15 mins from airport) so that's good.

The hotel was good with an early checkin too. Breakfast was very average and not worth the price and the rooms were very small with amazingly firm beds - if you suffer with a bad back this is good but otherwise not so sure

Service to get drinks during the day and evening was a painful experience and to be honest left me somewhat annoyed

Overall this was an average stay

Room Tip: Get the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southbank10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    1,199
    284
    45
    27
See reviews for
935
677
138
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Country, England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stay in many Novotels throughout Europe as they are normally very good, but this one was not one of the best by far. Although it is ideally situated (just off the Grand Place) and there is secure parking next door-the noise from the city streets continues long into the night. Although the windows appear to be double glazed- they are not, and we were kept awake until at least 3.a.m by car horns blaring and people shouting and singing. Furthermore, the shower door leaked and water flooded the bathroom, the kettle lid came off when my husband made coffee and scalded his hands, and one of the windows did not close properly, it kept swinging wide open- letting in more sound and a lot of cold air. This is supposed to be a family room too, and I dread to think if small children had access to the window what might happen. There was also no milk in the hospitality area for hot drinks.
The reception staff were pleasant and professional, but not particularly welcoming or friendly. I appreciate the hotel has no control over the outside noises of the hotel, but it wouldn't hurt them to invest in good efficient double glazing.
There are many good hotels in Brussels in similar locations, and we shall certainly be choosing alternative accommodation for our next trip.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of the hotel at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen_Kingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, General Manager at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay in our establishment. The Hotel will currently be undergoing refurbishment of all windows frames from april 2013 to prevent the noise from ouside. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Top location, modern well-maintained building. Reception staff efficient and helpful.
For the price the room was just about OK, but the towels were from Sparta and we had have them replaced daily (which defeated the hotel's rather pious eco policy).
We ate one evening meal in the restaurant, but the waitress was completely inattentive and got our orders wrong, the food was poor and there was no supervisor to complain to, so we didn't go back. However, the breakfeast staff and quality of food were both fine.
Disappointingly average - with its tremednbous location this could be a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walktolunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Hotel is just off Grand Place, literally 2 minutes’ walk, which makes it the perfect hotel for a city break.
Rooms were typical Novotel, basic but comfortable. No complaints, I would definitely recommend it for a short break in Brussels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
366 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked the hotel through Avios, as part of a Eurostar break for a couple of nights. We have been to Bruges many times, and love it, so thought that a trip to Brussels sounded like a good idea.

The hotel was easy to find - straight out of central station, head for Grand Place, and you will walk past the hotel within five minutes. Service throughout was exemplary, a minor confusion at check in notwithstanding, and staff couldn't do enough for us whether at reception, in the bar, or in the restaurant.

We had booked a triple room, and this was comfortable, well presented, albeit a little on the small side - my wife accurately described it as "bijou" - a small jewel! The beds were extremely comfortable, and the bathroom included both bath and separate shower, as well as a separate toilet room. The shower included the largest shower head that any of us had ever seen!

Bar service was excellent, and the prices extremely reasonable, and include Leffe Blonde and Brun on tap, as well as the usual selection of soft drinks, wines, spirits, bottled beers, etc.

There is complimentary wifi throughout the hotel, and a bank of iMac computers in the lobby for free use, along with an XBox to keep younger guests happy.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, and so can't comment upon that. However, we did eat breakfast on both mornings of our stay, having got an inclusive rate from Avios. This was a buffet breakfast including cereals, breads, pastries, cold meats, cheeses, fruit, fruit salads, yoghurts, and a hot selection of sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, etc. Until now, my favourite scrambled eggs were from the Russell Hotel in Russell Square, London. This crown has now been taken by the Novotel - gorgeous, creamy, and much enjoyed!

The location wasn't just convenient for the Central Station, but also within easy walking distance of many of the sights: Grand Place, the Manequin Pis, the Musical Instrument Museum, the European Parliament and Parlimentarium exhibition, various shops, restaurants, bars and arcades were all reached easily by walking. Our trip on the Metro to the Atomium was easily completed, and brought us back to the Central Station, needing only to amble down the hill to the hotel.

If staying in Brussels, we would certainly consider staying here again, having thoroughly enjoyed both the hotel and the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Over the years, I have been to Brussels for many many times, and most of the times I have requested for a 4 Star Hotel near the World Trade Center. But for the trip on 2010-05-01, because I was using the Accor chain all the way, I found the Novotel Brussels Grand Place and I was really overwhelmed !!!

This is a hotel that has everything a traveller would require, coffee making facility especially for the traveller like me, from the East ! The receptions are frienly, the checking is swift and the location is PERFECT !!! Not only its right next to the Grand Place but its surrounded by so many food outlets !!!

And its near to the train station too !!!

Would definitely recommend this hotel to all !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaitiamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was pretty much what you come to expect from a Novotel, indeed it is nicer than many Novotels we have stayed at before. The top selling point for this hotel is its ideal location, just two minutes walk from the Grand Place and two minutes walk from Gare Central. We didn't eat at the hotel as the breakfast was rather pricey at 23 EU per head. The fitness room was very limited (one treadmill and one cross trainer). The room soundproofing could be better - we were woken at 6am one day by car horns outside. One other minor irritation was the fact the cups for the tea making facility were just disposable paper cups. Its a good hotel though and we'd stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robclark-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.0 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brussels Centre
Novotel Brussels Centre
#26 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#85 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brussels Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brussels Grand Place

Property: Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Address: Rue du Marche aux Herbes 120, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Brussels
#13 Green Hotel in Brussels
#21 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#34 Business Hotel in Brussels
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brussels Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Brussels Off Grand Place is located right in the centre of Brussels, moments away from what is said to be the most beautiful town square in the world. Within easy reach of Central Station, this 138 room hotel combines comfort and innovation.The lobby and the Foodsquare bar brasserie share a warm and bright open space, a celebration of chic design. This 4 star hotel welcomes you in this historic area of Brussels for a weekend or short break with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Brussels Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brussels Grand Place Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Grand Place
Brussels Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing