We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City center hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Ranked #29 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had one night stay at the hotel.
The hotel was next to the central station and on the central square.
The room was very nice. Clean , comfortable with a modern touch.
Large lcd screen , nespresso coffee machine, radio and multimedia deck.
The stuff at the reception was very helpfull and polite.
If visited again Brussels , i will stay there for sure again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Panicos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 2,640 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxxxxxxxx90
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel fell substantially short of expectations. The room (321) has a very uncomfortable bed (with annoying, inappropriate square pillows that take up too much space) and when I asked reception for an alternative room they said all other rooms were the same. The room layout was very poor (a tiny separate toilet room, the shower too small, the bathroom only accessible by leave the door wide open as the bed is immediately adjacent). The toilet door handle is loose, as was the shower fittings. The TV was too small for a business hotel.

The fitness centre is one weights machine, a treadmill and a cycling machine. Not exactly comprehensive.

I did make these points in my feedback to Novotel (practically word for word) but their very short reply was that I should have stayed in a sister, five-star hotel. I don’t think a comfortable bed is a five-star request, nor is a room where I can get to the bathroom sink without contorting myself by the bedside.

I had stayed in the outstanding, nearby Amigo over the previous weekend. I booked both hotels at roughly the same rate so definitely go with the Amigo if you can. From the Novotel to the Square conference centre is about 3-5 minutes, from the Amigo add two minutes.
If travelling by Eurostar you can get the train (free with a valid Eurostar connecting ticket) from Gare du Midi (which is attached to Gare du Sud, the names can be seen interchangeably) to Gare Centralle in a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaled S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel location is unbeateable just 50 metres away from the Grand Place and besides the Central train station, which makes it perfect not only for visiting the tourist spots in Brussels but also for daily train trips to other Belgian cities. The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable as Novotel premises use to be, the rooms big enough and well isolated from the outside noise. The breakfast buffet is a bit pricey at 23€ for what they provide. Free wi-fi in the rooms. A good quality-price relation. Reccomended.

Room Tip: The backside rooms are quieter because they front a nice pedestrian square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only a short walk to the main centre of Brussels for incredible shopping, restaurants and bars. The bed was so comfy! And incredibly close to the train station - just a short walk as well. Or, there are plenty of taxis in this area, should that be your preferred mode of transport.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When you have a mid-range budget and dont want any surprises, Novotels are always a good bet, and this is the same in most respects: good, clean modern interiors (not sure about the previous reviews citing old or worn out furniture, never found this in any Novotel in any country), good sized rooms (again, why state that its 'odd' to have a toilet separate to the bathroom? When I'm in the shower and my husband wants the loo, the further the better I say), efficient, friendly staff, good internet and an acceptable, well presented bar and restaurant. At 23E a head we ruled out breakfast as a bit pricey, but when you're surrounded by bars, cafes, tearooms etc that's not a prob. Which brings me to the best feature about the hotel, its location. It's literally less than a minute off Grand Place, which is one of the prettiest European squares I've seen, and just generally in a great spot for shopping, drinking, sightseeing, more eating, chocolate buying, bit more eating...you get the picture of what I like to do on holiday. I would recommend Brussels for a great short break, and this Novotel to stay at while you're there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brussels City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brussels Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brussels Grand Place

Address: Rue du Marche aux Herbes 120, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Brussels
#13 Green Hotel in Brussels
#20 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#34 Business Hotel in Brussels
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $126 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brussels Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Brussels Off Grand Place is located right in the centre of Brussels, moments away from what is said to be the most beautiful town square in the world. Within easy reach of Central Station, this 138 room hotel combines comfort and innovation.The lobby and the Foodsquare bar brasserie share a warm and bright open space, a celebration of chic design. This 4 star hotel welcomes you in this historic area of Brussels for a weekend or short break with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Brussels Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brussels Grand Place Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Grand Place
Brussels Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing