We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in a good location, bit dated though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre
Ranked #77 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed here for a meeting that took place in the hotel. Price is not bad at all for a location so close to the centre of Brussels and very easy access from the metro system and close to numerous restaurants. Check-in was ok once my room was ready, staff were helpful at at other times as well. Room was ok. I liked the heated bathroom floor and the size of the room. Not so keen on the soft bed and large pillows. Main problem, as noted by previous reviewers, is the wifi. Fair enough if there on holiday, but I was there on business, and if selling itself as a conference centre than having working wifi in all parts of the hotel is a must. At least the wifi was free. No business centre as such, but if you email pdf's of boarding passes to reception that can print them for you. Breakfast was buffet style and fairly standard. Overall, it was ok and not bad value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 2,595 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel was good for the value, the location was very good and the room was comfortable and clean enough. We were 3 adults so we needed 3 standard beds which we got, and that was very good so none of us had to sleep in a fold-away smaller uncomfortable bed. Bathroom was also ok.
Staff was not that nice and friendly though. This is a functional hotel, don´t wait to find any charm or special stuff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martisviajeraww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Despite the mixed reviews, I booked two nights at Bedford and pleased that I did. I noticed most of the complaints are regarding the wifi; yes it is a pain to only have access in the lobby (connection is spotty) and it is a pain to get a password daily. However, I'm on vacation to enjoy the world outside the hotel walls so this was not a deal breaker for me. The staff is courteous, with a "bonjour" every morning from the front desk, dining staff, to whomever happened to be roaming the halls. Breakfast included juices, tea and coffee, cold meats and cheeses, yogurt, bakery goods, and one hot pan of eggs and bacon (too salty). Room decor is a bit stale but are large for European standards (ditto for the elevators), has flatscreen tv with many channels, L'occitane products in the bathroom, standard hard bed, no street noise. Location is 15min walk from Zuid/Midi station (one of the "main" train stations--please note that we found no cabs from the station that were willing to take us to the hotel despite it raining that day--while it is an easy walk on a nice day, it is not a stone's throw away) and 5 min from Grand Place/Grote Markt. Though I doubt I will return to Brussels, I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wishes to visit.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Really nice location to explore the Old Town. The breakfast is good and variously.
Room was really not a 4 star. Broken furniture, small and very loud. Not from the outside, you can hear everything from the neighbors. Bathroom old fashioned, but no possibility to shower in the tub without flooding the whole bathroom.
Parking garage across the street, found only spot with a sign for the hotel. The reception staff seem's not very pleased we took it, but agreed.
The Hotel advertised with parking. Surely it was no 4star, but it was clean and good located.
For the price we booked with booking.com and considering the good location it was a bargain for the one night we spend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac2214jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was very pleased to find this nice hotel in the middle of Brussels. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was splendid. The staff was helpful and friendly. An excellent place to stay, in walking distance to all the centrtal places to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear4022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

A good place to stay if you want to be near shops & restaurants & bars, but on a quiet street.
It is a bit pricy, but with spacious rooms and very clean.
Breakfast is basic, but I've had worse.
Reception staff not very friendly - with some, you'd say you were served by the Queen herself.
Empty minibars, so you have to go to the nearby shops for some water or pay for room service.
Tip: If you come by car, just park it on the street. It's free during the weekend

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IoanaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Pros:
-Price
-15 min walk from Midi metro/train station, less than 10 min walk to main plaza.
-Good breakfast included.
-Clean.
-Bathroom floor was always warm. Seems like not a big deal, but made a difference.
-Excellent water pressure in the shower.

Cons:
-No WIFI in rooms :(
-No sheets, just a duvet and lumpy pillows.
-No king beds, instead two single beds pushed together.
-Some parts of the hotel look old and tired, like the furniture in the room. There was a sign that said they are remodeling.

Would I go back? Meh. Probably not because I like to have internet in the room. All in all its not a bad hotel. We paid around $110/night on hotels.com.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.9 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#88 of 199 in Brussels
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brussels City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#116 of 199 in Brussels
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre

Address: Rue du Midi 135-137, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $66 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel And Congress Centre
Bedford Hotel Congress Centre
Bedford Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing