We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant service and staff, lovely reception, rooms v varied.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Plaza
Ranked #41 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North East
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant service and staff, lovely reception, rooms v varied.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. we were given a gift and special welcome on arrival which was lovely, but the room was not up to the standard of those we had stayed in on previous visits. It needed a coat of paint and carpet clean. However staff were very helpful, finding things out and ringing us in our room to let us know, bringing bathrobes etc. The public areas are lovely and the bathroom was spotless with nice toiletries. V comfortable and big bed, good tv and free safe.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernSoul94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    599
    177
    65
    21
See reviews for
160
678
57
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

> We just got back from a lovely bankholiday weekend in Brussels but
> would never stay at LE PLAZA again.
> The location was great, just a 5 min - 10min stroll from the station
> so a cheap (aprox 7 euros for 2 return) and fast (aiport to hotel in
> less than 30 mins) ,
> The older part of the town and many historical sites were 15 mins
> stroll but the hotel was surrounded by adult cinemas and xxx dvd
> stores, so perhaps not that great if you are not tucked up in your
> hotel before 10pm or so.
> A great shopping street with cafes and chain stores and a supermarket
> and the bus station are just across the road - so really as long as
> you don't stay out late a truly perfect location.
> We got a good price with lastminute.com but requested a romantic
> double room with nice view if possible as it was my birthday
> celebrations.
> We got twin beds - heavy duvets which it was too hot to use and no top
> sheets so we had to take the covers off the duvets and use them.
> No extra pillows and very squashy unsubstantial pillows are not what I
> expext from a 3 star let alone a 5 star.
> The beds were most uncomfortable and not the double we had requested.
> Our room was smallish with no view. No romance or luxury apart from
> minibar - and the most wonderfully flattering lighting in the bathroom !

(Which made such a wonderful change from almost all of the hotel bathrooms I have visted previously - all hotels take note:- women do NOT want to be frightened by the sight of themselves in multiple mirrors under stark, cold prison-style overhead garish lighting and Le Plaza has shown you can have a good level of illumination together with flattering and warm tones)

The room also had a nice fairsized flatscreen tv but partially obscuring picture on wall behind which just looked sloppy and as if no real care was put in.
>
I had emailed days before our arrival and asked for directions and how much it would cost to
> upgrade to breakfast included.
> Nobody ever bothered answer.
> It was only on leaving I saw an offer to upgrade to breakfast (usually
> 29 euros!) and your room and some other details for 30 euros per
> night. What a shame nobody either emailed me or told me of the off er
> when I enquired the price of breakfast.
> 2 cocktails cost 24 euros.
> Parking overnight 30 euros.
> 15 minutes internet 5 euros.
> Internet connection 15 euros for 12 hours and wi-fi in the lobby
> started at (I think) 9 euros.
> Staff were nice and helped out with sightseeing info when asked but
> generally we did not have a 5 star experience except for the
> ridiculous 5 star extras prices which made you feel you were really
> being ripped off for all they could squeeze out of your stay,
> Am sure there is a better deal to be had from the
> hilton/sheraton/crowne plaza hotels near by - and will not be
> returning despite it's marginally better location.
> Disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonneVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

We arrived for a birthday weekend for me and they had a special upgrade for an additional 30 euro that we took advantage of. The room was huge, pretty and clean. The most impressive thing, in my opinion, was how quiet our room was. Our room faced the main street, but I never heard any traffic noise to speak of and never heard the maids or other guests coming and going in the hallway outside our room. Breakfast was beutifully done every morning. There were so many little details that were paid attention to, that I can't possibly list them all. We travel a lot and have many hotels, worlwide to compare this to. I highly recommend staying there.
Two final items, I read some reviews saying the area was a little questionable. If you've spent any time in European cities, you know that erotic clubs and sex shops can be located almost everywhere, even airports. There are a few in the area, but so are many nice boutiques and cafes. Don't freak out over this, it's normal in Europe and doesn't have the same connotations that most Americans would associate with this.
Last, if you can't find a place top park, just double park in front of the hotel and let them know you need assistance. That was the only thing we couldn't figure out once we arrived.
Fantastic stay all the way around!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fagansl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

I was there for business but was very impressed. It was extremely cosy, particularly as it was decorated for Xmas at the time (sorry my review is late!) Although I was there for business I would say it makes a far better weekend break / leisure hotel although was very comfortable for me on a work trip.
The style is very quaint - I loved it, my colleague didn't - I suppose that is down to personal taste.
I had a room upgrade and the room was great - extremely welcoming, big bathroom and a huge bed. Complimentary chocolates upon arrival and all the things I expect from a five star hotel - twice a day turn-down etc. Location seemed great too - only ten minutes to Grand Place and away from the hustle and bustle of the square.
Food was delicious too and the conference facilities were great - I'm off there again in two weeks time and looking forward to it!
Only downsides I can think of were:
- no coffee making facilities in the room
- phone was located at the opposite side of the room (not by the bed) so a real pain trying to speak to my husband before bed
- exchange rate made it expensive although i of course was there for business and so not paying myself

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelaCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. We always check on Tripadvisor before booking & it hasn't let us down yet. We had a beautiful room which was spotlessly clean, the hotel staff were very polite & helpful & the hotel itself is only a ten minute walk from the Grand Place. Breakfast is very good, my wife especially liked the Champagne, Smoked Salmon & Scrambled Egg. The only down side to the trip was that we weren't there long enough!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essexman_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookieG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with our dog. We are American living in Germany, so we drove to the hotel. We greeted by a valet, who assisted us with unloading our luggage and who took our car to a garage for us. Parking is not free. It cost 30 Euros per day to park, which is quite normal for hotels in the city from what I found online. We couldn't meet both of our needs to have a hotel that accepts dogs and one with free parking. The hotel was a good price for the quality of the hotel and the staff was helpful. They did reduce the 30 Euros it cost us per day to have our dog there to 15 Euros, which was nice. We didn't eat at the restaurant because it was expensive. Breafast is 29 Euros per person. The bed was comfortable and we had plenty of space in the room. I did take a shower that wasn't quite as hot as I woudl have liked, but it was acceptable. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Grand Place and all of the fun of the city, perfect for our desire to sample the local cuisine and beer for the weekend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

We were travelling on a budget but decided to splurge on accomodation in Brussels, and found Le Plaza for a pretty good price online. It was well worth it, the entrance is grand and elegant and our room was lovely. Very comfortable beds and large bathroom. I recommend having a late night tea in the lounge, as the staff there were really friendly and the atmosphere is relaxing. The area around the hotel varies in its appeal, but there are some decent restaurants close by and the main tourist area is about fifteen minutes walk away. It is quite close to Brussels Nord station, but too far to walk from Brussels midi with lugagge. We ran out of things to do in Brussels, so we spent a lot of time relaxing in our hotel room. But with a place this nice, we didn't mind at all.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilliflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marivaux Hotel
Marivaux Hotel
#48 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#68 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.5 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Plaza

Property: Hotel Le Plaza
Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 118 - 126, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Brussels
#26 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#30 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#39 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Plaza Brussels has 189 guest rooms and suites, each personalized with refined furniture, combining tradition and modernity for the comfort of tourists and business travelers alike. The hotel also offers business services, video-conferencing, and extensive meeting and conference spaces, including Le Plaza Theatre, listed for its historical value by Royal Decree, where every event becomes memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plaza Brussels
Le Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing