We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not by choice”
Review of Hotel Le Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Plaza
Ranked #50 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 18, 2014

faded grand hotel in questionable neighborhood. hotel was a substitute for a better property booked through Gala Hotels. they changed properties without our knowledge or consent. do not use Gala they are not reputable.


  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Booked on a voyage privee voucher, and very happy with the hotel. The staff were all very young, but excellent. We endlessly had to get things out of the car, which was valet parked in the hotel car park. This involved someone having to go and get the keys for us and guide us through the back way to the car park, waiting while we retrieved whatever thing we had just realised we needed, and taking us back to the lobby. They were exceedingly patient about this! The room was lovely, with huge floor to ceiling french windows and a balustrade so you could lean out and catch the early morning sun. The bed was enormous, the bathroom was great and everything was as you would hope - including finding a chocolate on each pillow, together with a little note and the next day's weather forecast, each time we came back in the evening. Very thoughtful. The breakfast was excellent - choice of six cereals, a whole bank of pastries, fresh baguettes, other bread, fruit and yogurt, cheeses, hams, smoked salmon, scrambled eggs, rosti, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, pancakes, lots of jams, maple syrup, sirop de liege, good selection of condiments in general - all au volonté. Meanwhile, the restaurant staff at breakfast were cheerful, helpful, discreet and, despite the fact that the breakfast was always very well attended (which was mysterious as the hotel always seemed very peaceful and quite empty) had excellent memories for preferences. One note - this hotel is well placed for the centre of town, being less than 100 metres from the main shopping street and very close to the Grand Place, Place St Catherine etc.., but if you come out of it and turn left instead of right, you find yourself, entertainingly, in a mini red light district. This is easily avoided (by turning right), but if you are of a prudish nature, do bear it in mind.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is an excellent hotel which hosts both tourists with high budget as well as business travelers and diplomats!
The rooms are large and also the breakfast was expensive but good! The metro is just steps away taking you anywhere in Brussels.
If you spot a discount tariff, don’t hesitate to book!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAY-GASTRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel was chosen for me when I came to take part in the Brussels Book Fair. All I knew of it was that it had once been both the German HQ and then the Allied HQ in WWII! Nevertheless, although the street is a little dull, I was very pleased to be there.
It is a fine traditional hotel, with a touch of grandeur, though modern in all facilities. The young staff were always friendly, professional and helpful. my room was comfortable, roomy and very quiet-the wonderfully muffled peace of older hotels, the bed extremely comfortable. The free wi-fi was hopeless; if you need it, buy the 7 euros a day deal. When I worked late one night, the room service hot chocolate was blissful and accompanied by---chocolates.
A feature of Brussels, not the hotel, is that Sundays the city shuts down. Taxis are almost impossible to get, even with the hotel's efforts, and I came within seconds of missing the Eurostar. A colleague missed his.

Room Tip: Mine was at the back-very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethSpeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I had bought a Valentine's package at this hotel consisting of a one night stay in their cheapest room, half a bottle of champagne, 3 course dinner including drinks and breakfast. According to the hotel web site they have valet parking, but when we arrived there were no one to park our car, so we ended up being parked in the middle of a busy street for 5 minutes, before leaving the car and going into the hotel to ask for someone to park the car. It took another 5 minute wait. When we had finally got someone to take care of our car, we went to check in. According to their web site check in starts at 3pm and we arrived at 4 pm. Still our room was not ready yet, and we were asked to wait in the lobby. While waiting we were not offered anything to drink, info for wifi etc. and was not updated about what was going on. After a 30 minute wait we told the reception that we would take a walk and come back 30 minutes later expecting our room to be ready.

At this point our expectations were probably so low, that we could only be pleasantly surprised, which we actually were. When we got back at 5pm, the room was indeed ready, they had arranged for our luggage to be in our room when we got there, and the half bottle of champagne was there in a cooler. The room was nice, with a great bed, a large bathroom and heaps of closet space.

In general the hotel is great, the staff is very friendly and helpful (though they could be a bit more attentive when leaving guests to wait in the lobby for their room to be ready), and though the old style theme is not that authentic, we liked the interior very much.

One very clear word of advise. Stay as far away from the restaurant as possible even though the atmosphere and service is outstanding. The food is absolutely terrible! It sticks to the plate making it painfully obvious, that it has been put there many hours before serving. The sauce did not come off the plate as it was dried out etc. This in combination with the high price level made our visit the their restaurant the worst eating out experience for years. That even though the restaurant staff was outright fantastic and very understanding to my complaints. I don't know what's going on in their kitchen, but it has nothing much to do with cooking....

Since my overall rating after all is very good, it is because we had many pleasant experiences with hotel staff, the breakfast was good, the location is fantastic, and apart from our restaurant experience, it is very likely, that we were just being a bit unlucky with valet parking and room not being ready when we arrived. I'm sure we'll remember the stay as having been very good when looking back at it a few years from now. However, we'll for sure also remember the bad restaurant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I am not a frequent visitor of 4 and 5-star hotels, so I was impressed by the Hotel Le Plaza. Situated at walking distance from the Gare du Nord, the hotel is the image of early 20th century luxury with a painted dome ceiling in the bar and very comfortable, classical rooms that have conserved a certain feeling of the 'grand siècle'. My room was sufficiently spacious, with a large desk to work at and a nice bathroom and separate WC. The white cotton bathrobe was a delight. An appreciable feature was the room's entrance hall. Closing the door between the bedrooom and the entrance hall provided an intimate and incredibly silent atmosphere which is just what you want for a quiet night's sleep. The staff at the hotel were very professional, even remembering from one day to the next (in the bar) what my drinks preferences were!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanMic31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel was chosen for me and my husband by the EP - I must say it was a very decent choice. It has a wonderful hall (with a grand Christmas tree - we stayed there at the end of November). The room was nice, clean, quiet - nothing important missing.

The location is very good, walking distance to the very centre of Brussels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#71 of 199 in Brussels
2,809 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.5 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.6 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.6 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#54 of 199 in Brussels
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Plaza

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 118 - 126, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Brussels
#26 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#39 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $114 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Plaza Brussels has 189 guest rooms and suites, each personalized with refined furniture, combining tradition and modernity for the comfort of tourists and business travelers alike. The hotel also offers business services, video-conferencing, and extensive meeting and conference spaces, including Le Plaza Theatre, listed for its historical value by Royal Decree, where every event becomes memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plaza Brussels
Le Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing