We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Le Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Plaza
Ranked #45 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just returned yesterday. Hotel was very easy to get to, 12 minute train ride from the airport to the North Station and a 10/15 minute walk to the hotel. Beautiful hotel, lovely large bedroom and bathroom (room 610 deluxe room) on the 6th floor with good aircon. The room had double full length doors which opened out onto a balcony, when they were shut you couldn't hear a thing from outside. There was a corridor from the main entrance to the room with the bathroom on your right and then another door which gave access to the bedroom so you there was no sound from the corridor at all. If I were being picky, the only thing that could be improved would be that some of the paintwork was chipped in places, there was no tea and coffee making facilities and no trouser press and the bar was shut when we returned from dinner. However, we did find a little bar two minutes walk down the side of the hotel owned by a very friendly lady where the drinks were a third of the price so they probably did us a favour by shutting the bar early!

Excellent location for all the sites. All were within easy walking distance. Suggest people use the back routes rather than the main streets as you will find many a short cut.

I found all the staff that I came into contact with very friendly and helpful and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmylward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,


I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Plaza Brussels.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our establishment. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed room 610. Indeed, it is a very quiet room.

Be sure all your comments have been passed to the concerned head of departments.

All the staff and I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in our establishment.


Laurent De Kerf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location is perfect, close to the inner ring and walking distance to the grand place and other attractions.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Some noise from the traffic and also from the room next door due to double connecting doors between the 2 rooms.
Bathroom is big, and there is enough closet space.
Breakfast is tasty with all kinds of cold and warm food, fresh fruit and good tasting juices.
Only minus would be that staff does not really speak Dutch, but all speak good English.
Staff is friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Many good and not too expensive restaurants around the grand place. Hotel food is expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaap W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel, to echo other reviews the overwhelming problem is the rudeness of their staff. We booked this hotel as part of a Eurostar package but as it was a romantic weekend upgraded our room type. We arrived late (and in fairness after an unpleasant journey so a little disgruntled) and when we were walking through the front door the doorman not only didn't offer to help with bags but walked straight at me with the luggage trolley, which we laughed about but lucky I didn't need any help! We checked in but had a number of problems with the rooms, one had no air con (and apparently half the hotel has no air con) and the road outside is too noisy to leave the window open on a very hot august night, one smelt incredibly stale and damp and so eventually we downgraded our room in order to have air con and a clean room. As above the real problem was the staff at this hotel. Never once was there an apology or any sort of customer service, we were very much made to feel like we were a problem rather than customers. After the problems they offered a solution for the morning which the duty manager the following day refused to honour and was incredibly rude to us. They agreed to refund our upgrade after a very long argument. The breakfast, which is expensive, was terrible so I would definitely suggest leaving the hotel for food.

Time is precious and we decided not to waste our bank holiday weekend at an awful hotel with rude staff, sub-standard rooms and terrible food so left after the one night. There are a number of much better hotels available in Brussels for the same price so avoid this one.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lydia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
At first I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Le Plaza.
We regret your unfortunate experience regarding your room.
Client’s experience is the most pertinent way to understand how we are performing and we can assure you that your feedbacks form the basis of our points of improvements. All the information has been passed on to the concerned department heads.
We sincerely apologise and we do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon to show you the real value of our establishment.
Laurent De Kerf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Plaza for two nights to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and was not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful, lots of old world charm and nicely furnished. I had upgraded from a standard room to deluxe and for the small extra cost was worth it. The bedroom was huge, beautifully furnished and the bathroom very good as well. The air conditioning was quiet and worked efficiently and we didn't experience any noise from either the street or in the hotel. Staff were welcoming and pleasant. The only downside was that my husband had ordered a surprise champagne breakfast to be delivered to our room on the Sunday but it arrived on Saturday morning and therefore spoilt the surprise. The staff couldn't have been more apologetic and returned with the breakfast on the correct day. This was followed up with a hand written apology and box of belgian chocolates, so although it was disappointing for my husband, they did acknowledge their error. Breakfast isn't cheap at 29 euros but there are lots of restaurants/cafes around the Grand Place. The location of the Plaza we felt was very good, a ten minute stroll to the Grand Place with lots of shops, buildings, churches etc to take your interest. Across the road is the St Catherine's area with lots of seafood restaurants. As long as you have comfortable shoes we easily walked to all the wonderful sights but did use try out the underground once for the experience. All in all Brussels and the hotel well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Our room was 515, very quiet, set back from the main street. Very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill541208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Madam,
At first I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.
It’s an honor for us that you have choosen Le Plaza to celebrate your Ruby Wedding Anniversary.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed the decoration, and the service. We are really sorry for the surprise breakfast, a communication problem occured.
All the staff and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Laurent De Kerf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed three nights in this excellent hotel. It was spotless, had a beautifully furnished, elegant lobby and restaurant. Our large room had a super-king sized bed and gorgeous high ceilings - a real "European" feel to the place. The bathroom was large and spotless, with lots of towels changed daily, great shower and large bath. Half a block from the Metro and easy transport to the Grand Place and The "Royal" tram stop for Museums and the Grand Sablon square. "City 2" shopping complex was tucked away across the stree,t so great shopping. Would love to stay there again. Staff were so helpful, even loaning us umbrellas on a rainy morning.

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe room and requested a king-size bed. Ask for one not facing the main street, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your room.
Be sure that all your comments has been passed to the concerned departments heads.
Sincerely yours,
Laurent De Kerf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is big, beautiful, clean, and the service is very good.
It is within walking distance of the Grand Place and other beautiful areas. If you are taking a train, the Brussels Nord station is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wantottravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing a comment about your stay at Le Plaza.
I was more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be pleased to welcome you again.

Laurent De Kerf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel was not quite as lovely as we had expected although the room was clean and comfortable. The air conditioning unit was a bit antiquated and noisy. The reception staff were helpful. The main disappointment for us was that the restaurant - which had been recommended - was closed, and we had not been informed of this when we booked. The location of the hotel is central but a good walk away from the Grande Place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Sir,

The entire team and myself would like to thank you for having taken some of your time in order to post comments on our property and following your recent stay with us.
The Hotel Le Plaza is located near the main tourist attractions, and the reception staff would be happy to give you more informations about them.
The staff and I will be pleased to welcome you again in our establishment.

Laurent De Kerf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#74 of 199 in Brussels
2,755 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.6 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
1.1 mi away
Stanhope Hotel
Stanhope Hotel
#17 of 199 in Brussels
1,246 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Plaza

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 118 - 126, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Brussels
#26 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#39 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $110 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Plaza Brussels has 189 guest rooms and suites, each personalized with refined furniture, combining tradition and modernity for the comfort of tourists and business travelers alike. The hotel also offers business services, video-conferencing, and extensive meeting and conference spaces, including Le Plaza Theatre, listed for its historical value by Royal Decree, where every event becomes memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plaza Brussels
Le Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing