We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic charm with hideously expensive drinks”
Review of Hotel Le Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Plaza
Ranked #44 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great location with grandeur that's beginning to fade. The staff are polite, the rooms are huge and it's all very welcoming.

Regrettably they have the most expensive lounge bar that I've been to anywhere in the world. For two small gin and tonics, 23 EUR. And not even good measures of gin. Should have noticed that the place was empty.

Would happily stay at the hotel again, but I'm never going anywhere near that bar!

Room Tip: The rooms tend to be hot - don't be afraid to put the air con on!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

Exremely big rooms with good closetspace, seperate toilette and bathroom. Minibar, deposit safe (all tough a bit small, I could not fit both my computer and camera). Nice lobby bar and a good breakfast buffet with pastries (as always in Belguim), a selection of pancaces, different sausages and bacon. Youghurt, good variety of cheese, ham and salmon. The only negative thing about the hotel was that they had not registered that I had prepaid for both room and breakfast. The hotel is expensive and I've had better value for money on other hotels i Brussels, but can recommend it anyhow.

Room Tip: Select the option of peaceful room and you will get a room on the upper floors away from traffic and...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We booked Hotel Le Plaza under the impression it was a luxury hotel. Though the hotel's communal areas are stunning, unfortunately our "luxury" room was not.
The room could not be faulted for cleanliness and was a good size with a massive en suite. The room was located at the back of the hotel so was very quiet with a little noise from the neighbouring rooms.
The decor and furnishings were tired and in need of replacing. The bathroom sported chipped paint along the window sill and on furniture legs. Also when the neighbouring rooms used their bathrooms, the plugs in our bathroom gargled very loudly!
There were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room but there was a mini-bar (expensive!).
A great location to explore Brussels from and if we had booked a standard hotel room, we would have been happy. We had paid a little more for "luxury' and unfortunately this was missing from the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarshMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Could not fault the staff and the room was superlatively clean. The breakfast was great - good choice and plenty of it. The only niggle I had was that I tried to order room service and got passed between reception and the bar with both saying it was not their responsibility. In the end I gave up. Otherwise excellent however.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lodesgymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Wasn't at the hotel very long but staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel itself is beautiful. Rooms are very comfortable and quiet and there is a good choice of food at breakfast. Easy to get to from Gare du Midi and very close to the Metro and tram lines.
I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suze930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a recent trip to Brussels, and we were delighted with our room. We'd gotten a VERY good price on a corner room on the 6th floor through Orbitz, it had a small balcony and a large, clean bathroom. It was tastefully furnished/decorated with some old-world charm like the old built-in closets in the hallway. The lobby and bar are very attractive. The staff was courteous and helpful, and the barman was very friendly and skilled. If you can get a deal on a room, stay here -- though not sure if I would have paid the full $450-ish our room was meant to have cost (and we skipped the 30 euro breakfast!). It's a short walk from the center square in Brussels.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is a pure classic, some might say old fashionned, I would reply intemporal. Don't get me wrong, this hotel is up to date with all you might expect, nothing seems old or outdated... it has just the atmosphère a luxurious classic hotel. The service is good and pleasant. Rooms nicely decorated, with excellent beds and linen.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mowbray_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#72 of 198 in Brussels
2,702 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.6 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#51 of 198 in Brussels
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Plaza

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 118 - 126, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Brussels
#26 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#39 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $119 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Le Plaza Brussels has 189 guest rooms and suites, each personalized with refined furniture, combining tradition and modernity for the comfort of tourists and business travelers alike. The hotel also offers business services, video-conferencing, and extensive meeting and conference spaces, including Le Plaza Theatre, listed for its historical value by Royal Decree, where every event becomes memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plaza Brussels
Le Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing