We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, setting and hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Paix

La Paix
Reserve with
La Paix is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #214 of 3,521 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, setting and hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Every time we visit belgium we try to book a table in La Paix. Very warm welcome, you feel at ease before taking your place. I had the "croquettes au fromage", the best I have ever tasted. Their choice of meat is uncredible, hard to make a choice! The place is rather expensive, but worth while. We enjoyed every minute of it, because the food in combination with the ambiance is exceptional for a star-restaurant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maison187265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    36
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Excellent restaurant in front of the "abattoirs" of Anderlecht. The ancient looking interior has a confrontation with the poorer neighborhood. The dishes are full of colours and a lot of savours are harmoniously brought together : outstanding for reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kbertels39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Délicieux!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I've visited La Paix a couple of times. I love the atmosphere, the kindness, the politeness, the welcoming. Entering the restaurant makes you feel like entering a refectory. Once sitting, everything happens in a rush around you, but sitting there is yet pleasant and comfortable.

The restaurant is known for its special preparations of meat. You'll find organs, even a good 'cote de boeuf' as well as porc belly. The quality of the meat is outstanding.

The ambiance, the food and its quality as well as the open kitchen make it for me my favourite Belgian restaurant.

Too bad it is only open for lunch (except Friday evening) because I would love to go for dinner some time!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PauBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
169 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Simply the very best beef meat I ever eaten in my life !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Wow !!! I knew it was exceptional but not at this point ! The meat was so good, so delicate, tasteful, tender, ... It simply was perfect.

But of course, don't expect it to be the greatest bargain : it is really expensive (the price was around 37 euros for one plate). So you will not go there often but it really deserves you to taste at least one time in your life !

We regretted a very poor beers list. This is a "grand restaurant" and they prefer to offer a great wine list but they should offer other beers than Stella. The restaurant itself is very elegant and offers quite a lot of space.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fdw1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Excellent Michelin one-star. Service, food, attitude...all outstanding. I had:

Amuse Bouche: Crab soup and coffee emulsion,layered, drunk out of a glass.

Then 5 surprises of the chef:

Avocado with pistachio mousse and dried, salted Limousin beef tartare

Organic pea salad with peas, pea cream, pea mouse, pea tartelette, pea cake, radish and rhubarb

Langoustine carpaccio in its own broth with eggplant, mousse-like goat cheese ice cream and tarte of Daikon radish

White asparagus in an egg cream over asparagus emulsion, a pork tartelette cooked in sake and asparagus mousse

Pot-au-feu beef with onions, carrots, carrot greens and topped with mustard grains.

Atlhough the portions were small and it was billed as an entree, everything was bursting with flavor and, by the end, I only had room for dessert: a Belgian waffle with fresh strawberries, house made ice cream and a whipped cream.

With water and a glass of wine: 78 Euro.

It's open M-F for lunch and only Friday for dinner.

I only skimmed the surface of what the talented chefs have to offer here. I saw mouth-watering steaks and cuts of beef and a beautiful fowl dish pass by me.

It's definitely not in a classy neighborhood and about 2 km off the Grand Place, but La Paix is definitely worth the short trip!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank globalgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paix also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to La Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing